We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT "HIKE" with great views”

Point Lobos State Reserve
Ranked #1 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT "HIKE" with great views”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am a 13 year old who has been on lots of hikes such as Yellowstone, Yosemite,Hawaii,and Moab. The best thing about this hike was that is was actually a walk. There was not too much effort in it, and we got great pictures that will be framed on our wall. It can be very foggy but it didn't matter because it was still amazing. Overall this is definently worth going to see!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hazlettfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,277
    337
    38
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun outdoor experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I spent an afternoon at Point Lobos state reserve and have a fantastic time. We parked out on route 1 - apparently the parking lot fills up quickly inside, but since we were there to walk we didnt mind the few extra minutes it took to get into the park. We paid $2 for a map of the park and set off. The routes were generally pretty easy with some up and down areas, but nothing too difficult and we are not regular hikers or anything. We recommend taking plenty of water and snacks. There are so many spots where you can stop and watch the waves, seals, sealions, otters, etc. The are public restrooms availble - not in the best of shape, but they do the job. The park closes early, so in the summer you wont be able to stay until sunset, but we drove north to pacific grove and watched the sunset from there. Great day trip!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing views. Heaven on earth.”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

MAke time for this state pArk. It is so beautiful. You can hike, see sea lions, wild flowers, birds, the ocean, mountains and amazing views. The tide pools kept my son busy for hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank alisaCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful and scenic”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This state reserve was so fantastic that we spent two days visiting and exploring all the trails. The park is well-maintained, the trails are clearly marked, and the map provided will also keep you from getting lost. The wildflowers were blooming and the range of colors and plant varieties kept us looking and pointing all the way around the park. The harbor seals were a nice added bonus and we took some great pictures of them lounging on the sunny beaches. The park was a great place to walk, take in nature's beauty, and listen to the sounds of the ocean.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This place is beautiful- that's really the best way to describe it. PIcture heavenly images of green waves crashing into dazzling rock formations- against a backdrop of beautiful mountains. Enjoyable hiking- several trails to choose from. Perfect for 2 hours or so- for a nice relaxing experience. Makes you feel glad to be in the most splendid state in the U.S.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfinklefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing