We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Caution” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monastery Beach

Carmel, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Caution”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes, it's a lovely beach, and has nice views, but we locals call is "Mortuary Beach" because of the many deaths there over the years.

I disagree with Tree4Life's review, it's treacherous. It has riptides that can quickly take both casual swimmers and experienced divers directly to the bottom of the Monterey Marine Canyon (5,000' below sea level) in minutes and even the strongest swimmers don't survive.

The warning sign State Parks put up is better than the one before, but it really should say "If you go in the water YOU will die".

Stay out of the water and enjoy the beach. If you're looking for excellent dive experiences, continue south to Point Lobos or Big Sur.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank JonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good dive site!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great dive site, especially for the experienced. The waves are a little difficult to get through with a steep drop out but the visibility has been consistently better than other places on the peninsula.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Look but do not Immerse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Monastery Beach is definitely worth a pit stop, full stop. It takes a while to drink in all the sensory experiences, which are mostly great. Yes the sand is pretty uncomfortable. Bring some water to wash your feet off with. Yet the scenery, the waves, the play of the water makes this a nice place to pause at.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MomoBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,595 reviews
1,081 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,287 helpful votes
“Hype or Fact?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped briefly at this beach because we heard so much about it and it's bad reputation. Our thoughts were: it is not a beach that is inviting is that there are better more sandy beaches along the coast, (2) the water is so cold you really won't swim there, (3) there is an undertow so small children need to be under careful watch. Why go there when there are so many other nice and safer places? It is beautiful and away from people. Just had to see it for myself and I would choose
other places to spend my day...so the legend continues.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds, Great Views, Poor Sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The sand here is a courser rocky sand, like the bottom of a fish tank. Good news is it doesn't blow around quite so bad in the strong winds. Not a good swimming beach, but nice for a break out of the car, and enjoy the views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kermitthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery Beach also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Monastery Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing