We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.”
Review of Arches Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arches Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Drumyouth B&B and Inns
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Arches BandB is a guest house which is second to none. The hostess Pearl Kells and her Husband Wilson go out of there way to make you welcome and enjoy your stay. When you arrive you are greeted with a warm Irish smile and a nice cup of tea and home made cake. Pearl is an encyclopaedia on the area and she will give you all the information on interesting places to visit along with the places for eating out. Pearls breakfast's are to die for true Irish delight with homemade jams,bread,scones,free range eggs from the farm, simply gorgeous. The rooms are very nicely furnished with tea and coffee making facilities. Also when you come in from a day of touring Pearl will again welcome you with a nice cup of tea before you retire to your room. The Arches guest house is the best B@B we have visited in a long time and I would not hesitate to book The Arches again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl K, Owner at Arches Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2015
Thank you . It was lovely having you stay with us as you visited your friends and relatives. I am sure
it brought back happy memories for you . Look forward to your next visit to Cavan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

A beautiful peaceful location. The Irish breakfast was excellent. Owners are very friendly and helpful and provided information concerning our genealogy search., Our room was attractive, large and very clean. Loved taking pictures of newborns in the barn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl K, Owner at Arches Farmhouse, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
It was a pleasure having you here and helping you trace your ancestors.
Wilson enjoyed showing you around the farm and the new arrivals.
We hope you have happy memories of Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongan Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Pearl's B&B. The facilities were excellent, breakfast was just what is required to fuel up for big days of walking etc. Arches is located close to many delightful places to explore and Pearl was great with her local knowledge & advice. She even shared family photos with us making us feel more than paying guests. If you want a high standard of facilities and a warm welcome you need to stay at Arches. The view from the bedroom window was beautiful too!
.

Room Tip: The front room had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Pearl warmly welcomed us to their beautiful and restful bed and breakfast located outside Cavan near the lakes region in Ireland. Our room was very clean and cozy with great linens! It was fun to stay at a farmhouse offering great amenities with the best brown bread and homemade preserves. We enjoyed talking to Pearl and hearing about farm life in Ireland. We highly recommend thinking of spending 2 nights at The Arches so you can enjoy all the amenities on their property including tennis and fishing in the local lakes. Wonderful place to stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Arches farmhouse for two nights during our tour of Ireland. We felt that we were coming home or visiting our Irish relatives.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful , the rooms were very cosy and clean , and breakfast exceeded our expectations.
The farm animals, mini golf, tennis, game room,kept our children occupied for our hours and gave us time for some walks in the country side.
Worth seeing is the lake behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paspadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl K, Owner at Arches Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We were delighted here at 'The Arches' to have your family stay with us for 2 nights.
It was great to see the children enjoying themselves at the crazy golf and tennis.

We hope to see you again on your return to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I were doing a whirl-wind tour of the northern half of the island and stayed at the Arches for a night. Pearl (proprietress) was excellent: genial, knowledgeable and eager to assure your stay at her home, and in Ireland, was enjoyable. Wonderful stop when exploring inland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our stay at the Arches Farmhouse was wonderful. We had some tire troubles and Pearl was very helpful during our stay. The room was very cozy & the view was amazing. If we travel to Ireland again, I would book the Arches Farmhouse for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowans28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arches Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Farmhouse

Property: Arches Farmhouse
Address: Arvagh, Drumyouth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Drumyouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Drumyouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arches Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Arches" offers luxury farmhouse accommodation 500 metres from Ardra Lake. Set in a peaceful panoramic setting in the heart of Cavan's Lakeland. Ideal base for fishing, touring, walking, golfing & horse riding. Crazy Golf, Tennis Court on premises. Welcoming cup of tea, friendly atmosphere, good home cooking. A Games room, with pool table and darts board, are free for visitors also. Free broadband internet is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Arches Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing