We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4 star hotel option in Carlsbad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in the hotel using our priceline reservation and were automatically upgraded to an oceanview room. It was early October, so the hotel was not very busy however, it was nice to receive the upgrade. The restaurant 20/20 is very good and worthwhile to check out even if you aren't staying. The staff was very friendly and I can't wait to come back to the resort and the Carlsbad area.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Great 4 star hotel option in Carlsbad”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 We checked in the hotel using our priceline reservation and were automatically upgraded to an oceanview room. It was early October, so the hotel was not very busy however, it was nice to receive the upgrade. The restaurant 20/20 is very good and worthwhile to check out even if you aren't staying. The staff was very friendly and I can't wait to come back to the resort and the Carlsbad area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We bought a package, to see the Hilton Grand Pacific villas , and suffer through a timeshare presentation. That part was fine, but the Hilton was booked, so they put us at the Sheraton. The rooms were pretty big, and the property was big too. I liked that there were balconies or patios for every room, and the pool is nice. Biggest plus is that the pool never closes, we really liked that. But here's the thing. There were never more than one or two people working in the small, unimpressive lobby. They seemed to be understaffed, and the service was affected. The walls were too thin, I unfortunately found out the last night we stayed, as the people above me sounded like they were herding elephants back and forth, and back and forth... All night long. I finally called the front desk at 4am and they said they sent Security, it stopped for about an hour and then they woke me up again. The man at the desk comped our parking, but I got about two hours sleep. I didn't think the breakfast buffet was even close to what it should have been, and why does housekeeping bang on the door at 8am and then go "oh sorry?" Happens a lot actually. Overall this hotel is underwhelming and I would stay there again but only in a pinch .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. We have reviewed your comments with the leadership team and will use this as coaching tool to better serve our guest. It is though feedback such as yours we can identify areas of improvement.
Thanks You,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Only stayed two nights but can't say enough to recommend this hotel. From the minute we arrived the service was 5 star.
Friendly and helpful staff, the swimming pool and surrounding area was fabulous, outside pool bar was great. Had outside movies on the big screen by the pool.
The rooms were amazing, very large and clean, fab bathroom everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Starbucks coffee in your room, but the most fabulous thing was the bed, I have never slept in such a comfortable bed with crisp clean white bed linen.
The restaurant was first class service , first class food and a fabulous view of the sunset.
Free shuttle bus to the outlets and other restaurants.
Also it's own private back entrance to Legoland so no queues and only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakaway47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for the 5 STAR Review! We are so please to hear that you enjoyed your time at the resort. What better way to end a fabulous day then to fall into our comfortable beds. The beds are custom made for the Sheraton and can be purchased on line. We hope to have you and the family back again.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Told for hours and hours our room was 'almost' ready and being cleaned while many folks checked in all around us. I am sure we could have done many other things for the 5 hours our room was 'being cleaned' then sit and wait. The truth would have been a better idea. More dishonestly in that There was no ocean view in an" ocean view" room. Walls are paper thin and there are as many barking dogs as kids. No pool towels, bar, or service at lower pools.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you want a good room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns with the hotel. I am truly sorry that we gave you miss information upon check in. There is never an excuse when we fail to meet your needs as our guest. I have placed notes in your file should we have another opportunity to have you and your husband back again.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 7 lovely days at the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa. The weather was unusually warm for the beginning of September. My husbands West Point Class of 1970 had it's yearly reunion at the hotel. The grounds were lovely and the food was excellent. They have a lovely pool with bar service and for those with children or grandchildren, LEGOLAND was just a short walk! The rooms were spacious and well apportioned. The bar in the hotel was well equipped! All the personnel were very friendly and polite. They always asked if you needed anything. We used the front desk and others to find out how to get to places. The had a shuttle bus that would take you anywhere within a 5 mile area.

We had a very pleasant stay and would return to this hotel again!

Room Tip: All the rooms I visited were lovely. We were n the first floor and it was very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puddy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We were so glad to be the host hotel for the West Point Reunion. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Used the Convention/Banquet facilities for weekend meetings. Rooms are clean and spacious. In fact a variety of sizes available for small to large events. Banquet personnel are always helpful. Banquet manager on premises even on the weekends. I am quite sure we'll use this facility again when in San Diego.

Room Tip: Did not use the sleep room here. Meeting only
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sheraton in Carlsbad and had a great vacation! From the greeting at the door from the valet staff, the receptionist checking us in, the excellent service in the restaurant and bartenders, they all made our vacation special. The room and grounds were very nice, but the staff and management make your stay great! Thanks to Morgan and Sean who provided excellent service when we dined out on the patio. They were very attentive and always had a smile on thier face. They even came over to say "HI" when we were in the bar having a glass of champagne with Joey the bartender. Joey was very busy and made it a point to let us know he would assist us ASAP. We never felt ignored like other establishments when they are busy. It is very evident that the manager, Chris, keeps his staff engaged and they are well trained to make the guests feel welcome. Love the complimentary car service too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $188 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the California coastline between Los Angeles and San Diego adjacent to Legoland California, providing a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community with restaurants and shopping galore. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space for weddings, corporate events and meetings. The perfect location for everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing