We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst overall experience on our road trip out West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were excited to reserve the 2-room suite for 2 nights for a little down time on our 2 week road trip covering the national parks and attractions from Chicago out West. We checked in just before 12 midnight, finally asleep at 1:30 after lugging in all our gear since we had planned on unpacking and rearranging during the down time. We were awakened with the fire alarm blaring at 6 am. It turned out to be a false alarm, but we were never notified by the staff and the desk didn't answer the phone as we are outside waiting consoling our littlest kid. It took until 7:30 to get him back to sleep. We were all so tired we slept through breakfast. As we were getting ready to go out for breakfast instead and hit the beach, we got a phone call from Eddie at he front desk saying they didn't have a room for us for the second night so we would need to check out. I politely explained that they must be mistaken; our reservation was for 2 nights. I said that this would all be cleared up if he would talk with Jerome the night attendant who had taken the reservation and checked us in. Eddie said he would try to find us another area hotel to switch to for the night, which I told him was unacceptable because it defeated the purpose of our 2 nights stay (a home base in the middle of the day, one less day of lugging luggage out and in, a place to make a homecooked meal). I got a phone call from the supposed manager, Nick Richie, who was nothing short of rude. Since I could see there was really no way we would be able to stay since they had overbooked and we were the last ones reserving, I thought I would calmly explain our plight to him and state our preferences for resolution: 1. stay another night there 2. refund or extreme discount for the stay 3. pay our agreed reservation amount for the first night and get a complimentary/deeply discounted stary at another residence inn later in our route home (which would have taken coordination from corporate I'm sure) 4. be allowed to leave our stuff in the room until we got back from the beach around 5 pm so we could shower and be on with the rest of the road trip. Nick defensively told me that he would not respond to demands; we would need to remove our stuff before we went to the beach or it would be removed for us; Eddie would look into a local hotel reservation for us perhaps where we could check in early before going to the beach. Eddie did call back with an option for us to go to a residence inn in oceanside (the wrong direction on our route) for $20 more than our agreed carlsbad rate. We decided to head down to the desk to check out and discuss the rate reduction with the manager. Eddie informed us the manager wasn't in the building and he didn't think he would answer or talk with us. He did respond to a text from Eddie requesting the reduction of our rate. We told him that we would have no choice but to contest the full charge with the credit card if he didn't accomodate. No phone call back, just a text that the rate was the rate. We called corporate who is appalled and trying to work as intermediary. After 10 days, we finally got a generic email from the actual manager of the hote, Kelly Herrington. She offered no compensation for our troubles although she admitted our experience was bad, so we are waiting for the credit card company to work its' magic. Do yourself a favor and don't make a reservation here until management changes! Regretfully at this point I couldn't recommend any Marriott because I've found out corporate has little power and you are at the mercy of the local management. Too bad because the room and hotel would have been perfect for the price! Find a Hampton or Holiday Inn Xpress instead.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 380 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

Our son is at that age wherein he lives and breathes Legos. So living in Los Angeles, it only makes sense to get an annual pass to Legoland (an hour drive). We go at least once a month or twice a month, depending on our schedule. Although we can just drive there in the morning and drive back home at the end of day, we sometimes stay for the entire weekend (starting Friday night) so we can maximize our time there. Residence Inn in Carlsbad has become our home away from home. Their rooms are clean, have a friendly staff, love the pool & gym. So far, they have not disappointed us one bit. The free continental breakfast is good, but it gets real crowded and Denny's/IHOP actually do better... but for what it's worth, it's acceptable and I won't strike them against that. Near the pool, they have a barbecue grill so other guests would fire it up and have a nice picnic. They also do have a small basketball court.

Rates are acceptable as well. It's far more cheaper than the other hotels in close proximity to Legoland. Residence Inn seems like it's out of the way, but it only takes an extra 5 minutes or less to get to Legoland... so for that, we are saving so much money, we don't mind one bit.

Being a travel professional (I own Travel Zone, a travel agency), I make it a point to mention it to clients when I know they are headed to the Carlsbad area.

Definitely this is our home away from home, when we are in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We have stayed at quite a few Residence Inns and this one in Carlsbad didn't disappoint. We are a family of 5 and we booked a two bedroom suite. One bedroom had a king and a bathroom, the other bedroom had a queen and a bathroom, and our son slept in the living room on the couch bed. The room had 3 tv's with cable. The breakfasts are included and although this one wasn't as big as some we have stayed at, it had a wide variety of foods and worked out great for our family. There were make your own Belgian waffles, as well as a variety of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, french toast, bagels, pastries, granola, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, milk, juices and coffee. The pool was nothing special but nice and safe for young kids (deep end was 5 feet). Also a nice jacuzzi. On weekday evenings, they serve food along with beer, wine and sodas. This is a nice touch. We were only around one evening and they had crudites and nachos with all the fixings. On Thursdays they have a BBQ with burgers. There is internet access in the room and also a business center where you can check email and go online if you left your laptop at home. The fitness room is really small but never a problem for me working out (I always got a treadmill) and is open 24 hours. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. My kids loved every minute of it. We had a great time. Nothing really in walking distance but away from the crowds and very close to many restaurants, beaches and Legoland.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEYYABayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

We liked it here. Good, clean room...pretty loud noise from the street, even with the windows closed? It did have a great breakfast. And they even had dinner every night. and it was good too!! Lots of parking, nice gounds. Great place if you have kids. We did'nt.
This place was close to all the neat stuff around: Legoland, the Flower Fields, Shopping malls, Ocean, Restaurants, freeway. I would recommend this place. It was alright baby.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

We just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms are clean and the kitchen is a great addition. Furnishings are nothing fancy but adequate. Parking is free unlike some other Residence Inns. As to location, it is not in the most attractive spot, but it is right next door to Legoland (make sure to buy your tickets at the hotel for a decent discount) and if you are thinking of going to Disneyland, Carlsbad is almost halfway there from San Diego. Restaurants, grocery stores, Seaworld and the beaches are just a short drive away. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillybeansan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

This hotel worked out very nicely for our family. We were traveling throughout southern CA with stops in various locations for a few nights at each stop. We had previously booked another hotel through a mass booking site and had problems when we went to check in - only one bed for 4 people. The hotel manager recommended the Residence Inn and called over for us.

When we arrived we were greeted promptly and our room was waiting for us. We had the two bedroom suite which was a great size when traveling with two teenagers. We did not utilize most of the kitchen space offered but the full size fridge was handy.

The hotel is in the middle of an industrial area, but do know that is a well traveled business area, not one that seems empty during the evenings or weekends. It's a 5 minute drive to the beach as well as restaurants, a mall, movie theatre, etc.

Breakfast was included and was ok. I would suggest they add another toaster and there always seemed to be a line.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waiting4summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This is a very good family property. It is in a very dull area, with business parks all around, but within a five minute drive of grocery stores, restaurants, etc. It is a short and easy drive to Legoland. The rooms were very nice, and spacious. Nice pool in the middle, but noisy until 10PM when it closed. Ask for room facing outside if you do not want pool noise. Our room was not cleaned at all the 2nd day, and no good response came from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-7229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $162 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing