We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2009

This hotel worked out very nicely for our family. We were traveling throughout southern CA with stops in various locations for a few nights at each stop. We had previously booked another hotel through a mass booking site and had problems when we went to check in - only one bed for 4 people. The hotel manager recommended the Residence Inn and called over for us.

When we arrived we were greeted promptly and our room was waiting for us. We had the two bedroom suite which was a great size when traveling with two teenagers. We did not utilize most of the kitchen space offered but the full size fridge was handy.

The hotel is in the middle of an industrial area, but do know that is a well traveled business area, not one that seems empty during the evenings or weekends. It's a 5 minute drive to the beach as well as restaurants, a mall, movie theatre, etc.

Breakfast was included and was ok. I would suggest they add another toaster and there always seemed to be a line.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waiting4summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    96
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
203
33
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This is a very good family property. It is in a very dull area, with business parks all around, but within a five minute drive of grocery stores, restaurants, etc. It is a short and easy drive to Legoland. The rooms were very nice, and spacious. Nice pool in the middle, but noisy until 10PM when it closed. Ask for room facing outside if you do not want pool noise. Our room was not cleaned at all the 2nd day, and no good response came from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn with our two young children. Our friends who also have two young children were booked and bumped from the Grand Pacific. After viewing a room recommended by the Grand Pacific, they ended up staying at the Residence Inn as well. So, four adults and four young kids in (2) two bedroom suites.
We were all pleased with the breakfast variety (satisfied 8 different appetites), parking was easy, very little traffic around the property and it was close enough to all the places we needed to go.
This is where you want to stay if a suite is what you need (separate bedroom and another bathroom for the kids), if you prefer having a lot of amenities (when we stayed at the Grand Pacific in September, I was surprised that there was no soap or shampoo in the condos) and if you want a clean, modern room. You also can't beat having a kitchen - very nice. You will have to drive to get to Legoland, restaurants and the beach - but all are close. In fact, the front desk told us how to easily get to a nice little beach with free parking.
But, just because I'm recommending this property to families with young kids - please note - the property was quiet - it wasn't "overrun" with kids. This is a good place for just about anyone who doesn't care for tiny hotel rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opinion8dla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This is a nice place. I’ve stayed several times with family and alone on business. The rooms are laid out so you have a kitchen area (with dishes, utensils, microwave, full fridge, dishwasher, etc.), a living area w/TV, bedroom w/TV, and bathroom. High speed internet is free for lower band-widths.

There is plenty of hot water around the popular wake-up times. Breakfast (and a newspaper) is included and will consist of cereals, breads, fruits, eggs and alternating days of French Toast or other “specialties” such as biscuits and gravy. There are selections of coffees and teas, milk, juices, yogurt, etc. There is a waffle maker for every day use. The evening social hour has beer, wine, and some lighter foods that may be good for a small dinner.

I’ve never had a problem with cleanliness. They keep things tidy inside and out. Any issues I’ve had (e.g. a clogged sink) were fixed the same day while I was at work. Friendly and informative front desk staff. Although I’ve never used them, there is a pool and hot tub, as well as an outdoor fireplace.

There is a convenience store across the street if you would like to stock-up on some items. In the same plaza area there are several take-out places for lunch. For dinners, you will have to drive to restaurants near the 5, Carlsbad Village, or off of El Cameno Real (front desk has maps). If you are in the mood for pizza type items, I recommend “That Pizza Place” on El Cameno Real in the same plaza as Boston Market. Decent food and reasonable prices (you have to get the cinnamon sticks). It’s a local hangout, so the food will be good.

Very close to Lego Land and not too far from the beach. Within about an hour of Disneyland and about 1/2 hour from San Diego (if not rush hour).

Hope this helps.

  • Liked — Familiar and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Wish there were dinner restaurants closer.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jzak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2008

I have always have good experiences at Residence Inn. But not this one. This one the rooms were really small, but that was ok since we are not planning to spend much time in the rooms. However the airconditioners were really loud, both the one attached to our room and the ambient noise from the other rooms (the noise came through our closed windows). It sound like a motor home generator running right out side our window. We checked out two days early and when we mentioned that our A/C unit was a problem the desk cleric just said "Oh yeah, their loud". If you are at all sensitive to noise I would avoid this hotel at all cost. I'm very disappointed since I usually really like the marriott brand, but this was just not up to par.

  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OregonAlicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Our family of four stayed here during a post cruise stop at LegoLand. It's really convenient to the theme park even though it's in kind of a sleepy area.

We thought the hotel was great. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The moved us to another room without any hassle after we complained about construction noise in our hallway.

The suite itself was perfect for us. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook for our family for a couple of days. The suite was very very clean and the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job each day.

The pool is great for the kids and we appreciated that they have towels there. Also nice to have a hot tub for mom and dad to soak in while the kids swim!

I guess our only complaint was that the breakfast area was INCREDIBLY crowded in the mornings. It was spring break time so maybe there were more families than usual but it was kind of a mob scene in the buffet (everyone elbowing each other and in a mad dash to get food). There also wasn't enough space for people to sit so we ended up lugging our breakfast back up to our room. Obviously not the end of the world!

Great value and great location if you're planning a trip to legoland.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_0n_vacation:-)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We've never stayed at a Residence Inn and didn't really know what to expect. I went ahead and reserved a room relying mainly on the reviews given on this site.

We checked in and it was hassle free. Although we were early our room was already available. We were given a room on the 3rd floor with a direct view of the basketball court. When we walked in to our room I was very surprised at how clean and orderly everything was. We had a King Size Studio suite with a pull out couch which was perfect for our family of 4.

The kitchen was small but it was enough for the amount of dining in we did. The bathroom was also small but one thing I liked about the set up is that they had the double sink on the other side of the door. The bathtub/shower was very clean and the water pressure was great. The kids slept in the pull out couch and they provided us with extra sheets, blankets and pillows.

Then there was the hot breaksfast buffet. It was GREAT!!! Bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes, make you own waffle, cereals, oatmeal, milk, yogurt, fresh fruits, fruit juices, coffee, tea, etc. This was one of our deciding factors for choosing this hotel and it did not disappoint us.

We were also able to take part in their manager's reception (Monday - Thursday from 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.), and the night that we went we were so surprised at what kind of spread they had for a happy hour. That Monday night they served spaghetti, garden salad, rolls, and they had sodas, beer and wine. It was like having a free dinner. Each night they have a different theme and you can find the schedule in the calendars posted on the fridge.

We did not use the pool that much since we were about only 5 miles away from the beach. It's a good size pool for the property. There was renovation underway but the pool was still open. An added amenity though is the laundry area right outside the elevator on the second floor. I really didn't think that I will be using the washer/dryer but boy, was I wrong. I ended up washing beach towels and our swimsuits twice. It costs $1.25 for the washer and $.75 for the dryer and both have 30 minute cycles. You can also buy a small box of tide detergent and a box of bounce dryer sheets (2 sheets in each box) for $.75 each.

Finally, we loved the location. It is amidst a business area so on weekends there was hardly any traffic (and traffic was never really bad even on weekdays). Like I mentioned earlier, the beach was about 5 miles away, shopping at Carlsbad Premium Outlets was about 3 miles away (if that) and Legoland was less than 3 miles away. We're going back to Carlsbad in October and we will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perezk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Address: 2000 Faraday Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-7229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing