We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place was a perfect home for us while we visited LEGOLAND. Everything in the room was updated - from the décor to the flooring. The complimentary breakfast was more like a buffet and they have theme/social nights so you can get to know the other guests. The staff were all friendly and courteous. I would definitely stay here again! LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Our room was near an entrance and a stairway - it even faced the parking lot - but it was still quie...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Jen R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you chose us as your home base while visiting LegoLand. It is great that you found our recent renovation appealing. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and social hours (and used those opportunities to meet other guests). Thank you for also acknowledging the staff. They are all great and appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.

We look forward to your next LegoLand visit!

Warmly,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a really nice stay at the Residence Inn Carlsbad. This was my first time at the RI as a family. I traveled to one in Atlanta about twenty years ago as a starving college student so my needs are different now to say the least.

Arrival
We arrived on a Thursday morning around 11am after a quick 1 ½ hour drive from LA. We had plans to spend the rest of the day at Legoland. We didn’t think our room was ready and were prepared to leave our bags in our car (which we didn’t want to do) or leave them at the hotel. To our surprise, they let us check in early (normal check in is 4 pm) so that was an unexpected plus! Sarah and Alex checked us in. Some of the other reviews mentioned the great customer service which I agree. They were super friendly, and helpful. Check in was a breeze.

Shuttle
They have a free shuttle to Legoland which I don’t think is advertised. I just asked about it prior to our arrival and found that out. We used it one day. The drive to Legoland is a quick 7 or 8 minutes. We were also about 30 minutes late for the shuttle but since we were the only family utilizing it at that time-they waited for us! Thanks Shuttle Driver (can’t remember his name)!

Hotel
The hotel is located in a business area with lots of business parks around. The grounds and lobby were clean. They have a flat screen tv near the pool and a fire pit which was nice. We used both the pool and the Jacuzzi and ate on the patio. The hotel had everything we needed and wanted: free internet, no resort fees, pool, hot tub, full kitchen and free parking and breakfast.

Snack/Social Hour
The first night we stayed we got to enjoy their weeknight social snack hour complete with free wine, beer, soda, and a light meal. The meals vary but the night we were there they had burgers, dogs, chips and beans. Nothing fancy in terms of quality but with a very picky 4 year old, it worked! During the snack a gentleman who I assume was the manager, walked around and greeted guests and asked how we were doing. That was a nice touch. It made it feel like a little community.

Room
As the website depicts, they had a remodel so the rooms are very nice, modern, clean and chic. I think the only small disappointment was the bed. The bed looked like a full but was advertised as a queen. When we travel, my hubby and I always sleep in the same bed as our kiddo so it was a tighter than normal squeeze for us. To their credit, they had a pull out sofa bed we could have easily used, but we just managed. Not really a big deal. Our room was the perfect size for our family of 3. I’d get a two bedroom if I had two kids for sure.

Breakfast
The free breakfast was standard diner food-nothing high quality but again, it was an added convenience for sure and did the job! OJ, coffee, oatmeal with toppings, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, melon, toast and bagels. The make your own waffles were probably the best-complete with blueberries, chocolate chips, pecans and whipped cream to add!

Overall
Everyone we encountered was very nice and helpful. I did a lot of research before booking here and really felt like we got the most bang for our buck. Thanks everyone for a great stay! If I visit Legoland again, we would book this in a minute.

Room Tip: If you are traveling to Legoland, ask about the shuttle. It can save $15 on parking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havekidwilltravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

havekidwilltravel2,

Thank you for the complete and thoughtful review! We are pleased that you had a nice stay and were able to review so many aspects about our hotel It is great that we were able to accommodate an early check-in. We do this whenever possible but are happy to hold your luggage if not. Thank you for pointing out all of the hotel amenities including the fire pit, pool, hot tub, outdoor TV, free internet, free parking, free breakfast, and many others. Every social hour that we have, we have a manager on duty to...socialize! It is my favorite part of the day that I just walk around and talk to people from all over the country and world.

Thank you for the comments on the bed size. I can assure you that we only have Queen beds in our one bedrooms and king sized beds in our studios. The only doubles are the pull out sofas. During your next visit, maybe we should book you a studio suite with king bed or two bedroom which has one king and one queen.

Most of all, thank you for recognizing our staff members including Alex and Sarah. Being super friendly and helpful is what we live.

We look forward to your next LegoLand visit and stay with us.

Warmly,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for a while while visiting family. I can't complain about one thing. The staff was great in spite of being at full occupancy.

They provided a great free breakfast every morning. The staff managed to keep all of the item's replenished and the areas cleaned which was no small task with a large number of unsupervised children running around.

The Mon-Thurs "hospitality hours was a great break after a full day of tourist and family activities.

We will stay here again when visiting this area. Almost forgot...reasonably priced, nice pool and exercise area...and housekeeping was friendly and accomodating!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Karol64,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to also write such a great review! You were definitely here during our busiest time and we are pleased that our staff didn't miss a beat. It is great that you were able to enjoy our amenities like the free breakfast and Monday-Thursday social hour. Thank you for also pointing out the pool, fitness room, and great value of our hotel. Most of all, we really appreciate that you recognized our staff and their great service. They truly are the "difference makers" and I cant wait to share your comments with them!

We will keep an eye out for you when you return.

Warm wishes,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Knowledgeable and super friendly staff. I had a minor issue with my booking and Tony ( evening staff ) helped me with whatever I needed to sort the issue. Also, shout thanks to Corey. (You guys are very professional)
-the hotel overall is very clean.
-good hot breakfast
-close to shopping centre like Ross Marshalls and Nordsrom rack.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayray3334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Rayray3334,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, proximity to attractions, and the overall cleanliness. Thank you for recognizing our individual staff members that took such great care of you. We will definitely share your feedback with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would like to say this was a great hotel to stay at.We felt safe and secure at this property.Yes the pool was busy...it's summer time and so it should be.We had a 2 bedroom for the 5 of us and it was perfect.The breakfast was great in the morning.we stayed 6 nites and had a blast.Whatvever you need is just a drive away.Would recommend this hotel to any familly travelling.Also saw a lot of business people during the week and I think they enjoyed seeing the families having a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelAlbertaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

michaelAlbertaCanada,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate that you shared such kind words about your stay. Our two bedroom suites are certainly spacious for a family! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning and that you found our location central.

Thank you for recommending us to any family travelling. We really enjoy our mix of families and business travelers and appreciate the thumbs up!

We hope you can visit us again from Alberta! Check us out during your winter!

Warmly,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Over this property is very nice. The rooms are typical for this hotel brand. The property staff was friendly and provide insight to local attractions.

The pool area was busy with many families and a lot of kids. I would add that the grounds inside or around the pool/ courtyard area could be upgrade but the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orthodontics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Orthodontics ,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. As a senior contributor and 3 year TripAdvisor member, we can tell that you are a seasoned traveler with an eye for detail.

Thank you for recognizing our very nice rooms. We just completed a major renovation including the courtyard and pool areas. In the patio, we added a new fireplace, patio heaters new furniture and a 70" TV. We can be busy this time of year as we are a top choice for many families needing a hotel near LegoLand.

Most of all, thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and our Carlsbad area knowledge. Our staff is what sets us apart.

We hope to see you again soon!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We generally stay at Marriotts but as they don't have a location in northern San Diego county this came in as a good 2nd choice for the area and a quick stay. The facilities and room are keep very clean as this is difficult with the clientele we encountered. Many families and sports groups seemed to dominate this property. We had a 1 bed unit and the space in the living area was good, the only way to get around the bed and the dresser is to crab your way by. Probably 10 inches between bed and dresser.The air conditioner sounds like an F 16 so if you are a light sleeper it may be a problem!.The pool is open until 10 PM and there are families and small children in the hot tub until this time. So if its early to bed for you it many be a bit noisy! The breakfast was chaotic, with a narrow serving area and too many people trying to access it with the door at the end. May I suggest you break up this area to provide better access? The PC's are super slow and were unable to print our boarding pass. The beds are ok, but not of the Marriott Hotel quality. Overall a decent place to spend a few nights, The Sheraton was completely booked..perhaps a full Marriott in this area????.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be the quietest, as the pool hours go until 10 PM
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4snickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

4snickers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our newly renovated rooms are about 50% larger than a typical full service Marriott but I understand about the space between the dresser and bed. In addition, the A/C units are all brand new and should be very quiet. If you wouldn't mind letting me know your room number, I will have our engineering staff check it out. In the meantime, we will have our housekeeping department keep an ear out for any loud units.

July is definitely our busiest time of year. We are a popular choice for families because of our great amenities including our pool. We recently made improvements to our breakfast area but we can still be very busy at times. On a final note, we are upgrading our internet service in the next 2-3 months so that should help our business center speed quite a bit.

Thank you for your feedback. This is very important to us.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
760-431-9999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
115 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Address: 2000 Faraday Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-7229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $163 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing