We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff and hotel that I can remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best staff and hotel that I can remember”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Even though it is quite a drive from San Diego, I will most definitely stay here the next time I visit. The Staff were just amazing. Very clean room. They were in the midst of remodeling and yet we barely noticed it. We wanted to stay an extra day and they gave us the same promo rate that we made our initial booking for. Very family friendly. My boys are 5 and 3 and they had a blast at the pool and there was basketball court as well. There were a lot of other families with young kids as well. Complimentary breakfast and supper were an added bonus. Thanks for helping make our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We were simply elated to know that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    96
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
202
32
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, friendly staff, and free dinners most nights in the lobby make this a great place to stay. I was staying for work, but the location made for a great starting point for leisurely visits to San Diego, North County, and abroad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. At Residence Inn, we aspire to meet the high expectations travelers have come to expect of Marriott, and we're glad to know we met that goal. If you're ever in the Carlsbad area again for business or leisure, we'd love to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and clean, love that it has a kitchen. The best thing was they were serving dinner for free, and the night we stayed there, they were having BBQ night, and it was delicious! It is also 5 minutes away from legoland. Would definetly come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We were simply delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay. Our BBQ night is a favorite for most of our guests, and we're thrilled to know you enjoyed it too! We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I prefer Residence Inn when I travel because of the full breakfasts, and evening meals. This Residence Inn is standard for the chain, and I found nothing profoundly lacking, or extraordinary. This was the first time I've ever used the sofa-sleeper, and it was definitely firm (not a problem for me, but just a notice to others). I really like the size of the rooms and it didn't feel cramped at all, even with the sofa-sleeper open. Every part of the room was clean.

We stayed here over a Friday night and the hotel was nearly fully occupied. This was most noticeable in the morning during breakfast when the staff could barely keep up with demand. Often one thing, or another was empty. Also, as stated in some other reviews, there are choke points in the breakfast setup creating lines of guests that block other parts of the breakfast bar. I would wager this is only a problem during the weekend due to families traveling to Legoland. I have also found the breakfast area at Residence Inn's are most crowded during the last half of the breakfast service.

The only thing this hotel was lacking was walkability. The surrounding area is almost exclusively corporate business parks. The beach, stores, and Carlsbad downtown are all a short drive away. So, expect to drive anytime you need something.

We were only scheduled to stay the one night, then blasted off to our next location. This was exactly what I expected from a Residence Inn. The only downside was the weekend crowd, but that really only speaks to the hotels desirability.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings. Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. Feedback from our guests is paramount to our success. We were pleased to hear that our property met the standards you've come to expect from Marriott. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I really like this placemfor sure I would repeat here.

Postives: Nice vibe to the place everyone is very friendly, talked to many guests in the elevator and hallways. I had booked two nights then later realized I needed another night and booked this as a one night, not only were they nice enough to keep me in the same room all three nights but the actually upgraded my first two nights to match the higher room rate of the third night, this was excellent. We also asked to get a room facing the pool and they delivered this request as well.

Only a couple little negatives, none of the pillows the first night had any filling had to get the pillows replaced, which they did also the area where they server breakfast could be a big bigger. There is a line right next to the door and they also have the waffle maker in this area so people get stacked here in a bad spot. Also the tables fill up fast.

Nice easy drive to Legoland here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are excited to announce that we are currently undergoing a full renovation in which many of the points you mentioned will be addressed, including revamping our breakfast area and updating our rooms. We hope you'll come visit us again soon. We'd love to have you experience the new enhancements.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a great experience during our recent stay at this hotel. This is the second time that we have stayed at this hotel while visiting Legoland. The location is convenient, it takes us less than 15 minutes to get to the entrance of the park. The rooms are clean and well kept. Continental breakfast is included in the price and the variety of the food is great. Appropriate for a quick, light breakfast. The kids love the heated swimming pool. Some of the pool furnishings look a bit outdated and when we got there they did not have any pool towels. But other than that it was great for kids. Free wireless internet access was reliable and easy to connect to. Pricing for this hotel was reasonable and we will definitely consider staying here again when we return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are always delighted to hear from our repeat guests! We are currently performing a top to bottom renovation, and have some exciting enhancements on the way, including for our outdoor courtyard area. Please come visit us again soon. We'd love for you to be able to enjoy the new improvements.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We traveled in July and stayed for only one night. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. As usual, the staff was friendly. Although we stayed in Residence Inn's before, this was our first time at this property. The property was very nice and looked more updated than other Residence Inn's we have stayed at. However, the complex was pretty small and designed similar to a Courtyard. The complex consisted of a single, 4 story building with all the units connected and boxed around the swimming pool and a basketball court. This is unlike other Residence Inn's which has multiple buildings. Due to the building boxing in the pool and ball court, activities can be noisy for other tenants.

Although the location of the property is pretty near to Legoland, it's located in a business district and there is not much to do in the area. It's quite a drive to shopping and restaurants but offers plenty of concrete sidewalks for running/walking with various grades of slope. Excellent for cardios or biking. Because it was in a business district and we visited on a weekend day, we did not experience the traffic or traffic noise mentioned in the previous review. In fact it was pretty quiet for us. The only noise that was a bid loud was the air conditioning unit in our room, but it was not to an extend that would disturb us from sleeping.

The property was clean and well kept. Parking was available on all four sides of the building. Security was good. The parking lot was well lit and your room key give you 24hr access to any of the entrance to the building from any of the four sides.

The was clean and a good size. I did find the mattress to the sofa bed worn and ripped and should be replaced.

The breakfast buffet was average and nothing spectacular but it would definitely feed the kids and save you some money if you're traveling with family. Serving your basic eggs, beacons and sausages, toast, waffles, cereals, fruits and yogurts. The sitting area is very small and limited.

I thought the value was good and would stay here again if there is a need for me to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us this summer. You'll be happy to know that we are currently renovating our property, and will be replacing the mattresses in all the rooms, as well as updating our breakfast area. If you're ever in the Carlsbad area again, we'd love to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.6 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Address: 2000 Faraday Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-7229
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing