We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Consistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

STayed at this Motel 6 in Carlsbad, CA several times over the past few years. Its located south of Hwy 78 to Escondido and at the Palomar Airport exit. The place is always clean and the service is friendly at a moderate rate. A good stopping place for the night. The motel is located across the street from a German Style resturant/deli which has good food and cold beer and is easy to get in and out w/o to much expense, close to filling stations & other resturants up the street. Altough close to I-5 there isn't to much road noise. Never a problem here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
18
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Totally decent - it's really one of the cheapest motels around (I spent some time looking too), close to the beach and Legoland. It is what you would expect - rooms where made up each day, basic TV, no fridge (we brought a cooler, they have 2 ice machines). Pool was OK, closed for maintenance one day but no big deal. Free mediocre coffee in the office in the AM. Would defiantly stay here again - we spent most of our time out and about. You can hear the freeway but that goes for any motel next to the 5 (didn't bother me personally).

Room Tip: We choose a downstairs room so the kids would bother the people below, but we didn't hear any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stay here every year when we come down to attend horse races at Delmar and sightsee. Great location. Only 2 blocks from the beach. Clean rooms and friendly front end staff. Really close to a little shopping centre that has full service grocery store and deli plus drug store and fast food outlets as well a Starbucks. Easy to get to either the coastal highway or the freeway. Would highly recommend it for economically minded people. Courtesy coffee, laundromat and ice machine. We'll be back. We had another couple with us who both needed handicapped rooms. They were very satisactory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least amount of freeway noise. We had a room on the south side of the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustDoItCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stay at this Motel 6 most times when I go over to Encinitas/Carlsbad. They raise their rates by like $20-30/night on Friday and Saturday and it surely is NOT worth it, but during the week they are generally reasonable.

I always ask for the AARP rate (yes being over 50 has some benefits!!), which saves 10% and that pays for your taxes!

The rooms on the backside facing the ocean are the best. There is a loop trail that is great for walking pups...probably about 1.5 mile loop...just sort of nice to stroll. Great location to get anywhere. I've always found the front desk folks to be very obliging....

Be sure you check out PIERVIEW COFFEE in Oceanside if you are in the area! Just love that place and it's DOG FRIENDLY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent 2 days in Encinitas and decided to extend our stay but wanted to save $$. We found this Motel 6 for $80 on a Friday night, a value in this area. I was skeptical and honestly did not want to stay at a Motel 6 but was pleasantly suprised. It wasnt anything special but I wasnt expecting a lot being it is a Motel 6! The room had no frills but was clean. We needed a hair dryer and were able to get one from the front desk easily. Hotel is very close to the beach, you can walk or a short drive for a lot of beach options. We drove less than 5 minutes and stopped at a great area. Front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant, we arrived before 12:00 noon (yes BEFORE NOON) and they were able to get us into a room right away. I would definitely stay here if I am in the area again, especially if I am on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Expensive for no amenties and the room was cramped and dark. Bulbs burned out, no shampoo, no hair dryer, the toilet ran all night, the freeway noise is terrible and the decor is depressive at best and charged 2.99 for WiFI. Never again!

Room Tip: If you must stop, ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

we needed a spot close to the grandchild. got that....but, even though the outside of the motel has been updated to be clean...and the staff tried their best to keep the room clean...the musty smell in the room was overwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekulisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
0.1 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
Rodeway Inn - Encinitas
#8 of 9 in Encinitas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Property: Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Address: 750 Raintree Dr, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3206
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel 6
Carlsbad Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing