We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Accommodations & Even Lovelier Personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Our San Diego-based company hosted a small strategic planning conference here early this week. Although I'd attended meetings at this property, I had never before been a guest of the resort or had an opportunity to take advantage of the spa services.

The main focus of our strategic planning was service, and the staff at the resort gave us plenty of good examples to cite during our involved discussions.

The hotel occupancy was obviously low during the two days of our visit, but you wouldn't have been able to tell that by the amount of personnel on staff. They were not only plentiful, but they were friendly and helpful, and almost without exception, made every interaction personal - so removed from the ordinarily pleasant, but typically robotic interactions from many in the hotel industry.

In fact, the esthetician in the spa was so genuine that I hugged her on the way out. I hated to leave, but who wouldn't? The restaurant was closed on our one overnight, but the lobby bartender who served our drinks before we left for dinner remembered all of our choices when we returned. Pretty impressive!

All of our guest rooms were spacious and beautifully-appointed. There was not a leaf out of place on the grounds. I would absolutely return for a weekend away with my husband, and definitely a visit to the spa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,861)
There are newer reviews for Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,588 - 2,594 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband, 2 children and I returned to La Costa this year for the second summer in a row. We enjoyed a weekend at the resort last year, and had a such a relaxing experience that we decided to extend our stay to 5 nights this time. We were not disappointed! The room was clean and lovely, with a remodeled bathroom , excellent amenities, and a view of a private courtyard with a jacuzzi. It was conveniently located next to both the pool and the restaurants, so we got lucky there. We booked early when they were having a special and we received 30% off on our room rate and breakfast for our entire family for $25. The breakfast was a wonderful way to begin the day, as they offer a very nice buffet each morning and you can dine outdoors overlooking the golf course. I think the $25 breakfast plan is something you can ask for if it is not included in your hotel package, and they will gladly add it.

If you have children, the pool is definitely the highlight of your La Costa experience. The younger children adore the shallow pool with the sandy "beach", as well as the splash zone activities and smaller waterslides. The older kids (and grownups) LOVE the two larger waterslides. The food poolside is great, though a bit spendy, but it's a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere for the whole family.

We enjoy playing tennis, and the resorts has a beautiful tennis facility, and it didn't seem to be crowded at all when we were there. The restaurants on site are good, but there are plenty of other options nearby as well, such as a casual pizza place in the mall across the street and a nicer Mexican restaurant. We enjoyed dinner at a nearby Benihana one evening, as well.

The proximity to Legoland is a big bonus, and the drive into San Diego for Sea World and other attractions is only about 45 minutes. We are La Costa fans, and we look forward to returning each year!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sb_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

La Costa Resort and Spa is a beautiful resort with numerous daily activities for both couples and families. Whether we were in the mood for an early morning walk, family yoga, swimming or even arcade games, La Costa met all our needs right on site as well as being in close proximity to the beach, Sea World, LegoLand and other desireable destinations. The landscape was lush and well maintained, the staff was courteous and professional and the rooms are SPECTACULAR!!! Our suite had a large living/dining room where our family could enjoy a sit down breakfast overlooking our beautiful courtyard or we could enjoy pizza and a movie with all the comforts of home! We have returned 3 summers in a row now and I hope to continue to make our trip to La Costa a yearly luxury! My family and I can't wait for next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandieS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The place was nice enough, but we extended our trip through the weekend and found much better value at hotel locations actually in San Diego. No complaints as far as service and cleanliness, but the rooms were kind of weird (three times longer than it was wide?)... the bed could only fit in one way and it was right up to the wall on one side with about 3 feet on the other side; the TV was 30 feet from the bed? Everything was overpriced, but I guess some people like to pay extra for the perception of being better. Food was very good for a conference buffet. All in all, the golf course was looking run down and I'm just glad I wasn't the one paying the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I should preface this by relating that October is definitely “off-season” at La Costa, so the smaller number of guests could certainly have impacted the level of service we received (which was excellent). My wife and two adult daughters accompanied me to La Costa for a conference I was attending there. Check-in could not have gone smoother. I had reservations for a suite and found that we had been upgraded to an even larger one than what I had reserved. Our particular accommodations were convenient to all of the property’s amenities (pools, fitness center, restaurants, shops, golf course). There are accommodations at the resort that could require much more walking to some of the amenities listed. The main pool complex included several “extras” that I’m sure children of all ages would enjoy (waterslides, mini beach) although my family did not partake of them. The fitness center was probably the best, and was definitely the largest, I have ever seen at a resort or hotel property. One particularly pleasing characteristic of the fitness center was the positioning of the stationary bikes facing the large windows with excellent views of the golf course. The only negative from our stay was the first evening we ordered pizza from room service to eat by the pool and it was not near the quality of everything else that we experienced during our stay. We did order from room service one other evening (for my daughters) while my wife and I attended a dinner with the conference, and the food was better. The only category I have rated at less than “Excellent” is for value. This is simply recognition that the level of excellence we experienced does not come cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rthorntonPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I attended LaCosta for a business conference (I was one of the conference organizers and directors) and the entire stay was very pleasant. The conference rooms were great! And the entire resort is clean and beautiful. The staff is more than helpful - ask them to jump and they will jump 50 times. There was always someone there ensuring we had everything we possibly needed. Landscaping, pools, rooms, restuarants, food, staff were great!! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I just spent 5 days at this property. Wonderful place to relax even though I was there for business. I brought my kids on this trip because the hotel shows a nice pool and water slides. I wanted to hang out with the wife and kids in the late afternoons by the pool but they close the slides at 4 or 430pm. Real bummer! I wish we would have known prior to visiting property that the kids would not be able to use the water slides - probably would have stayed somewhere else.
Property is clean and staff is professional. The rooms are a bit spread out so be prepared to do some walking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#3 of 278 in San Diego
1,757 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#150 of 278 in San Diego
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort & Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $229 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Prestigia, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing