We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Costa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Phila
1 review
“La Costa”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Hummingbirds.
Birds of Paradise.
Pools, golfing, tennis and a spa.
Beautiful gym.
Excellent food and wine.
Minutes from the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    576
    324
    190
    131
See reviews for
995
463
176
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We spent four nights here in a ground floor room in the 'grassy knoll' area of the resort. Apparently this is where they like to put families, which was fine. The room had french doors that opened to a large grass area where our kids were able to step out and run around. However, there are many low hanging trees and tons of spiders, bugs, bird droppings...so, we had to clean our patio furniture everyday. The room had a large bathroom with granite and a big shower. Very nice. The mattresses were much too hard for my taste and actually gave me shoulder pain. It's awful to want to leave a nice resort for the comforts of your own bed! We did not eat at the resort, but the evening scene in the main courtyard was lively and there were cover/jazz bands performing two of the 4 nights we stayed. The best part for us, because of our children, was the family pool area. Two kid-friendly pools, waterslides, and on Saturdays, live music. Even though it is a time share resort now, not once were we asked if we were interested in a presentation...a welcome change from all our trips to Mexico where you are bombarded by the sales pitches. The service at the front desk was wonderful. We were treated very kindly and told that if our children or us were unhappy with our room they would do whatever they could to find us a new one. We did not visit the spa or the Chopra wellness center, or even play a round of golf. We were busy with Legoland and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This was my fourth stay at La Costa and on the Friday and Saturday my sister and I were there, it was packed. We arrived early and were told we might have to wait for the 4 pm check-in time, but when we went back to the desk we got into a room right away. We wanted two beds and this one only had a King but the superb valet got us the room we wanted and moved us into it at 4 pm, while we were lounging at the spa. With its Roman shower, plunge pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, and excellent staff, the spa is one of La Costa's best features. I also enjoyed the quiet villa pool, far away from the with the big slide that's for kids. The grounds are impeccable, with flowers literally everywhere. All rooms seem to have a patio or balcony from which you can enjoy them. Except for at the villas the rooms are a bit older but I actually love their comfy feel--the luxurious bathrooms with walk-in shower, the flat screen TV's, free Internet and especially the top-of-the-line bedding and mattresses. No problem sleeping here. I also love the fitness room with its sweeping views of the golf course and the first-class equipment (Matrix). What's not to like about La Costa? Well, perhaps 1 and 10 of the staff aren't as gracious as they could be. The food at Legends is good, especially breakfast, but room service isn't more than average. And I'd suggest that before getting into one of the many hot tubs around the property, you smell it . La Costa attracts families and the hot tub near our room smelled like a kid or two had used it for a bathroom. But the greatest thing about La Costa is the sense of peace that lingers over it, perhaps due to all the yoga and meditating going on at the Deepak Chopra Center on its property, or perhaps the smiles that beam from the faces of most of the staff have done something magical to the air.

Our visit wasn't perfect...a slightly grumpy person here, a smelly hot tub there, cold french fries from room service one night, a delay at check-in, a rented beach umbrella that didn't work, but after all the place was packed. I encountered none of these problems the times I've been there when it was less full.

It would take a lot more than this to keep me from returning to beautiful La Costa again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSnakesPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We came to the resort early to check in and we expected to wait. We came in our bathing suits ready to have some time at the pool. The valets took our luggage and stored it for us. We sat at a cabana and had lunch while our little one played on the pool slides and swam. We were called when our room was ready.

We were brought to our room with our luggage. We found our studio villa to be nicely equipped with everything we needed. Were were happy to have such a nice balcony with plenty of seating, and right off of that was a nice size spa which we enjoyed every night after dinner.

There are a few complaints. One we were missing the room service menu that took over an hour and a hlf to arrive. (We already went out to eat by that time). We were impressed by the petit kitchen, but had an odor I couldn't quite put my thumb on. Lastly I think having to check in at the pool and them keeping track of your towels and having to turn them in promptly as you leave the pool area is a bit tacky. I had to walk back to my room wet! Yuck!

Overall we had a nice stay and would give it another try.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allerimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Grounds and rooms were very nice. Spa was good too. We returned thinking it would be just as nice...but not this time. The reservation was screwed up and the front desk was far from helpful. Contacted the hotel GM about our issue but never got a response. Would not return to the resort...very disappointing as we had high hopes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Just got back from the best vacation resort ever! The grounds were the prettiest I've ever seen, the pools were beyond my expectation, the fitness and Yoga Center were state of the art and the employees were incredible. You can't teach employees that kind of customer service...you're born with it and La Costa Resort knows how to pick them! Can't say enough about it...definitely 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyladywdbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

I picked this resort because the website touted their recent multimillion dollar renovation and the rates for the large (800+ sq ft) suites were quite reasonable. Just so you know where I am coming from, my husband and I typically stay in 5 star resort properties with our two children, aged 5 and 15 months. We always try to book a suite. Alternatively we stay in rented homes.

We booked a parlor suite for $420 a night (not inclusive of the mandatory resort fee of $22 a day and $12 for self parking each day) and were extremely disappointed when we arrived in the musty, dated suite which actually was two rooms joined together by a connecting door. When I voiced my concerns to the kind woman who had checked us in she spoke with her rooms manager. Her first suggestion was to have the room "freshened" by an ionizer. I politely declined and asked to see another possibility. I was taken to a spa room that while had a better floor plan, was similarly dated and smelly. It was also significantly smaller than what we had booked.

After being told by the bellman that all rooms in the resort were built in 1965 other than the year old privately owned "villas" I asked to see one of them. A very nice bellman took me to room 6532 and said that it was his favorite on the entire property. At this point I was just happy to be in a modern space, even though it, too, was much smaller than the suite I had initially booked.

This villa was essentially one room with a small kitchen nook on one end. The villa was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was lovely, even though it appears that some corners were cut in the quality of the materials used and the workmen didn't completely clean up the paint splatters on the bathroom floor. The couch pulled out to make a bed, and perhaps this was why it was extremely uncomfortable. With the addition of a crib for our baby, the space was very cramped. (No place to move the one chair) Also, storage was very limited and the closet was small. The kitchen did not have the basics one would expect, i.e. paper towels, oven mitt, towels etc.) While our unit had a bigger than average private patio, unlike the majority of the units, our patio faced the parking lot and I5. The noise from the interstate was constant, and joined most afternoons by gardeners maintaining the beautiful grounds.

Housekeeping was lacking. Unlike most hotels where the maids are chomping at the bit to clean your room in the morning, I had to call and request service each day. There was no evening turndown service (which would have been nice since we had the pullout couch). The staff didn't provide washcloths a couple of days and forgot to replenish the tissue. The towels in general were a little threadbare. On the other hand, the bed and pillows were super comfy.

As for the pools, we found them to be wonderfully kid friendly and super fun. This is why you want to be here. Service poolside was friendly and efficient. The food served was predictably overpriced but tasty. We ate at Legends restaurant one night and we found the location lovely and the food and service excellent.

Bottom Line: You don't stay here for the rooms. If you are used to new and modern you are best served by booking a villa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sldpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,928 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing