We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort, Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We attended a conference here and enjoyed the location very much. Although we didn't dine in any of the restaurants, every morsel of food served at our event was perfect. The room was quiet and comfortable with one of the best beds I have ever slept in. This is a large property. Every function required a long, yet pleasant walk.
There were only two negative experiences during our stay.
1. The room phones had a red light that blinked incessantly. I called the front desk and was given instructions to clear the phone. That lasted only a short time. The blinking returned and continued for the rest of our stay.
2. We returned to our room one afternoon to find uniformed workmen doing preventative maintenance. They had our door propped open and a cart of tools nearby. We were able to enter and remain in the room without any security check.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby if walking is difficult for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chef31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    526
    299
    178
    122
See reviews for
852
420
165
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Enjoyed the past week at the Omni La Costa Resort, everything was just perfect! The guesrooms are very nice, well appointed, good size, food was great! Best Scrambled eggs ever!!! Service was outstanding, can't wait to go back with the family to enjoy the fun waterpark and slide!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reschardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is nice but overpriced!!! So imagine my surprise when I was charged 2 times.....trying to work with the billing office is ridiculous.... I used Get a Room to book the hotel which the La Costa has a contract with and instead of getting their money from Get a Room they charged my credit card...(so did Get a Room). When I asked the Omni La Costa to rectify the problem they charged me 85.00 for the time and trouble it took for them to get the money from Get A Room. I am pretty sure (as a consumer) I am not responsible for the contract hotels have with websites.
So my suggestion is if you plan to book a room at the Omni La Costa in Carlsbad you might think about booking directly with them to avoid any confusion they might have in their accounting department because they will come after the consumer for their shady dealings with contractors. UGH.... They won't call you back either to help you in resolving any issue you have so stay at your own risk!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Staff member Cesar Paniagua Reservations Agent. The beginnning of my Omni experience began with excellent customer service and a very pleasent man to work with. When i arrived i even called back reservation services to meet the gentleman. Once again he exceed my exceptions. He very kind and helpful and had great customer service and was very informative of the overall property. He was a great example of what a Omni Staff should be like.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to visit this property during our company conference. The resort is beautiful, the amenities provided throughout are exceptional and the service and quality of every staff member and the food and beverage was out of this world. I am vegan and the chef went out of his way to ensure I had proper food in any function I attended. Soy milk was present in every break and meeting room and the presentation was super. Thank you Omni La Costa for an amazing week.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I recently attented a meeting at the hotel. All I can say is that the experience was the best ever! The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank tvltoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were very conscious on the snacks and drinks in our room, only spent approx $50.00 per their list pricing and they charged us $135.44. I really think they overcharge on whatever they can, it's not fair for any family that has a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angeles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.9 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 279 in San Diego
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing