We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for the workforce”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

While the LaCosta resort is lovely, it is expensive for the average conference attendee...and makes the visit less enjoyable when you consider the lack of value for the price. No coffee maker in the room forces you to buy expensive room service or trek outside to find the resorts' snack shop...not very consumer friendly. The elevators are few and far between, if you're carrying lots of materials for a conference it's challenging to navigate the stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Kimberly M: I'm glad that you were able to visit us for a business meeting and thank you for sharing your perspective here. We appreciate your time and remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,272 - 2,278 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Beautiful resort, which is well maintained. Resort offers many options for those who are vegan or vegetarian. Resort grows many of its own herbs which it uses in meal preparation. Spa is very nice. Chopra Center is amazing. I recommend trying the Ayuverdic massage treatments with the Chopra Center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Sarah R: We love growing fresh herbs in our gardens here and providing our Chefs with inspiration. Thanks for appreciating the herb gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business. During the stay, I did not meet any good foods.
The hotel seems old and the rooms are old especially the building 800's and 900's.
However the staff at the lobby, bar, gym was great.

Room Tip: Try not to stay the building 800' and 900'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piccola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Piccola G: We weclome your feedback on the resort's cuisine and are sharing these comments with our culinary team. We also appreciate the cudos for the staff at the lobby bar and Athletic Club. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel, staff, environment, weather, amenities, just everything you would want in a trip and from your accommodations is here. The staff was great, the room was clean and they made our experience special. Sure to be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Whitney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Whitney A: Congratulations on your engagement! We are honored to be part of your special memories and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed at the Omni La Costa during classes at the Chopra Center (located on site) and it was a lovely merging of the two. Everything about my stay felt as if they anticipated my needs. Definately will return to both. The only problem I had during my stay was my room was next to a storage area for the cleaning staff and I had to leave my TV on at night to muffle the sound of the service door opening and closing during the night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is by far the best value in the luxury spa category. The staff is great and you never want to leave the grounds. The food was wonderful and the servers paid attention to every detail. The overall upkeep of the entire hotel is top notch and the golf course is in great shape.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Raymond M: Thank you for the accolades, our staff is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Beautiful property! Comfortable guest rooms! Highly recommended. Expansive property excellent for walking, excellent if you choose to bring your pet. Parking closer to guest rooms would be convenient but overall not having cars near rooms adds to the ambience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 730blanchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort & Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $216 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing