We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but had issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel itself was beautiful. The bath tub didn't work correctly and room service kept us waiting 2.5 hours and still got order wrong. The package deal had restrictions they forgot to mention and we ended up paying for things we couldn't even use. It was quiet and relaxing, but ended up waiting around more than anything. the room wasnt ready upon check in. so waited 3 hours at pool bar. then waited hungry for 2.5 hours for dinner and they still couldnt get it correct. Lots of dissapointment for a hotel my husband and i like.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Taylor S: It sounds as if you've stayed with us in the past and enjoyed your visit and we apologize for the experience you had recently. Our team is focused on reviewing your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,360 - 2,366 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you are looking for a quick get away, think of La Costa Resort and Spa. You will feel like new after a lovely weekend at this beautiful place. Whether you go alone, as a couple, or taking the family to "Lego Land", La Costa has everything you need at your finger tips. I can't believe it has taken me so long to discover this great resort, I love it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family stayed at the the Omni LaCosta in Carlsbad During February School Vacation. We found the service to be very friendly and professional and the grounds perfectly landscaped. All of our interactions with the staff were great. The pools were wonderful - exceptionally clean and beautifully situated. Since February vacation is unheard of in California it was also a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank mcase2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

There are way too many small children that are allowed to run all over the hotel, it’s become a giant childcare facility. The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday at Bistro 65 was terrible, cold food, poor selection, unsanitary conditions, no food descriptions, wrong items on the check with the wrong prices. Children were allowed to climb on chairs and play games in the eating area. A lot of yelling and screaming was going on the entire time we were there. The noise from across the hall and someone running around in the room above us kept us awake at night. I was told that this was the only room that was available that could meet my accommodations. I have given you three chances to make things right and it’s been a total failure on the part of Omni Hotels to deliver even a satisfactory stay one time. Prior to the last three stays, the experience was top notch. I don’t know what happened or why it’s changed but it’s been a change for the worse.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear SteveM: We appreciate that you've shared your comments with us. We are so sorry that you did not have the tranquil experience you were seeking and are certainly taking this feedback to heart and reviewing with our team. Thanks for taking the time to post here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hospitality at this resort is so pleasant and pampered I not only return I am taking time to write this review. In all ways the room to the food to the golf. You can truly have a pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, checking in late in the dark. This resort is spread out over many acres so be prepared for long walks or a golf cart ride to get around. We eventually checked into Room 450 and after driving around in the dark with a map requiring a magnifying glass and several laps around compound.

We were in building 4 which is at far end of complex from lobby and dining and ajacent to a busy road. No sounds of surf, rather a four lane road with cars whiz zing by and then nearby highway noise. Note that buildings do not have visible numbers that can be seen easily from road and sidewalks.

Room was nice with a small patio on the ground floor. Next advemture was attempting to find the ice machine. Two phone calls to front desk later a bellman brought us a bucket of ice. Staff was unfailingly helpful and polite which helped mitigate a few detractions

Room 450 is close to rear parking lot which makes it easy to unload but then got to listen to whine of pool mechanical room for duration of stay. Great bed did not make up for overhead noise. People upstairs could have moved in with us as we heard every step and moving things around. Bathroom was spacious but chilly as heat vents are not in the area. Clogged bathroom sink was slow on day 1 and then totally clogged the morning we checked out

We tested out the Diversion lobby bar and the Bluefire restaurant. Margaritas were so-so so we did better with wine at Bluefire. Had very good swordfish dinner one night here. Diversions lobby bar was better on bar tending skills with more interesting drink options but was overrun with convention attendees so we moved to another area of hotel

Outdoor area were very attractive but it was unseasonably cool so we spent more time inside than out. Bring plenty of layers as temperature drops quickly after the sun goes down. We did not brave swimming pools which were attractive but too cold outside. There were a few people in hot tub near our building but they did not stay long due to cool night air.

If you play golf or tennis enthusiastically or want to spend more than room rate on a few hours of spa services and want to be in a sunny attractive spot, La Costa might fit the bill. If you want to be by the ocean with more of a local feel there are better choices.

Room Tip: Ask to be in building closer to lobby and shops unless you want to hike back and forth or wait for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear highlandbride: We are glad you took the time to visit us and that you enjoyed your guestroom and patio. It's unfortunate that we weren't able to have a bellman escort you to your room to provide a proper orientation and get you settled comfortably. We hope that you have an opportunity to pay us another visit as the weather warms up and we would love to introduce you to the other areas of the resort that would better suit your needs. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share your feedback with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, clean, super friendly people, helpful.... Wow can't wait to go back.
Bed were super comfortable, rooms very spacious, huge bathrooms, honestly amazing!!!!
Lots of beautiful gardens, great food, and the price is very reasonable for all the luxury and comfort.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank monicaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear monicaiza: We can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
7 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort & Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $219 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing