We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Get-Away”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

La Costa is a great place for a quite retreat from a busy schedule. The only down point was the service in the Bistro for breakfast. It was very slow. Golf was good and the courses are in great shape for this time of the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mrsmac2_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear mrsmac: Thank you for your comments about the quiet retreat you enjoyed at Omni La Costa. We appreciate your comments about the great golf conditions as well as the critique of Bistro 65 service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    576
    324
    190
    131
See reviews for
995
463
176
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My second stay at La Costa & the first time after they renamed themselves to 'Omni La Costa', however, I love it nevertheless! The grounds are beautiful, the staff are friendly and the front desk staff remembered me from my last visit too - which was tremendously endearing!

The check-in was speedy and my room was ready.. but I was a bit disappointed with the choice of room this time. For such a lengthy stay, by myself, I had a tiny room, quite a walk away from the seminar venue that faced the rear parking lot. I was, also, disappointed in not having a bath tub in the room - when I was really looking forward to a good soak after a 16.5 hrs trip and add the transit times from LAX, it could be a good 24hrs since I left home. Some of the attendees at my seminar (also staying by themselves) had a good suite with a bath, etc, so it was a bit of a let-down on the criteria for random upgrades.. Maybe the staff should pay closer attention to where their guests are flying from & use that as a yardstick too.

There were a few things that I noticed though, that could be room for improvement - especially for guests staying longer (and I've shared it with them on their check-out survey). So, if you're a guest flying internationally, you may want to carry an international plug converter/adapter as they do not provide those for guests any more. And definitely, do not forget your charger .. at all. lol.. I forgot mine and had to go down to the AT&T next to Albertsons (just outside & to the left of the property) to buy a new set.

Also, for those who like to shop on property (and possibly in their cute boutiques & stores around Carlsbad), if you're concerned about baggage, make sure you have a way to weigh your bags, because the Resort do not have a luggage scale, but the awesome bellstand staff were happy to make me an physical estimate by heaving my bags.. lol..

However, their restaurants are always super! For my last night, I arrived back late and starving and ran into Bistro 65 at 9:30pm with them closing at 10pm. They allowed me in very graciously and offered their daily special as well. I must say, their pan-seared Mahi Mahi on polenta was so delicious!! It was a quiet solo celebration, so I was very touched at the gesture. Oh, and their clam chowder was super amazing too!

All things considered, this is a great place and fantastic for me as I attend seminars held at the resort, so it is obviously my first & best choice. I've seen there are lovely attractions for my kids too, so I'm planning on taking them along with me then.. (just will have to time it when I'm not on a seminar!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear LuvenaR: Thank you for posting and for your loyalty to Omni La Costa! I've already shared your luggage scale idea with our retail director-- what a terrific suggestion. Also appreciate your comment about your guestroom preference. Next time you stay with us, please let us know if you're without a charger, as we can generally assist you with that. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

wow, is the word!!! gorgeous landscaping, great food, something for everyone to do , the spa has 40 treatment rooms, and all the techs are A+ customer service is at its best, whether you are there for a meeting or just relaxing.........loved and I would go back.....if you leave the resort plan on spending big dollars for taxi.....
**** all kinds of exercise available,

Room Tip: get close to the spa, you will spend a lot of time there!!! we stayed on ground unit.....a plus wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pam M: Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. Our team really appreciates your comments and we hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our 3rd time here. We were upgraded to a villa for our anniversary and loved it. Staff is wonderful here. Bluefire grill was wonderful.We will come over and over again because we love it here. The spa was great as always.We fell at home at La Costa and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank margisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member: Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased you chose to spend it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Awesome ladies weekend! Adult pool, spa, room and views were all highlights. We participated in beach walks, yoga, meditation and spin classes. A great time was had by all. Only complaint was Sunday brunch - meh. But we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member: We can't wait to welcome your ladies' group back for another getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Have never been and now wondering what took us so long to treat ourselves to a wonderful getaway. Staff was helpful and friendly. Not cheap but you get what you pay for in this world and we got a lot for our money with the golf package. Decent size room with french doors and private patio. Bathroom nicely remodeled. Round of golf and credit towards food and beverage! Unlimited use of driving range and practice facility too! A golfer's dream! The grounds are lovely. Next time will stay longer and make sure to visit fitness center and enjoy the spa and tennis! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRAZRHWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. RAZRHWK: I am so pleased to hear that you treated yourself to an Omni La Costa golf vacation and that you felt the value was a good one. Our newly renovated Legends Course opens this month, so I hope this creates the perfect reason for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been there for a dozen years but stayed for several days on business. Everyone at hotel is nice and helpful from front desk to valets. Internet is great as is morning beverages, complimentary if you join their loyalty program. Room was large and up to date bed was comfortable as was desk. Flat screen tv and mini bar. Check the website for deals.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kadie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kadie123: Thank you for sharing these comments about your enjoyable stay. It's terrific that you took advantage of our Omni Select Guest loyalty program and enjoyed your morning coffee for free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,930 reviews
16.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing