We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in california”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

fantastic amenities and beautiful venue. Definitely stay more than 2 days. Yoga center is spectacular. Take as many classes as you can fit in. Also suggest dinner from one of the balconies and the golf is also well above average.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank F3atherpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear F3atherpillow: Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It's wonderful that you made full use of our Yoga Center and enjoyed the classes. We hope you can return soon for another rejuvenating stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,370 - 2,376 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business conference and was very impressed. Great accommodations, lovely setting, professional and welcoming staff. Certainly pricey for room rates, and the amenities are well overpriced, but certainly a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Rich M: Thank you for sharing your experiences at our beautiful resort. I hope that you're able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Brought the family along for a business trip, and we were satisfied with the hotel. A lot of shops, places to eat, and it was convenient to the Safari Park. We were not as impressed with the room as everything else (it had a musty smell to it), but overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Derrick H: It's terrific to hear that your family was able to join you on your recent business trip here. With so many famous San Diego area amenities nearby, not to mention our waterslides and activities, there's a lot for famlies to do. I hope that your family created some special memories while here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a great place to stay. great meeting spaces,wonderful accommodations(very clean,large rooms,easy access,friendly help,good access to local sights).Allthough hotel has large lay-out all events and activities were easy to get to by walking or hotel shuttle(free)We drove to ocean in minutes and had a number of great places to see, Carlsbad, LaJolla, Escondito Beach,Oceanside.There are many restaurants available and also a number of grocery stores close by to purchase items for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear John W: Thanks for taking the time to post your review and share your enjoyment of our accommodations, friendly staff and proximity to area attractions. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked our room a month ahead. We asked for the family suite since we had 3 adults and 2 children. When we got to our room it was one room with three beds. When I called the front desk they said they no longer had the room I asked for available. They made up for it by moving us to a room with a bedroom with a king bed, hide a bed , and 2 roll-away beds (no extra cost). The bathroom had doors that you could see through with no lock which was a little uncomfortable. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the pool. Our 9 year old enjoyed the water slide. Other than that it was overrated. When we checked out we were charged $35 a day for the roll aways and $87 for someones bar bill. After I said something they took off the charges.

Room Tip: The food is very expense there. We found some good food with our GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear StephanieH: Thank you for taking time to share your comments. I apologize that you did not receive the accommodation type that you had requested for your family and for the billing errors upon checkout (I'm glad to hear our team worked quickly to remedy both situations). It's great to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful setting and the pools and waterslides. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful rooms, golf was great, course in perfect conditon, staff friendly. Our room was perfect over looking the fairways. We slept great, the bed very comfortable. Love it! Would love to use the spa next time, we spent to much time golfing.... Next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear CherylM: Great to hear that you loved your golf vacation here and that you appreciated the perfect course conditions. The completely renovated Legends Course opens next month, so we hope you'll have an opportunity to return soon. And the spa is waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very pleased with everything. Beautiful resort. Spa is relaxing and lots of amenities. Massages unreal and a wide variety. Well maintained and clean rooms and grounds. Chopra Centre experience was the hi-light. All staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Jim P: It's terrific to hear that you enjoyed the spa and that you were impressed with your resort experience! Thanks for taking time to share your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
12.2 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,024 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort & Spa

Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $214 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing