We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Up to omni snuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Up to omni snuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been there for a dozen years but stayed for several days on business. Everyone at hotel is nice and helpful from front desk to valets. Internet is great as is morning beverages, complimentary if you join their loyalty program. Room was large and up to date bed was comfortable as was desk. Flat screen tv and mini bar. Check the website for deals.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kadie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kadie123: Thank you for sharing these comments about your enjoyable stay. It's terrific that you took advantage of our Omni Select Guest loyalty program and enjoyed your morning coffee for free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    468
    274
    163
    118
See reviews for
739
346
136
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We came to the La Costa Resort for a romantic get away. The location is fabulous and the property layout and amenities are very good. Most of the staff, with the exception of the front desk, were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to give us a personal welcome. However, the property itself was a bit disappointing. Lots of deferred maintenance, the beds were very uncomfortable, and everything looked a bit tired. This resort is recently under new management and Omni usually runs excellent hotels. I'd go there again if I could get a good discount on the room, otherwise, I'll wait till after the renovation to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Claudia H: Thank you for selecting our resort for your romantic getaway and for taking the time to share your feedback here. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and amenities and helpfulness of our staff. I appreciate also that you shared your thoughts on the property itself, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harrison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel and the facilities were amazing - I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It had one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen! The infinity pool was lovely also, it was great to lay out and watch the golfers in the distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Carolyn M: We love hearing that you enjoyed the views from the Edge inifinity jacuzzis and that you appreciated our luxurious bathrooms. It sounds like you had a very relaxing visit! Thank you for sharing these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed from August 20 - 31 while attending a Chopra Center event. It was very convienent for that purpose. It seems like a little bit older property but was kept up well. Our room appeared to have been recently remodeled. We ate breakfast there several times and the buffet was excellent. The meeting rooms were first rate. There are a LOT of families with small children there but they have an audlts only pool area that made sitting by the pool relaxing. It's about 30 minutes north of most San Diego attractions. One negative was that it got much more hot and humid one day than was typical for the area and the room AC did not keep up. We called maintenance and they arrived promptly to make some adjustments but it did not help much. Other guests were complaining about the same thing on that particular day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MarkRakowski: Thank you for posting a review and for your kind remarks about our meeting rooms and remodeled guestrooms. So glad you took advantage of the Edge adults only pool for some relaxation between your meetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

fantastic amenities and beautiful venue. Definitely stay more than 2 days. Yoga center is spectacular. Take as many classes as you can fit in. Also suggest dinner from one of the balconies and the golf is also well above average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank F3atherpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear F3atherpillow: Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It's wonderful that you made full use of our Yoga Center and enjoyed the classes. We hope you can return soon for another rejuvenating stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business conference and was very impressed. Great accommodations, lovely setting, professional and welcoming staff. Certainly pricey for room rates, and the amenities are well overpriced, but certainly a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Rich M: Thank you for sharing your experiences at our beautiful resort. I hope that you're able to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Brought the family along for a business trip, and we were satisfied with the hotel. A lot of shops, places to eat, and it was convenient to the Safari Park. We were not as impressed with the room as everything else (it had a musty smell to it), but overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Manager at Omni La Costa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Derrick H: It's terrific to hear that your family was able to join you on your recent business trip here. With so many famous San Diego area amenities nearby, not to mention our waterslides and activities, there's a lot for famlies to do. I hope that your family created some special memories while here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
2.9 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
4.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
1.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Costa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Costa Resort and Spa

Property: Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Address: 2100 Costa Del Mar Road, Carlsbad, CA 92009-6823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#21 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni La Costa Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is an iconic San Diego area resort destination, set in the coastal foothills of Carlsbad Calfornia. Our picturesque 400-acre garden retreat is California's Original Destination for Mind, Body + Sport. Here, you'll find fresh and inspired cuisine, world-class San Diego area golf and spa, stunning pools and exhilarating waterslides. You'll enjoy an innovative activities program that offers more than 168 things to do each week. And throughout your stay, you'll feel energized and refreshed.After a recent $50 million resort-wide renovation, Omni La Costa is better than ever, with renovated guestrooms and suites and a fresh, contemporary style. Current accolades include the Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Award, the #1 Wellness Spa in the Nation from Spa Magazine, and GOLF Magazine's Gold Medal Resort ranking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni La Costa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Resort And Spa
La Costa Hotel Carlsbad
La Costa Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing