We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories in the Making”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Memories in the Making”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had been looking for a nice, clean, resort-y, family-friendly hotel near the beach, that we could visit each summer with our kids and grandkids. We have now stayed her twice, most recently the past four days including the 4th of July. It's pretty amazing.

High points: although this is a family-dedicated resort, they have a luxurious adult pool and hot tub with a view of the ocean!

Great service, thoughtful kind workers, 95%-clean rooms which are well-maintained, beautiful grounds, activities for the kids, free internet, fast and professional room service from an on-site restaurant (they even deliver to the pools), a "family pool" with a play area, a toddler playground/play structure; very nice fitness room for adults; I could go on. But here is the very best feature: they have "Villa" rooms with full kitchen! It is fully equipped with large and small appliances, dishes, silverware, pots and pans, etc. Although these rooms are more expensive, you can save a ton of cash by bringing food from home and eating in - especially convenient with toddlers and little kids. We economized by bringing breakfast cereal and milk, snacks, sandwich fixings, and beverages, including alcohol.

The resort goes out of their way to have activities for the kids. On the 4th of July, they closed off the front entryway and put out lawn chairs so the guests could watch fireworks from Legoland. There's a feeling of fun here, and an acceptance of the weird, lovely, challenging phenomenon called childhood.

Lower points: On the first full day, I began taking my small grandkids to use the bathroom in the fitness center as the women's restroom near the pool was A PIG STY. APPALLING. Also, the little kids' play structure outside the pool area needs cleaning. Finally, the beds and pillows in our room (high 200s in the Villa area) were a bit tired. In fact, the furniture is getting that "can't clean it any more" look (discolored/gray arms on the upholstered chairs).

And this was a bummer: we rented a cabana in the family pool area for July 4, about $150 for the day (8am - 4pm). After lunch we all went back to our rooms for naps. After lunch there was somebody else in our cabana! They were uncomfortable but resolved to stay, as they had paid the half-day price! Awkward. My husband and I agreed we'd had enough sun and went to the front desk to ask for a 50% refund, which we got without quarrel. The staffer was embarrassed and gracious. These things happen. All in all, a wonderful stay, which we look forward to repeating.

Green Features: Could do a better job. I threw away aluminum cans, sad that the hotel wasn't recycling. Later I found out they intended the second trashcan under the sink (neither was labeled) for recycling. They are missing out on some low-hanging fruit.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Lynne S,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience caused with the reservation of the Cabana and we will also take into consideration your comments regarding housekeeping. However, we are glad to hear that our staff was able to provide you with a refund and that you enjoyed your stay over all. We look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    375
    177
    77
    61
See reviews for
1,016
304
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a great family friendly hotel. Separate lap pool and jacuzzi for adults on top of the hill with a view of Carlsbad and ocean. The flower fields were not in bloom during this time but would have been an even better view. The kids pool is in a separate area with a water playground and jacuzzi. Also an awesome activity center for restless kids that include free ping pong, foosball, table hockey, pool table, and more.

Rooms were in excellent condition and have balcony to sit and enjoy some outdoor reading. Beds were memory foam and amazingly comfortable and i slept like a log. If you skip the maid service they will provide you a $5 voucher for conservation efforts.

They have many activities planned throughout the week. During our stay they had a magic show and a free wine tasting. Wonderful experience for the parents here and enough to keep the kids busy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allmotorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Allmotorking,

Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled to hear that you found activities for everyone in the family to enjoy throughout your stay with us. It is also good to learn that our guests are enjoying many of the guest amenities available. We hope to welcome you back for another visit in the near future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The grand pacific palisades is good overall for a family vacation. It is in very close proximity to Legoland ( walking distance ) and has a reasonable pool , playing area for kids, and A small water park. The rooms are big ( we had a one bed condo which accommodates 4 ) . The hotel is not super luxurious and is slightly old but well kept. The hotel has parking and wifi but you pay resort fee to account for these. The food at its karl Strauss was good and above average. Overall it was good

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Sam k,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you found our location great for your family vacation. It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the guest amenities provided and enjoyed the food venue. We hope that you come back soon for another stay!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a great time. The resort is clean and the staff is very friendly. From the gentleman that check us in and ladies that service are room you can tell that they love and enjoy what they do. Even when we ask for extra stuff they always gladly say yes and with smile on their face. Every single person we pass by greet us.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi rsabio,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. It is great to hear that our staff was very attentive and provided you with great customer service. We hope you chose to come back for another visit soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Grand Palisades from 11-18 May 2014 and had an excellent holiday As we drove along te highway from San Diego we saw the beautiful flower fields, unfortunately the next day they harvested the flowers but we will not forget the display. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our apartment was immaculate and well appointed. Although we overlooked the road behind the hotel there was very little traffic noise. The grounds, pool and surrounding area were very clean. Legoland is within walking distance.

We were staying during the time of the fires and on a couple of days there was an advisory evacuation status but thankfully we did not have to vacate the hotel but our thoughts are with those who had to evacuate thier homes not knowing the outcome.

We are Diamond Resort members from the Englabnd and Grand Pacific Palisades is an affiliate member which we have highly recommended to other DRI members and we would not hesitate to return again.

Green Features: Has excellent environnmentally practices in use including kitchen appliances, lighting and recycling.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Brenda B ,

Thank you for staying with us in May and also for taking your time to providing us with your feedback. We are glad that the fires did not affect your stay and delighted hear that you had a great time with us. Come back soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This Father's Day getaway was truly an excellant time with our grandsons. The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. There were many activities to keep you busy or just relax around the pool. The room was clean and the view of the Pacific Ocean was spectacular. Legoland was within walking distance. The buffet breakfast was delicious and a treat for our grandsons. We would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryellen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had stayed two weeks at the beginning of May. We loved it from head to toe. We had traded our points for our vacation. It was clean ,hospitality was five stars and we all had a great time. We planned two weeks in Mexico afterwards. We experienced a tragedy. My husband was not well enough for travel. I booked a hotel room back at the palisades for two nights because it was familiar and I felt safe there. Realizing I couldn't afford to stay until my husband recovered I called the front desk to see if I could use the rest of my points and explained our emergency. Within twenty minutes I got a call back from Justin . He had taken it upon himself to contact the General Manager. He told me that they would like to move us to a Villa and comp our future stay. They moved us gave us sooo much help. It was such a blessing. We stayed four more days. I can't thank them enough.I know they will be blessed over a thousand times for there compassion and kindness. Thanks Pacific Palisades you are the Best!

Room Tip: I love a corner suite ,they are large and sunny!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very environmentally friendly! You can read about their green point of view.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Barbara C ,

You are very welcome! Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you with your stay. We hope your husband is doing well and that you come back soon for another stay!

My Best,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing