We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to give this a higher rating...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really wanted to give this a higher rating...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The property is beautiful and very close to Legoland. I'm not quite sure I'd consider this a very family friendly hotel. Yes, they have a family pool aside from the adult pool, and they do have kids activities...but the hotel itself is very quiet. When we stayed, there were barely any families with young kids. They also have a quiet time at the hotel, which is fine...except when you have a toddler on hand. Our standard room was quite large and very clean. The beds were comfy and the nearby restaurant had great eats. There seemed to be scheduled kids activities, but all our kids wanted to do was go visit Legoland, so we didn't attend any of the activities.

The big downer...every time we would make a call to the front desk, we would get voicemail or no one picking up at all. My husband, in his younger years, used to work at a hotel who had a 3 ring rule (pick up the phone within three rings even if its to put someone on hold). Not that kind of service here. We called for towels, which we never received. We tried calling for room service but no one picked up. It was a little frustrating, mostly because we had such high hopes for what seemed to be a great property. In addition, every time we were in the lobby, we noticed other guests waiting around (I rarely saw anyone at the gift shop when people would be lining up to buy things, even though the front desk staff was directly in front of the gift shop). And maybe I'm being picky, but even when my husband and I would leave the hotel with the kids, both in strollers, no one would even bother opening the door for either of us...usually guests would help up when our hands were full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katl804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi katl804,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. It sounds like you and your family had a great stay with us. We're sorry to learn of your frustrations regarding our front desk. We will certainly bring this up at our next team meeting and address your concerns. Should you wish to share any additional information regarding your stay, you may contact me at hansley@gpresorts.com.

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    386
    182
    78
    61
See reviews for
1,043
308
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, UT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My children and I love this resort. We are owners here and visit every other year. The two pools are great and the rooms are clean. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. There are activities and a kids game room. Can't wait to return in 2015!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Loren A,

We're so glad you and your family love staying at our resort. The pools are always a nice way to relax and have some fun in the sun. We're glad your children enjoy our activities and the game. We'll see you all again in 2015!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only stayed there for one night before our trip to Legoland.
Check in was painful. There was a long line and after we checked in for our rooms we had to go to another check in line to get our resort armbands (needed to use the pool). They do this so that they can try to get you to attend a presentation for the time shares.
After this beginning our experience was nice - good size room for the 4 of us, kids enjoyed the pool and the Karl Strauss Brewing restaurant on site is very good.
We chose the resort because it is so close to Legoland. We could walk there and also could get our tickets in the hotel for a small discount.
I did not appreciate the 16 $ resort fee. That is just a way to charge for the wireless and calling it a different thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi girbit,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're sorry to learn of your initial experience with us during check-in and hope this didn't cause much of an inconvenience to you and your family. We hope you and your family had a wonderful stay and had a great time visiting Legoland. Should you wish to discuss the resort fee or any other concerns you may have, please feel free to reach out to us at hansley@gpresorts.com We hope to speak with you soon.

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are great the kids area was nice and the staff are helpful. Easy underground parking. very close to lego land actually you can walk. The large pool at the hotel lobby is beautiful and overlooks the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi j d,

We're so glad to hear how wonderful and relaxing your family's stay was here at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're thrilled you all had such a great stay and hope you enjoyed Legoland. Come back to visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay and in comparison to other timeshare places I've been I would say it is average. Childrens' pool and spray ground were nice but there are no poolside amenities (restaurant/bar) at the kids' pool. We did see a waiter from Karl Strauss once...but that was it. So we just packed a cooler. Unless you have a Costco card, come well stocked as there is not much for grocery shopping near by. They seemed understaffed while we were there. Both times I needed service there was only one bellman/valet onsite. Poor guy was running himself ragged trying to keep up. The staff was extremely friendly though..even though he was stressed he was total service with a smile! The room was nice and comfy. Clean but a bit outdated. We had a one bedroom unit and my friend and her daughter slept on the pull out couch. They said the mattress was a bit rough to sleep on, but the full size bed in the bedroom was super comfortable for my son and I. Check in time is ridiculously late. 5 PM. Even at that we had to wait until 6 to get our room. Our kids were starving so I complained to the front desk and they did comp us $50 to Karl Strauss which was greatly appreciated. But even with that, we had a hard time getting communication to the restaurant to get our order in. Again, thinking it was an understaffing problem. When you're trying to sell vacation club memberships you would think they would hire enough people to make it seem like a luxury vacation. But again...the staff they had was amazing...just need more of it!

Room Tip: If you stay around the kid's pool area expect to hear the wonderful noise of kids playing at 8 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandic619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi sandic619,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're sorry to learn of your disappointment and apologize for the late check-in time. We're glad we could accommodate you and your family with a comp to Karl Strauss. We hope you enjoyed the food. We appreciate your praise regarding our staff. They work very hard in making sure our guests are relaxed and comfortable. We hope to better serve you should you wish to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on a "promotion deal" that we were offered when placing a reservation for a Hampton Inn. It wasn't free, but was a bit less than what we paid at the motel on the beach. This resort/hotel is located up on the hill, away from the beach. It consists of both condos and hotel units. We were given a hotel room. They tell you that you get "3 days and 2 nights", but since you can't check in until 4pm and check out is, I think 11am, it's really more like 2 nights and 1 day. Anyway, the room we were given was very nice. It had a small fridge and microwave, and it had a sliding glass door that opened up onto a small balcony. I loved that we could have some fresh air. Hilton bought this place from another company, so it isn't what you might normally expect from a Hilton. I don't know when it was built, but there were VERY few electrical outlets. They had a coffee maker in the room but when I tried to use it to make some hot chocolate, it didn't have power. It was on the large unit that contained the chest of drawers and had the TV on top. The cord went down behind, but the furniture was so close that you couldn't see if there was even any place to plug it in. The maid service was "over the top". When we entered the room for the first time we noticed that the maid had made a couple of animals out of wash clothes. One was on the bed and one in the bathroom. The bed had SO Many pillows it was hard to find a place to put them all that was out of the way so we could go to bed. The bed had one of those heavy quilt-y blankets that so many motels are using these days - we don't like them, so had removed it and placed it out of the way, too. Our gift for going to the "90 minute presentation", which turned out to be 2 hours, was 2 tickets to SeaWorld which we planned to go to right after the presentation.(We also got a voucher for $100 toward our next stay at a Hampton Inn) We don't mind using towels more than once, and we didn't want to have to undo the bed again, so we left out the "do not disturb" sign. When we got back that night there was a good sized square basket in front of our door filled with towels, a note saying they were sorry they missed us, etc, topped off with a wash cloth animal. Since we had been staying at a motel down on the beach, we were only a few miles away on check in day. My husband called to see if there was any chance of checking in early. They let us check in fairly early in the afternoon, so we were able to look around the resort a bit and spend some time by the pool. They actually have 2 pools - one for families and one "adult" pool. Both pools were basically empty. The whole place felt really empty, although I know it wasn't. I think people book here to go to Legoland, which is probably within walking distance. We sat by the "adult" pool for a few hours because it was sunnier. The pool area felt very cement-y. It was a cool day, but we were a week into our vacation and needed a "rest day" so we sat near the wind guard by the edge of the cement. They had music playing - it wasn't bad music, but if I want to listen to music I can bring my own - I prefer silence. We were near the hot tub. A few people came and went while we were there. Two of them mentioned to us that they were tired of the music, which I thought was funny. There is a Costco just down the hill, so we filled up on gas on our way out of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Saxeygirl,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed your room and the accommodations provided. We hope you had a chance to explore some of what Carlsbad has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 08/17/13. We had a wonderful and relaxing time at this resort. People at the front desk were very courteous and friendly. Our 1 bedroom, ocean view side, was very clean, spacey and bright. The bedroom stay is excellent. I have a hard time sleeping in hotels due to thin walls, but have to say I slept like a baby in this one. Our bed was heavenly & pillows were excellent. TVs are in HD which is a must for us. The bathroom was spotless. Though we never got to use the kitchen, it is very clean. The resort provides a big size family pool which includes a fairly size jacuzzi and kids fountain play area. The adult pool, on the other hand, is a big size lap pool which also includes a big jacuzzi and at night, it is lit in diff colors; cabanas; a fire pit where you can warm up and dry up. It is a view to kill at night in the adult pool, you will not be disappointed. The beach is close by. Karl Strauss bar & restaurant is next door and offers excellent food. We ate dinner at Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse which overlooks the ocean, it is a must. We ate lunch at Harbor Fish Cafe, may I suggest their clam chowder, it is so good. Both restaurants are fairly close, about 3 miles away.

A shout out to, I believe her name is Wanda, at the front desk. And also to Ms. Juvy. They were both so helpful and friendly and informative of the whole place. Seemed as though they would go the extra mile for anyone. They deserve a pat on their backs.

Carlsbad itself is a beautiful place, and Grand Pacific Resort is what we call the icing on the cake.

Madeleine Hebert

Room Tip: A good coffee in your balcony overlooking the ocean is a good way to start your day. Ask for the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly A, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Madaleine H,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We are so glad to know how much you and your husband enjoyed your visit, your room, and the accommodations. The view from the adult pool is beautiful at night. We're happy you loved it! There are a few great places to grab a bite to eat in the area as well. It sounds like you and your husband chose some delicious option. We're glad our front desk was able to assist you during your stay as well. They're pretty great at making sure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again in the future!

Thank you,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing