We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Reunion Sun and Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sammamish, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“College Reunion Sun and Fun!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had an absolutely fantastic stay at the Grand Pacific Palisades near San Diego. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special whether it was checking in with Ryan the concierge, lounging by the pool or the manager Anthony accommodating our special requests. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the view is spectacular. Our group plans to come back at the same time next year!

Room Tip: If you have a large group the suites are reasonably priced, roomy and have all the comforts of a hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    381
    180
    78
    61
See reviews for
1,029
307
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent an amazing weekend at the resort with a group of friends. We were very well taken care of. Anthony and Ryan provided fabulous service including reserving the cabana by the pool for our group which was ready with towels and cold beverages. Eduardo helped us with the stereo in our unit and also helped us start the barbeque when we were having trouble. The staff was very friendly and made us feel like we were queens! The resort offers so much to do from walking the grounds to relaxing by the pool or in the hot tub. The view is incredible. I highly recommend the resort/hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I wanted to treat my girlfriend of 40 years to a special weekend. We were so happy to have stayed at the Palasides Resort. My girfriend was so relaxed and enjoyed every minute we had together. The staff was very friendly and so helpful when we needed something they were very attentive to all of our needs. The accomodations were outstanding. The area has so much to offer and the the Strauss Brewery has great food and drinks. We are looking forward to staying here again real soon. Thanks for everything.

Diane and Friends

Room Tip: The ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff, Eduardo , Ryan and Taylor were the most attentive and friendly help I've ever experienced in a resort on the ocean! We brought local flowers and the maids gladly provided cases! We forgot a razor and they delivered, then to top it off I called the concierge and they printed and delivered my boarding pass! Going back next year for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay here for a reunion with a group of sorority sisters. I had seen it online but was blown away when I pulled up. It is gorgeous! The rooms are huge, the view was fabulous, the pool is beyond anything any hotel I've stayed in before. Cabanas were set for us, filled with towels, drinks, etc. Ryan was the most personable, friendly, and helpful staff imaginable. He set us all up like queens. We were treated as royalty by everyone there. I would TOTALLY recommend this place to all looking for a gorgeous hotel in the SD area!

Room Tip: The ones with the view facing West are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Before choosing any place to stay we do a heck of a lot of research, so we are reasonably confident we are not going to get 'a lemon'. The Grand Pacific Pallisades Resort was no exception to this. Our objectives were:
Two bedroom accomodation
Good access to Legoland
A great pool area
A quiet location
A building with good sound proofing

At check-in we were asked if we wanted a ground, first or second floor room. We opted for the second floor and it worked perfect for us, even with young kids and a lot of luggage to haul we enjoyed being on the top floor. The two bedroom apartments are massive compared to most we've enountered and fully furnished with kitchen equipment etc, which saved us a heap on eating out. The beds were comfortable and the rooms reasonably quiet (like most places, I would not care to be there are maximum occupancy as I fear you may get some noise from neighbouring rooms as others have reported).

The swimming pool area for the families was wonderful but the water play area was very cold. Being it was so hot, the cold water at the park refreshed all the kiddies. I didn't get to go in the adult pool as we were travelling with children but it looks very good.

Underground parking is a huge bonus in SoCal and lifts to each floor a bonus if you are hauling a lot of luggage.

We used the shuttle to Legoland on two days and it was a real cost saver. The guys driving the shuttle were super nice and chatty and very quick to pick up (you just ask Guest Services in Legoland to call them for you).

In the room we were in we heard no traffic or train noise whatsover. We didn't have a view but rather faced onto the main enterance into the GPPR and we found that was probably the quietest block.

We arrived in Carlsbad in one of the hottest Septembers there on record. From the moment we arrived at the GPPR we were treated in a five start manner by every single member of the team there. We were really sad to leave and would love to go back oneday, GPPR was the star stand-out for all the places we stayed in the USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gathered here for a reunion with my sorority sisters from 30+ years ago. Great location and easy access to beach, shopping and dining. The staff were incredibly efficient, helpful and friendly. We will return:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing