We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, beautiful, peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, beautiful, peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here many times on business, and this place is high class. Everything seems to be new, rooms are beautiful and comfortable. There is a pool big enough to actually swim laps, and a great gym. In short - great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spade121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    351
    171
    72
    59
See reviews for
968
295
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

How is the property and room? Very nice. Easily 3-4 stars.

The reason I urge you to stay away from this property like the plague is that although I stayed here over two years ago (in early 2010), I get a call from them every single month urging me to return. I get this monthly call even though I have asked them each time to please take me off the calling list. Of course, my number is on the Do Not Call registry, but that does not matter.

If you think this is not relevant to the quality of the resort or room, ask yourself why this place feels the need to carpet bomb previous customers. A resort with a high return rate and even higher occupancy rate does not need to do this. Resorts that are doing very poorly do this sort of thing.

This should be a red flag to anyone thinking of staying here.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianThousandOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Two bedroom, two bath - ocean side - very pleasant an comfortable. Two days at Legoland (one day at the waterpark), two days at the beach, and two days at the pool.

Told the kids (6 and 8) that the next time they come to Legoland will be with there kids - everything is too small for an adult to enjoy.

Encinitas - Moonlight Beach - wow - perfect beach - waves for surfing - low tide made for very long boogie board rides - lots of people (eye candy everywhere) - impressive cliffs to walk along - water coming out of cliffs to the south - BBQ back behind the beach and a nice playground for the kids to play at - and three nice volleyball courts. Will visit again on next trip to resort.

You can't beat having Costco right a across the street!!!!!
Below our room were brand new BBQ - cooked great. The resort was clean. Was able to swim laps for a great workout. The kids couldn't stop using the kiddy slide - I don't know why - I thought they were too old for it, but they must have gone down it 200 times - at least. Lots of ping pong and air hockey.

We are going back in April.

Thank you - Grand Pacific Palisades!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorranceTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were given a 1 week timeshare for this resort and was very happy with the 1 bedroom condo over looking the flower fields and a great view of the ocean. The hotel was very clean and everyone working there was very helpful and nice. We enjoyed the adult pool area during the day and the fire pit in the evening. There have lots of things to do for both kids and adults during the day if you choose. I would definitely stay here again. The restaurant has great food and the micro brewed beer was a big hit with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Took a 3 day break here to visit Legoland. Rooms adequate, tv service good with kids channels. Housekeeping excellent standard. No room service other than from Karl Strauss brewery. Good breakfast at Karl Strauss although lots of nice cafes in Carlsbad to choose from. Staff are extremely courteous and friendly including housekeepers in the halls.(Bit of an old dragon working the timeshare by front desk though!) Great for kids, adult pool lovely and warm! On check in would have been nice to have been told where we can get pool towels(at front desk) saved the serch when you are desperate to jump in and cool off!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi Fiona M,

We're pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. Legoland is just a short walk away and convenient for our guests who wish to visit. Our staff is always around to make sure that our guests' needs have been accommodated and we apologize that you did not receive pool towels at check in. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you're visiting Carlsbad!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband, 3-year-old son and I stayed here as part of our Southern California vacation. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Legoland, which is in walking distance to the hotel (as opposed to paying for parking).

The Good:
Beautiful room - spacious, nice, clean (always important with a little one)
Distance to Legoland (across the street and a short walk through the parking lot)
Friendly and helpful front desk staff
Nice, clean and nice-sized bathroom
Price - we got a really good rate for 2 nights that included breakfast and free parking and wi-fi
Incredibly easy check-in and check-out

The "Okay":
Our view looked out at the front entrance of the hotel, so in pulling the curtains open, we could see the bell staff and guests coming and going...
The property is also a vacation timeshare, so yes, we were solicited, but didn't bite.

Overall, a good experience at a very nice hotel. We will definitely return on our next Legoland trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the flower field, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeezPulelehua27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi AJWCheng,

Thank you for sharing your review on Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great time staying with us and visiting Legoland. Our staff is always on site to make sure our guests' needs are being accommodated. We hope that you will return in the near future!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went there with my tennis team and it was just amazing! I spent my weekend over there and I had so much fun. The view was amazing too. There are some flwer fields behind the hotel and you get to see them all the time and they are just so pretty. I promise you that spending time in this hotel will be your best choice and i really think this is the most beautiful place in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi Julia Y,

We're thrilled to hear that you and your teammates had an amazing time at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel! Our flower fields behind the resort are just gorgeous for taking pictures. We thank you for such a kind review on Trip Advisor and look forward to hosting you and your teammates again soon!

Take care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing