We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Such a Fun Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had Such a Fun Time!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I came here with my tennis team and it was so fun! The service was great, the rooms were well kept and clean, the view was AMAZING, and the whole experience was a blast. It was close to the locations we were going to and overall, the hotel itself was absolutely beautiful and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Kelly192,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're so glad you and your tennis team enjoyed our beautiful views, great staff and had an enjoyable experience. We hope the whole team comes back again soon!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    386
    182
    78
    61
See reviews for
1,043
308
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel is so beautiful and such a comfortable and lovely place to stay. The views are amazing an a perfect location with lots to do nearby. Legoland, the outlet center, lots of shopping, great restaurants, the desirable Carlsbad beaches and more.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travelatthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodyear,az
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After having a bad experience at the North Coat Village, we did some "homework: for future possible places to stay when we come back to Carlsbad. We toured the grounds and went inside a 1 bedroom suite and a 3 bedroom suite of this resort The rooms were furnished very nicely and each had a full kitchen. Everything was very nice - they have an adult pool and seperate family pool that has lots of water features for the kids to play with. The grounds were beautiful and views on the hill, over looking Carlsbad and the ocean, were spectacular. We are very excited about coming back there to stay,our next trip, and watching the sunsets from their wonderful vantage point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciab48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi patriciab48,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you back for your next trip!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

had an amazing time here. great atmosphere, and great service. i loved it!! such a beautiful view from the rooms, and lots of fun activities near by. if your looking for somewhere to stay, stay here! the service was also really great. if i needed something, i didnt have to wait for it! so i reccomend it to everyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khicks92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi khicks92,
We're so thrilled to hear that you and your tennis team had an amazing time while staying at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel! Our service staff is one of the best in Carlsbad and we're glad they could be of help throughout your trip. Hope to have you and the team back again soon!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When we booked our rooms three months in advance, we requested an ocean view. I realize that the resort is not right on the beach, but it would be nice to look out over the ocean than a courtyard or a side street. When we got there, we were told that there were no ocean view rooms available, but they did have a "partial" ocean view. We got into our room, and our "partial" ocean view was a little slice of blue behind a huge smokestack off in the distance. This being a special trip for our son, we really wanted something better, so we asked for a different room. The hotel complied, and gave us a room that had a wonderful ocean view, and if they had been blooming a wonderful view of the flower farm. The problem, however, was that the A/C unit was not functioning very well, blowing moderately cool air out. We left it running and went to dinner just to see if it would cool off, and when we got back it had not. So, at this point, we asked for another room. They gave us a room that was an upper level room (3rd floor) and had a tremendous view of...well...the street. But, the A/C worked! So, we decided to cut our losses and keep the room. The hotel ended up to be very convenient for everything we wanted to do - free shuttles to Legoland, close to I5 so that we could drive somewhere, and a great pool area for our 5 year old son. We didn't use them, but the gas grills around the pool area looked to work very well, and my mother one morning watched as an employee scrubbed those grill grates so clean you could do surgery on them! Everyone at the resort was very, very friendly and helpful! The underground parking is a plus too - you can easily just park near your building and just come up the elevator near your room. Our room just happened to be literally right across from an elevator, so it was a breeze to fetch things from the car and ultimately pack up the car to leave.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter, and if you want any type of ocean view don't get building D.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcigary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi dcigary,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We're delighted to hear that we were able to clear up any issues you were experiencing throughout your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we're here to make our guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. Carlsbad is such a great location and we're happy to see that you were able to attend activities both on and off the resort. We hope that you and your family will join us again soon!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had an amazing experience with Olga in Customer Service. I had a scheduling issue which she promptly resolved (they were booked and she worked wonders!!!!!). The hotel is gorgeous, the pools beautiful and sparkling clean....the shuttle to Legoland is SO much easier than parking and walking (not to mention saving the $!5 parking fee!)...and it's so nice to come back to the hotel and unwind before hitting the park again. Can't say enough good things about Grand Pacific Palisades. Say hi to Olga if you go....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi Alex A,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and will be sure to pass them along to Olga. Our gorgeous hotel and perfect location is key component in having our guests enjoy their vacation. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future!

Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I took my two grandchildren to Legoland and wanted a hotel that was close. This hotel was perfect! Great kids swim area, complete with poolside bingo. Rooms were clean and quiet. All staff members were warm, friendly, and very helpful. They offered a free shuttle to and from Legoland that only took minutes. Free parking and rootbeer floats for the kids in the lobby after dinner! This hotel far exceeded my expectations. I was offered an upgrade to the hotel with the Legoland entrance and turned it down because of the kids pool - so glad I did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyansley, General Manager at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi rmwade,

We're glad that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel and made great use of our location by visiting Legoland. We pride ourselves in having great customer service and providing our guests with an enjoyable experience. We hope to have you and your grandchildren back to visit us again soon!


Take Care,
Holly Ansley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.7 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Property: Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing