We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Location"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Great Location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at hotel end of March for quick getaway. The location is superb right across from beach and within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Pros-
Great Location
Clean spacious room
Friendly staff
Great WiFi
Nice breakfast

Cons-
Parking ( parking in hotel bays can be difficult not enough of them, must find parking on street)
Room with ocean balcony ( you don't face ocean you see from side of hotel)

I would recommend staying here since the pros outweigh the cons but don't pay for upgrade for ocean balcony.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezduzit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    192
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
286
234
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My son decided it was time for a mini-vacation, so he decided that Carlsbad would be a great place to go. I made reservations for us at the Beach View Lodge. We were not disappointed! Check in was a breeze and so was check out. Everyone was polite and very helpful. The room and grounds were well kept. The outdoor balcony, with excellent views of the ocean, was very well kept. The breakfast/guest room retreat was welcomed by us. We were able to take the 6 mos old twins in there and enjoy the view without the wind bothering them. Breakfast was okay. I guess that's my only complaint was not having the waffles most Best Western's offer for breakfast. The food was served piping hot, Jimmy Dean sausage biscuits and another type of biscuit with egg and cheese. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast. The one thing I truly did appreciate was the cleanliness of everything. Before we checked out, we sat out on the balcony and noticed that a linen service came to pick up the hotel's linens. It was nice to know that this property management took extra care to send out their linens and not have their hotel staff launder them. Parking was interesting! They have carports for their guests located under the rooms, 3 cars per carport. It was a tight squeeze taking the babies out of the car. It'd be nice if there were a bit larger parking spaces to enable the entering and exiting of your vehicle. i definitely return to this property and would highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dancingeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It was in a great location. We were able to sit out on the deck or in the lounge and watch the ocean and the people. I could even hear the ocean at night when my window was open. I loved that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cbrRoseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a small building, so I was surprised by the size of our double queen room; it was quite big and spacious with a modern and classy look and very clean. The room has a small fridge, coffee maker, microwave, hair dryer, iron, etc. It has a small spa and swimming pool and the beach is crossing the street. Kind and friendly staff. I cannot say it was the least expensive deal, but I did feel it was worth it. We enjoyed the visit. I really have no complaints. I have to say I rarely post any type of reviews but this was a nice experience I wanted to share. Seriously, choose this place for your next stay in Carlsbad, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halei Y, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Carla,

We feel honored that you took the time to share such kind words about your recent stay. I understand that guests have many options to consider when determining their accommodations but I believe that our property offers a unique value for many of the same reasons that you mentioned. Pristine new rooms, a variety of complimentary amenities, an unbeatable location and a staff dedicated to delivering outstanding hospitality are all responsibilities that we take great pride in achieving. So, on behalf of my entire staff, we thank you for your support and recognition. If there is anything else that we may do to serve you, please let us know at 760-729-1151.

Sincerely,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a quaint, small hotel, directly across the ocean. The bed was really comfortable, and the shower/toilet was separate from the sink, so you can keep the showers going in the morning.
Our room wasn't an ocean view room, but we had a view of it from one of our windows. If having a balcony overlooking the ocean is extremely important to you, this may not be the place for you. Our requirements were easy walk to town activities and a quick walk to the beach, and so, this fit that bill very nicely.
Every amenity is close by, i.e. bike rentals, convenience store, restaurants, beach shops, ice cream parlors, barber shop, nail salon, spa, etc..
The hotel is U-shaped, so the rooms face the courtyard area that houses the pool and hot tub. Each water area is enclosed by plexiglass and requires the room key, which is very nice. It requires parents to watch their own kids. You can very easily look to see whether it is empty or full, which is so nice. It has a lovely upstairs patio with a table and chairs, and chaise lounges. That area adjoins the breakfast/lounge area. You can enjoy beautiful sunsets from both of these areas, whether it is cold or warm outside.
You can walk across the street to the beach, and it has a paved area to get down to the sand or you can take one of the many sets of stairs that line the ocean sidewalk. It is a beautiful walk to get down to the beach. There are no hotels on the shoreline, so everyone must do the same to get down to there. We only stayed a couple of days, but felt that this hotel suited us nicely. The pictures did not do it justice.
We were able to leave the car behind and get some exercise walking around the village.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Lisa,

Your thoughtful review has been such a delight to read! I sincerely appreciate the time that you took to share the details of your recent stay with us. It sounds like you and your family had a true "SoCal" vacation at our little hotel in the heart of our unpretentious beach town. Our amazing staff works very hard to maintain our beautiful rooms, immaculate property and lovely guests so it is always a treat to receive recognition from such a perceptive guest like yourself. The next time you and your family are looking for a beach-side escape, please consider us! We would be thrilled to have another opportunity to serve you. If there is anything that I may do to help with your future travel plans, please give me a call at 760-729-1151.

Thanks again for your thoughtfulness,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Fiance and I took a weekend getaway to relax and spend some quality time together! This hotel was perfect! We were right across the street from the beach and there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance of the hotel so we didnt need to move the car once it was parked! We recommend Pizza Port if you're into awesome pizza and beer! The sandwhich shop nextdoor was perfect for lunch. Just get there early - parking is tight!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Jessica,

It sounds like you and your Fiancé were able to enjoy all that our incredible location has to offer! In fact, one of our favorite things about Carlsbad Village is that it embraces such a pedestrian-friendly lifestyle. As for the hotel itself, we are absolutely flattered that you consider us to be "perfect." Our staff worked incredibly hard throughout our recent renovation to ensure that our guests have a remarkable experience. Your affirmation is very much appreciated. Please consider us for your next relaxing getaway, we would love to see you again!

Thanks for your kind words,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Best Western Plus in Carlsbad is a wonderful surprise. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The viewing deck overlooking the ocean is awesome...simply beautiful - breathtaking views of the ocean and the sunset...And a lovely continental breakfast. The best part though was the staff...everyone was super nice, accommodating, friendly, helpful. We will plan to use the Best Western Plus for all our friends/family who come to visit us in Carlsbad. Excellent bang for the buck!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachViewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello Daniel,

Wow, thank you for such a great review! Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests feel comfortable, appreciated and welcomed at our little hotel. It makes me very proud to know that their tireless efforts left such a remarkable impact on your visit and we certainly look forward to hosting your friends and family in the future! If you need any assistance in coordinating visits or creating new reservations, please give us a call at 760-729-1151. We look forward to the opportunity to meet your friends and family!

Thanks for your support,
Halei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.8 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge
Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing