We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

this is my new favorite Best Western. Carlsbad has a very special ambiance. It is not a surfer beach due to low breakers. Walkways for pedestrians only. This hotel is across the street from the beach. Friendly staff. Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 746 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is right across a main road from the ocean. There is a walking path on the bluff and one down on the beach. The hotel is also walking distance from many shops and restaurants. Try the Coyote Grill for great food and live music. The breakfast room here is nicely arranged and spacious. You can sit inside or outside and have a great view of the beach and ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location! Just in front of the beach. Balcony has partial view and it is in a quite road. Front rooms doesn't have a see view but are also ok. Queen bed could be biger once the room is big! Shower has not too much space . Bathroom could be biger.Nice view from the see from the desk above pool mlevel. Great staff! Nice smille in all faces all day long, starting from the front desk/reception. Congrats! Nice hotel for the price with fantastic location...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. The Carlsbad beach is just across the street, very handy. We walked the beach and swam in the ocean often. Also it was within walking distant to the Coaster Train Station which was nice for traveling to San Diego.
The people that worked at the lodge were outstanding. They were very polite and helpful during our stay. Rooms were nice. The free breakfasts were very good. The weather was perfect.
The only concern would be for anyone that has difficulty with stairs. The do have a elevator but you still need to go half a story of stairs for breakfast and the viewing deck of the ocean and sunsets.
Will definitely stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: You need to decide if you want a pool view or an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFM_NL_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very neat older Hotel but very well taken care of! Super killer ocean views and access to everything you would want in a vacation or just a one night stay! We will be going back can't wait!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Carlsbad Best Western from 9/9/13 – 9/11/13. It was a chance for me to get away from it all, for a personal retreat. I am glad, that I went to this hotel. The location was excellent; it is across the street from the beach. The continental breakfasts were delicious and very filling.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and knew the area well. Erik at the front desk made helped make my stay at the hotel even more enjoyable. He not only knew the restaurants in the area, he also was able to tell me what the daily specials were at the various restaurants in the area, that were within easy walking distance of the hotel (not an easy task, as I was not craving sea food).

The housekeepers kept the room very tidy. They also guided me to the ice machine, when I was looking for ice the first time.

The other highlight of my trip was the second floor sun deck. It overlooks the ocean, and is perfect to watch the sun go down. However, I did not take advantage of it, I appreciated the fact as well, that the hotel offered beach towels.

I do plan to return to this hotel in the future, it was an awesome experience.
The only downside and it was out of the hotels control, was there were some unauthorized fireworks at the beach at night. However, that was on the beach across the street.

The other real benefit for me the hotel is close to public transportation, in that I do not drive.

Room Tip: Was on the third floor with a balcony and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thedreamyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family and I took a close to home vacation and stayed at the beach in Carlsbad. The hotel was clean and the location can't be beat. It's close to the beach and there are plenty of eating establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.3 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.4 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
2.8 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge

Address: 3180 Carlsbad Blvd, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $121 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2014, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach View Lodge is conveniently located at Carlsbad State Beach in the quaint seaside village of Carlsbad, only 5 minutes from Legoland, world class shopping at The Carlsbad Premium Outlets, and steps from miles of sandy beaches. A family owned and operated inn, Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge guests receive superior service, an exceptional location and unbeatable amenities for a friendly price. The guest experience is all-inclusive, with room rates that also offer complimentary breakfast, WiFi, newspapers, in-room coffee, safes, pillow top mattresses with high thread count bedding, complimentary local calls and free parking available on a first-come, fist-served basis. Many rooms offer fireplaces or kitchenettes. Suites are available with separate living rooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Beach View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach View Hotel Carlsbad
Best Western Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing