We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2006

Carlsbad is a charming oceanside town. We stayed here 16 years ago and came back for the sound of the surf. We were in a suite on the top floor with a balcony. There was a view of the surf on the sides of the balcony, and over the roof of the building below. 16 years ago, we stayed in the adjacent building with a more direct view of the water. Doesn't matter - it's all good. Especially liked the bath amenities and the bedding. The bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was nothing fancy but all we needed. The best part of breakfast was watching the large waves and dolphins playing in the surf. Our suite had a fridge, two-burnercooktop, and microwave. It also had a gas fireplace. The whole suite was fairly large and comfortable. The Pacific is cold, and the waves were much larger than I remembered -about 8-10' . When the tide was in, there was a pretty good rip and undertow. There is no lifeguard on this stretch of beach, so parents have to be especially careful of children. It was fun to watch the surfers and body boarders. We had a great stay, and I hope it isn't another 16 years before we come back

3  Thank nanmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2006

We had a nice stay for our family vacation in May. The hotel check-in went smoothly. Not the most professional staff I've encountered, but nice and accommodating. The hotel is under construction, so you kinda have to manuever through stairwells to get places. We went up and down a few stairwells with luggage, which wasn't fun.

We had a wonderful oceanfront suite. Talk about being close to the ocean- looking down from the balcony when the tide was high, the ocean was about 10 feet from the building. The constant ocean waves sound was wonderful.

The suite was clean. Furniture was basic hotel furniture, nothing to write home about. The kitchen was not stocked- you need to request exactly what you need and then housekeeping brings it over. The kitchen was sufficient for our toddler's needs, but I wouldn't cook a gourmet meal there. Only 2 burners, microwave and mini-fridge.

Noise level was pretty okay. We heard the people above us 2 nights. No voices, just banging or bumping sounds. We never heard anyone next door.

Everything was clean. The carpet probably could've used a deep cleaning. Although it was clean on the surface, it just felt kinda dirty when you walked on it barefoot. So we wore slippers.

The hotel would've received a "neutral/average" score if not for the location. You can't beat 10 feet from the ocean waves. That was the best part.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwimmerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

I made my reservation through a discounted website. Upon arriving, they said they did not have our reservation. I made the reservation in December 2005 and my credit card had already been charged the full amount in December also. They said they could give us one room for one night, and then move us to our requested room for our last 2 nights. I had reserved a 1 bedroom suite on the beach, but got the farthest room from the beach. Also, our room only had a partial view of the ocean and no sofa bed as we had also reserved. Also, our room was right by the street and where everyone walked by to enter the beach and the other rooms. So we could hear the door slam everytime someone went by. Also, we ran out of hot water and our hotel keys would stop working from time to time. We will never stay here again. Lastly, the bedding kept coming apart during the night. And our television did not work properly in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sherri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HoneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank compulvisetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2005

7  Thank spankySaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $306 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's ONLY beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing