We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OMG! What a special little hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OMG! What a special little hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is not a hotel for people who like large, corporate feeling hotels that are full of Comic Book Conventions and road warriors. This is an intimate, quirky hotel with HUGE, luxurious oceanfront rooms. My room was on the sand and was as nice as any Westin or W hotel, except it was much bigger and might have been a suite at one time. It was clean, new, had a 42" plasma, a sofa, two club chairs, a very comfortable king sized bed, a big shower, a wet bar, a refrigerator, a desk, free WiFi, a separate toilet room (loved that) and a deep balcony with a love seat and two chairs overlooking the placid Carlsbad sea. It really has everything I needed for a two day stay to visit family over the holidays.

One caveat: this place is not homogenized or uniform like a chain hotel. There are some rooms that can't be reached by an elevator, and the place feels like ocean-front cool rather than slick chic. It's really an ocean front B&B married to the luxury of a 4 star hotel and it's got location, location, location! I travel often and have stayed in every major chain hotel, from 5 star to 2 star. There are great hotels, but this one is a special hotel. I'm now a big fan and will return as often as I can! I can't wait to see what other improvements they make.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diegodad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtadame, Assit. G.M at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
We would like to thank you for the very nice comment you left us. Yes the luxurious ocean front rooms are around 700 square feet and the showers are huge. Our Guest Lounge is Now OPEN after breakfast time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    172
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
424
488
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

When we booked we knew we wanted to be on the beach. This gave us the best of the beach as Well as the pool. The room we had was no. 60 which overlooked the pool and beach. Please note that this hotel is on the beach. This is the only hotel on the beach in carlsbad. There is no road in front of the hotel. This hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms are well appointed with a large shower, separate wc, two sinks, plently of towels for beach and bathing, as well as two king beds, tv, desk, table with 2 chairs.
There is a continental breakfast each day and is was fine. We ate whAt we wanted Nd did not feel we were being watched. Overall a great experience. Kids used both pool and swam in the cold ocean each day. Sunsets incredible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afanoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtadame, Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The new look of the rooms: large walk in showers, sink and wet bar to the 42 in flat screen t.v and most important the wonderful Ocean Front View. We are glad you stayed with us and can not wait till your next visit with us. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

I was in Carlsbad on business with my wife in November and was utterly charmed by the Beach Terrace Inn. Without question it is an undiscovered gem by the sea! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys waking to the sounds of the surf and early morning walks on the beach. Great for running as well. We loved it!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeontesToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtadame, Manager. at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2010
It is my hope that you had a great stay with us. Yes, the walks on the beach are wonderful. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We reserved 2 rooms with 2 king-sized beds each - attached - over a month in advance. We had our confirmation numbers in hand when we arrived.

They informed us that those rooms were no longer available and they really didn't think we wanted those rooms so it shouldn't matter. No discount, no arrangements, no solutions, nothing. They claimed that their internet reservations DO NOT constitute a guarantee, so you're just out of luck.

No matter how many times we showed them the confirmation numbers and argued and showed the dates we had reserved the rooms they kept saying "well, the internet reservation isn't really a guarantee."

DO NOT STAY HERE. No matter how desperate you are they will screw you. They don't care, they're rude as can be, and they will not honor their reservations. The elderly woman at the front desk claimed to be the manager and acted offended that we were asking to have the rooms we'd reserved.

Note that we did not get a reduced rate, any offers to fix the situation, or anything. Just "not our fault, we don't guarantee our reservations."

I've stayed at many hotels along the coast of california and I've never seen service this bad.

Carlsbad has many lovely hotels at many different rates. You'd probably do better to sleep in your car than to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimberrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtadame, Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
First let me start by saying how sorry I am that you experienced a problem with your check in at our hotel. It is not the way we conduct ourselves and especially the person that checked you in. She is the one person who usually gets the most accolades with her courteous and helpful attitude. I have spoken to her about this issue and she is very sorry for any and all inconveniences she may have caused. I presume the misunderstanding came from the reservation that was booked for one person and two king beds. Often times we move a single person from a double bedded room to accommodate a larger family.

Again I am sorry for any inconvenience, and look forward to seeing youin the future. If I may be of any further assistance please call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We love this hotel and have been staying here for 25 years. The new room design and rate restructure are WAY over the top. We still like it and it's a great location, but it's not really kid friendly anymore.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeeSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky mountains
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The folks at this hotel have remodeled -- and doubled their rates. A 2-night stay in mid-October 2009 would cost $600 for an oceanfront room, but this is just a 3-star motel. They tout their continental breakfast, but it's crap. Otherwise it's just a tarted-up motel. Check out the condo rentals next door for a better deal -- you get the same ocean with more space and an actual bedroom, instead of your bed in what used to be a living room.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceania_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Our family has stayed at the Beach Terrace every summer for the past 4 years and we have just booked this summer's stay! The location is unbelievable (right on the sand) and the rooms are actually very nice. There is nothing like having a room almost directly on the sand and just literally feet from the waves. (One night there were waves actually reaching the edge of the building!) True, the rooms could have been a little nicer, although the hotel is currently being completely renovated (reopening on July 1st), so I would expect this to be a moot point. There is nothing like opening the balcony doors at night and having the sound of the ocean gently lull you to sleep.

For families with small children (like us), we highly recommend this place. It's about a 10 minute drive to Lego Land, 30 minute drive to the Wild Animal Park (east), 30 minute drive to Sea World (south), and a 45 minute drive to Disneyland (north). Whatever your schedule is, be sure to plan at least one complete day of just hanging out on the beach! Every time we mention planning our trip here our kids literally go wild!

For those of you without kids, don't worry either. One of the reasons that we like this place is that it isn't overrun with children! This hotel has managed to keep it's family appeal while at the same time giving you that relaxing feel that only being on the beach can give you. Mid-week can almost be like being on a private beach!

We've recommended this hotel to several family and friends and each time, they were very pleased and thanked us profusely! I think that the people that grump about this place are probably the type that don't like getting sand in their shoes in the first place!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#8 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing