We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who do they think they are?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
rocky mountains
1 review
“Who do they think they are?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

The folks at this hotel have remodeled -- and doubled their rates. A 2-night stay in mid-October 2009 would cost $600 for an oceanfront room, but this is just a 3-star motel. They tout their continental breakfast, but it's crap. Otherwise it's just a tarted-up motel. Check out the condo rentals next door for a better deal -- you get the same ocean with more space and an actual bedroom, instead of your bed in what used to be a living room.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceania_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    186
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
469
547
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

Our family has stayed at the Beach Terrace every summer for the past 4 years and we have just booked this summer's stay! The location is unbelievable (right on the sand) and the rooms are actually very nice. There is nothing like having a room almost directly on the sand and just literally feet from the waves. (One night there were waves actually reaching the edge of the building!) True, the rooms could have been a little nicer, although the hotel is currently being completely renovated (reopening on July 1st), so I would expect this to be a moot point. There is nothing like opening the balcony doors at night and having the sound of the ocean gently lull you to sleep.

For families with small children (like us), we highly recommend this place. It's about a 10 minute drive to Lego Land, 30 minute drive to the Wild Animal Park (east), 30 minute drive to Sea World (south), and a 45 minute drive to Disneyland (north). Whatever your schedule is, be sure to plan at least one complete day of just hanging out on the beach! Every time we mention planning our trip here our kids literally go wild!

For those of you without kids, don't worry either. One of the reasons that we like this place is that it isn't overrun with children! This hotel has managed to keep it's family appeal while at the same time giving you that relaxing feel that only being on the beach can give you. Mid-week can almost be like being on a private beach!

We've recommended this hotel to several family and friends and each time, they were very pleased and thanked us profusely! I think that the people that grump about this place are probably the type that don't like getting sand in their shoes in the first place!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

Theortically, this should be a great place to stay. After all, it's right on the beach, and it has a view. But somehow, I felt a little depressed here. The carpet was threadbare and had that "gummy" feel to it, the room had only one or two pictures on the ugly-side, and the pool area was bare--no potted plants, no color, just sort of drab. Also, it would be really easy for this place to have a little exercise room of some kind--but there isn't one.
Apparantly there is a breakfast buffet but the the man at the desk never mentioned it when we checked in and we were too dumb to ask. The man who checked us in, by the way, was very kind and very helpful--no complaints with the staff at all (except for that little thing about not mentioning the buffet which was sort of hidden away in a not-so-obvious place)
THe hotel just needs an injection of something...a little zing...a little love. Makes me think that California beaches are way overrated and you'd be better off saving money and staying somewhere nice off the beach.

  • Liked — Beach Access
  • Disliked — Needs some love
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professorBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

We had a great time at the Best Western Terrace Inn--the lobby and grounds are pretty and you can't beat the on-the-beach location. We were in a spacious 1 bedroom with a full seperate bedroom, living room and a full kitchen and our balcony (2nd story) was on the beach. We could hear the ocean with the patio doors closed (not too loud) and our we all enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to the waves/watching the people on the beach. The room itself was very outdated, and the bathrooms really need to be re-done--I found them on the verge of gross and the carpet in the living area was very old too. The rest of the apartment was tiled which was better with the sand we tracked in. If the rooms are updated, I'm sure the rate for beachfront will be much more. You can't beat the location....quick drive to Legoland as well. Also, the breakfast was adequate, though the staff was very eager to close shop and closely monitored the food being consumed which was annoying. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — outdated rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenchile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed here from Oct 13 - 17/08 mainly because of the beachfront and were very happy we did. We had a queen/queen huge room with a view of the pool, beach and ocean. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very quick and did a great job. It was quite and you can't beat the view of the water or sunsets. I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Liked — Beachfront
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akuna666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We found this place last year around the same time and really enjoyed our stay. This was our second year there and would love to go back! Most of the people staying were families that have been back for years. There were lots of kids and teenagers. Great for families and not a lot of late night partying going on.

This year I booked a little too late so all they had available was the studio room, which I was happy to book. I would have rather been in the large double queen with 2 adults and 2 kids (4 & 7) but it was fine since we weren't in the room much.

Our stay was 5 days this time around and spent 3 of them on the beach. If your goal is to have easy access to the beach, then this is the place for you. We parked the car and the only time we used it again (until our check out) was to go to Legoland. Everything was within walking distance. Carlsbad Village is great to eat, shop and just walk.

We woke up, had the continental breakfast (provided with your stay) in the hospitality room or out on the deck. The breakfast was perfect to fill up on before heading out anywhere. Cathy, the staff member who runs the breakfast, is absolutely wonderful! She has been there for years and is always helpful and pleasant. She keeps the food and supplies well stocked for everyone. After breakfast, it was off to the beach. That was it. Simple and fun. When the kids got tired of being on the beach, the went in the pool or hot tub.

For everyone who complains about the condition of the rooms, they were fine. This isn’t The Four Seasons and you aren’t paying those prices either. They will be remodeling so the prices will go up but hopefully, it will keep the family feel. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. This will be our annual trip and hopefully, we can come back for years to come.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Taz3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, AZ.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in a queen/queen deluxe ocean front room May 9th & 10th. We found this hotel when it was a BW about 10 years ago, and stayed in the older wing that had the kitchen suites. We were suitably impressed that when the time came to plan a trip there with our kids, we decided this hotel was the only way to go. The room we had (#50) was a pleasant surprise. We expected a standard size room: what we got was an extremely large room that allowed our family of 4 (with a teen and pre-teen) to spread out and relax because we weren't cramped in a tiny space. We also expected the standard "queen" beds that most hotels have (that we call "full") but again were pleased to note that the beds were actually queen size beds with good mattresses and lovely linens on them. The room had 2 closets to store things in, an entertainment armoire with 2 large drawers, and a dresser with 4 large drawers. There was also a comfy chair, sofa sleeper, desk w/chair, and a round table with chairs. There was a coffee maker with a basket of regular and decaf coffees and hot tea. Our room had a private balcony that overlooked the swim area, beach, and ocean. We were only about 25 yards from the ocean, and every morning we would drift over to stare out the window - which was to our benefit because the 2 mornings were there we were able to see ocean wildlife swimming just beyond the waves. The bathroom was typical, but tidy and had large, fluffy towels. The vanity area was seperate from the bathing area, and had the usual basket of shampoos, lotions, etc. There was also an in-room hair dryer. There were 2 ironing boards and irons in the room as well. A small one that dropped down from a cabinet in the wall, and a large, regular size board and iron in the main closet. The room was clean and smelled good, and we slept with the windows open at night to take advantage of the sounds of the ocean and the cool breezes. When it was time for the kids to go play in the waves, it was a short walk to our private beach access. The front desk provided large beach towels for them to dry off with. We did not take advantage of the free continental breakfast, but the kids did sneak in one morning to grab some chocolate muffins which kept them happy for a good 1/2 hour!!! The reported to us that the spread looked go to them, and they lamented the fact that we hadn't eaten breakfast there that morning.

This is by no means a snooty resort hotel, but it was EXACTLY what we wanted - a great view for a good price and all the comforts of home. There is a fantastic coastal vibe in Carlsbad and everyone we interated with there was super friendly (which is always surprising considering we were the dreaded tourists!). Both the women we dealt with at the front desk were friendly and courteous. This hotel has a strong fan base, which probably explains why a woman checking out was making her reservations for next year already! We will definitely go back, and are so thankful to have had such a wonderful, relaxing time here and in Carlsbad.

  • Liked — Location can't be beat, but the room was very comfortable and welcoming.
  • Disliked — Can't think of one thing I don't like about this hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing