We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

There is much to love about this place, but there are some negatives, and for the price, they're a little surprising. First, the positives: the people who work there are friendly and professional. You're right on the sand, and can fall asleep to the sound of waves breaking right outside your door. The rooms are gigantic. Beds and pillows comfortable. Bath amenities very good. Lots of towels, coffee maker, fridge, etc. A pool and deck raised just a bit over the beach, with lavish furniture and a stellar view. Mike, the pool guy, will cheerfully set up a couple of chairs and an umbrella on the sand for you. He's never without a smile. In fact, everybody who works there is so nice and eager to please, I hate to say the next part, but I have to.

The negatives: lots of stairs, very little elevator access. The continental breakfast isn't special, and their wireless Internet is pretty much nonexistent. This wouldn't be a problem except that you also do not get cellphone reception on 95% of the property. Since the rooms are large, several near us were filled with multiple families sharing the space. Which means there can be a noise factor in your neighbor's room. And the pool gets busy - if you want to use the hot tub, expect to wedge yourself in to a passel of happy youngsters. Lastly, our non-lockable screen door kept falling off the track. I've stayed at the BTI three times over the past two years. Mixed feelings about returning.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, be sure you understand where your room is likely to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Z, General Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for being one of our valued repeat guests. We sincerely appreciate you selecting our hotel when a few lazy days are needed right on the beach! Your highlight of Mike, our pool and guest service concierge is certainly right on, he does a great job and loves meeting all of our guests! The mention of stairs here is absolutely correct; we call them the stairway to heaven. Because of how the property is located, we are terraced along the shoreline without elevator access directly to the pool and beach. Guests with a preference for elevator access can of course select the Ocean Front Pool Terrace rooms with access to parking, the ocean lounge and lobby. We do regret the absence of good cell phone coverage while you were here and hope it was not too inconvenient. The closer you become to the sand and beach the more problematic some providers may be.

We would love to maintain your loyalty and continued interest in the Beach Terrace Inn. While we seek perfection, we want you to return and give us the opportunity to show a problem free stay does happen. Our managment team is available to speak with you at anytime to schedule a room that best meets your wishes. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    189
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
485
560
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a great beachfront hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our five days at this inn. The continental breakfast time was extended to 11 am so you didn't have to get up early and it was plentiful. Rooms were very spacious and the location can't be beat. The ocean view was wonderful from our balcony; the beach was right there, as were a nice pool with lounge chairs and a hot tub. The free parking was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel has everything you need, from umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards and towels for the beach. Breakfast was fresh and just enough to start the day. Loved the coffee! Only draw back was that you had to request fresh linens daily.

Room Tip: Ocean front...beach just steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We traveled for the second summer in a row to this beautifful location. Although there are stairway paths to the pool and the beach our elderly parents absolutely enjoyed their Pool Terrace view with total ocean and pool views!! They could watch the kids boogie board, swim and loved the morning dolphin viewing every morning we were there. They had an elevator that took them from the car to their room and never had to worry about stairs. We had 3 lovely Pool terrace rooms that were huge! We are getting ready to book for next summer! Our family has two favorite places we travel for beach fun. Carlsbad in California and North Redington Beach in the Tampa area. Our favorite in Carlsbad is The Beach Terrace Inn! ( Tampa is the double tree on north redington beach). Great staff, service and hotel management!

Room Tip: Pool Terrace!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very nice Property and Location. Was with family and everyone had a great time. the rooms are big and offer lots of space. The views are great and have easy access to the beach. Walking distance in town is easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a beach view and have easy access to the street. They do not charge for parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was my third summer visit to BTI. I have been there during other times of the years, but summer is the best. I do not think there is a staff turnover here...another good example of a great place. All of them are very helpful and have a wealth of information about the town itself. They give great recommendations for places to see and eat. I have stayed in the same room and each year it feels like coming home. The view is perfect and the room is huge.The pool area is gorgeous and well maintained. The free breakfast is huge and has a good assortment.
I have already made my reservations for my next birthday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked this hotel based on its location and all the great reviews it has. We didn't go wrong. The hotel is right on the beach just as advertised, the rooms look exactly like they do on the website, and the staff is beyond helpful and friendly. My kids enjoyed running from the beach to the pool and my husband and I loved watching the sun set over the ocean from our ocean view balcony. Even though we had a partial ocean view room, we could see the ocean just fine and loved going to sleep to the sound of the waves on the shore.
This hotel is great for kids since the rooms are spacious and clean, and the kids loved the muffins and fruit for breakfast. There are sand toys, boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas and towels available for free from the hotel for day use at the beach. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance, but there is a fridge in every room and you can request a microwave too.
This could also be a very romantic spot for a couples only get away.
The only thing I would caution about is that there are no elevators. There are stairs to get to the beach and even the pool level rooms have stairs to access them.
We had a great stay, and plan on returning there next year.

Room Tip: The partial ocean rooms are good value, you can see the ocean, but you dont have to pay the full pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buhrmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
964 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's only beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing