We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Terrace Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$194
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$152
$123
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$179
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$269
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveler rating
1,085
195
52
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
195
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcontinental breakfastsound of the wavesguest loungerooms are hugewithin walking distancefalling asleepoceanfront roomyogurtcarlsbad villagebeach chairs and umbrellasboogie boardsfull ocean viewno elevatorhard boiled eggsbeautiful roompool area
Filter
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our 4th summer visit but we have also been here in the winter, spring and fall over the last 4 years. It is hands down our favorite hotel to stay at in Carlsbad. The convenience factor of being right on the beach and within walking distance to the shops of Carlsbad makes it worth it. We always get the Cabana suite on the pool deck because we have kids and it's so nice to just let them roam in and out of the room to swim or go to the beach. We don't worry about pool noise because we are never in our room except at night and it usually calms down by then and it closes by 9.

The rooms are beautiful and have plenty of room! Bathrooms are large and spacious! Free breakfast is wonderful! We left our canopy and beach stuff at home this year and they had plenty of umbrellas and chairs during the busy summer. It was nice not to pack extra stuff.

The staff is the same staff we have seen over the last few years. It's so nice that they actually remember our family each summer. I always look forward to going back! I wish we could live there!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rycroftmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stay here once a month during trips to. Carlsbad for business. Outstanding facility. Literally on the beach. Great breakfast on terrace overlooking pacific. Tried other local hotels but Beach Terrace tops them all. Can not say enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1911acp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Beach Terrace Inn last week for 2 days. We got the 2 king Cabana Suite right on the pool deck. It was well worth it. I was quite concerned at first about getting this room because I don't know how people are gonna be once pool opens ( 9 am - 9 pm). There are only 3 rooms on that deck and we were the only ones there! It's like having your own huge balcony! Pool noise was nothing ( at least when we were there). The beach was amazing...We can even still hear the waves even with our windows and door closed. We have our 7 yr old daughter with us and she loved just going out of our room and she's right there on the pool and beach. They provide everything for you. From towels, chairs, beach umbrellas and even toys for the kiddos. Breakfast was great. They have a decent selection. Even got to see dolphins around 8:30 am...Restaurants are close by...We will definitely stay here again. Pricey but hey it was well worth the money...

Room Tip: Stayed at room #64. Rooms are huge and yes it is oceanfront!!!Corner room...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Beach Terrace Carlsbad is wonderful for location, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. BUT!! It is not family friendly or handicap equipped for easy access to pool, beach, breakfast room. Steep stairs are the ONLY way to your rooms and out. It would be a disaster if there was any type of emergency and families with small children and one with a handicapped child or adult would have to leave the property with any urgency. There is a need for an updated central elevator for easy access to different levels of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Z, General Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Beach Terrace Inn. We sincerely appreciate your mention of the location, rooms and friendly staff members. Our hotel was originally built and designed in stages in the 60's and 70's when accessibility concerns were less prominent. While we have made improvements since, coastal regulations and requirements limit what we may alter to the building, including additional elevator access. Our team has researched many possibilities to maximize access and has completed 2 accessible rooms, one of which you had enjoyed. As you mention, the accessible rooms provide a free path of travel from the parking lot to the lobby, Ocean Lounge and guest room; the beach and pool continues to require stairs.

Thank you for your partnership and confidence. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved the view from our beach front balcony watching the surfers, lazy days in the sun by the beach. Great location, clean comfortable room good facilities, only let down by dodgy wifi that only worked when it wanted to. Basic but healthy breakfast, plenty of fresh fruit and low cal / fat yogurt. Definitely not cheap but as we intend to stay here again, I guess it must be good value for what you get.

Room Tip: To appreciate this hotel, you really need a beach front room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdventuresofScorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews