We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME HOTEL”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME HOTEL”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently celebrated our 56th anniversary at the Beach Terrace Inn and our plan now is to come back every year to celebrate again! Ryan welcomed us so warmly while we were checking in and each time we saw him during our stay. The entire staff at the hotel truly seem to like what they are doing and they care about the guests visiting. Richard, who we visited with at the pool, was such a nice young man who took the time to stop and chat and make sure that we had everything we needed while spending time around the pool. The pool area has been planned for comfort - not just a few token chairs but real comfy seating and, of course, the view of the ocean is spectacular! The breakfast each morning was delicious and always kept stocked with food during the entire time by their friendly staff. Our oceanfront room was wonderful - such a view!

The Beach Terrace supplies lots of little things that bigger hotels don't - the little things that matter and make guests feel special. We truly enjoyed every moment at this hotel and thank the staff for their kindness. On a scale of 1 to 5 - the Beach Terrace Inn is a 10!!

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are amazing - what a view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Efforts are definitely made to preserve the extremely clean beach!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    187
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
470
551
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days and it is by far my new favorite hotel. It is literally right on the beach and has amazing views. The staff is very friendly and we hated to leave this place. If you put your "do not disturb" sign on the door they will leave you a basket of towels and toiletries. We had the ocean view room and it was huge. We sat out on our balcony every night and even saw a whale one morning. The bathrooms are updated and big. They offer continental breakfast everyday and we sat out on the terrace and ate breakfast right by the ocean every morning. We loved everything about this place and I am recommending it to everyone I know that is headed to California!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacooper425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great property. Small and intimate but with LARGE rooms overlooking the ocean with balconies (get the Ocean Front View rooms). Stayed 5 days with my two children and we never felt under each other's feet in the rooms. Loved the indoor/outdoor lounge overlooking the ocean; favorite part of my day was enjoying the complimentary breakfast while relaxing on the rocking chairs outside. Very clean and well-kept property with extremely helpful staff who all seemed to enjoy their work. Best of all, it is literally on the beach. No walking across a street or through any obstacle to get to the beach; just walk down the hotel steps right onto the sand! We will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelRR0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We just finished our 3rd year staying here. We stay right by the pool. Many a reviewer mentions not to stay there(the Cabana Room) but we love it.

First it has 2 king size beds and the room is about twice the size of the others.

Second, it IS right by the pool so we walk right out to the pool and it's only a few more steps to the beach.

Third, the pool area is slightly noisy but we are out in the pool all day, at the local eateries, at lego land or on the beach so it's no big deal(if you're in your room looking for quiet while there is a beach front 10 feet away, you may be doing it wrong). The pool/spa area closes at 9pm so there's rarely noise beyond that time anyway.

Forth, the breakfast is great - Including countless pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt. Their coffee is sublime. It also stays open till 11 am, so go back and get a 'to go' cup of coffee before and after your walk on the beach.

Finally, the staff is great. From the rentals of chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, and boogie boards to the excellent choices in pillow and conversation.

Clean rooms, fantastic staff, close food and bars, nice pool, easy access to the beach, it has everything. We already look forward to next year!

Room Tip: We like the cabana room, right by the pool(I believe the only room with 2 king beds). But many of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is top notch. We have been here twice now, and we plan to come every summer with the kids. It is a great romantic getaway, and a perfect family beach weekend. The hotel staff was more than polite, friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge, updated and have amazing ocean views. The hotel is RIGHT on the beach and provides lots of beach necessities, such as umbrellas, chairs and sand toys. They provide a continental breakfast that is just enough to get you started in the morning. Everything you need, shops, restaurants, bars, are in walking distance. I can't say enough about how much I love this hotel. No downsides. Hopefully my husband reads this and takes me back this fall for an adult trip.

Room Tip: Only about 6 rooms have no view. It's not worth it just to save a few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room was huge! Great views, beach, staff, location - need I say more! Nice pool and great, clean beach. You can walk to all shops and restaurants. They have 2 free parking lots across the street. Room includes light breakfast Oceanfront is totally worth the upgrade.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GnLT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the second time we stayed here in last year or so. The first time was just the adults and it was great. Wife said we had to come back with the kids, so we did. The Beach Terrace Inn is not huge, with only about forty rooms, but is really a great place to stay. Rooms are clean and really nice, and most have a good view. This time we stayed street level with partial view and still got a good shot of the ocean and beach. The staff is extremely friendly and the guys working the pool area exemplify this. They bend over backwards and will get you anything. And for the kids, really nice. They are right on the beach, which makes taking the kids to the beach easy. The kids want the pool, it is right there too. They also have boogie boards, umbrellas, sand toys, beach chairs and pool toys for the family to use. Nice little continental breakfast and like someone else said, good coffee. Everything is just a couple blocks away and a great walk, even for the kids. It is not a full service resort, but really a great little hotel with a lot of quality. Really love coming here and makes it worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#1 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing