We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Our three day stay at the Beach Terrace was wonderful. The weather was tough but the hotel did not disappoint us. The rooms are very large with great beach views. The location allows walking on the beach as well as easy access to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    186
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
469
547
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

First time staying here, loved every minute! I will be back. I wished I could have stayed longer. Beach access is great and the view was absolutely amazing. Rooms are spacious and and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Beach Terrace Inn is a great hotel. The staff is friendly. The rooms are large and include coffee makers and mini fridges. It's on the beach, close to bars, restaurants, shopping and includes a daily continental breakfast. My only suggestion would be to include hard boiled eggs. The Coaster is the rail system that runs from downtown San Diego. I highly recommend it if you don't want to rent a car. The stop is about 1.5 blocks from the hotel and cost $5.25 from downtown San Diego. We were there for 5 days and only needed a taxi once for dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beach Terrace Inn and look forward to a return visit next next year.

Room Tip: We had the courtyard view, but will definitely upgrade to the ocean front view next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I want to write bad things so that this hotel will remain a hidden gem but was reminded that I decided to try it because someone selflessly posted a positive comment....We loved this hotel! The check in process was simple, parking was across the street and free! We stayed in an ocean front room and it was amazing! The room was huge, clean and felt very upscale. The views were so beautiful, we spent hours on the balcony. The breakfast was plentiful and the woman working the breakfast area was a delight! The location is perfect! We spent each morning walking on the beach with our coffee and each afternoon laying in the sun by the beach and/or pool. Just when we thought we couldn't possibly love this little hotel more, a basket showed up at our door full of fresh towels and refills for coffee/soap/etc. We had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door and they wanted to make sure we still had fresh towels, so thoughtful! We are already planning our trip back and have said several times how much we miss being there. Thank you for wonderful memories.

Room Tip: I gave the restaurant a 3 because it is technically a continental breakfast but there are several th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We love to stay at the Beach Terrace Inn! We sometimes stay with family or sometimes it is just the two of us. Our number one priority is the location ON the beach, but we also appreciate the upscale and clean facilities, as well as the proximity to restaurants and recreation. It is an expensive stay, but a wonderful treat!

Room Tip: You can save money by not getting an ocean front room, but ....... if you love the ocean, treat your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kckkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beach Terrace Inn is a great value! Superior staff always aims to please and is willing to go that extra mile. Rooms are good size and very clean. Beds are very comfortable...and the ocean roar is great to fall asleep to. I can't wait for my next getaway at Beach Terrace Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Such a great place for the price! Loved the staff. Everyone was so friendly and healthy. Breakfast was just right. Location couldn't be beat. Great to have a pool and hot tub on the premises in addition to the beach, and I especially lived the comfy cabanas right along the property facing the beach. My husband has pillow "issues" as well, so the pillow bar was such a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonandallyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing