We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Too good to be true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too good to be true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We thought this place sounded too good to be true so we were skeptical, but it lived up to all the great reviews! We had a partial ocean view, which was enough for us to see alot of the beach. We were so close to the ocean we could hear the waves and ocean noise at any time, great background for sleeping! It was an unbelieveably large room, like the size of a small studio apartment. And the bathroom was like a master suite bathroom, huge! The place went through a major renovation 3 yrs. ago apparently and it is now gorgeous. I love the furniture and the look of the rooms and bathroom. We had a balcony outside our room, number 45, with great views. They serve a continental breakfast in their incredible guest lounge with ocean view. I wish I had a room like that in my house! The staff was so friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this place, especially if you want to be right on the beach and within walking distance to the village shops and restaurants. You won't believe how nice it is. If you stay here, be sure to check out the pictures in the guest lounge of the hotel before the renovation. Unbelieveable transformation. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you don't want to splurge on oceanfront room, get a partial ocean view on second floor, we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    174
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
428
501
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My first stay at this Inn was somewhat disappointing, but the manager encouraged me to give it another try and included a free night as encouragement. I was disappointed again with our stay. Yes...the location is incredible!!!! And that almost makes it worth it, but both times I stayed here there were problems with something in the room...last time, we had no heat and had to notify the management and they brought us an electric heater. I have higher expectations for a room with this price tag. And, there was a problem with cleanliness both stays as well. Dirty water was left in the bathroom sink and there was a huge dark stain on one of the chairs. I don't consider myself difficult to please as a customer, but I don't want to pay $250/night and not have heat and have a dirty sink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 245Quigley__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Actually, the Beach Terrace Inn is the ONLY hotel on the beach in Carlsbad, CA. There are fine hotels AT the beach, but you have to walk across the street to put your tootsies in the sand. The Beach Terrace Inn, nicely-remodeled on the site of a former Best Western, has huge rooms with ocean views, a nice pool and hot tub, wide-screen TVs, free breakfasts, beach gear for loan, and very friendly and helpful staff members. Plus, it's within walking distance of a week's worth of local restaurants. If you leave something behind, the staff will make sure you get it back. If you need anything, they'll get it for you. Bargain prices in the winter, a little pricey otherwise, but well worth it.

Room Tip: If you have toddlers that will be swimming, get a poolside room. If you don't have kids, pay mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbryant1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I don't know why you would stay any where else in the area. You can't beat the location, room size, quality and ambiance. We stay here anytime we are in the area and because we love this place so much we always stay an extra day. We brought the kids this trip and they love it but it is a perfect place for a quiet getaway for couples too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ok, so after disneyland we drove over to Carlsbad and booked this place based on a random find and as part of our trip we visited San Diego.

We have 3 young kids and this place was pretty much heaven, not because we just spent 3 days walking disneyland but this "not busy" feel hotel was perfect.

1. Stones throw? Its closer than that, its directly on the beach period.
2. Room was really nice and large forget what unit we had.
3. Beach was awesome, kids body boarded for hours.
4. Beach is so large that it just doesn't feel busy.
5. There hotel was fully booked and there was never more than 10 to 15 people around the pool. No need to fight for space or chairs or anything.
6. Constantly someone walking around picking up towels or looking after you to get toys for the kids.
7. Continental breakfast was perfect with a nice lounge area.
8. Train station for San Diego is a 5 min walk away.
9. Sound of the waves from the room was "LOUD" and just perfect. (I can't believe the reviews complaining above the sound of the ocean and they booked a hotel on the beach)

Need i go on. I really hate to provide such a good review of this place as i want to keep to myself but i must say we really had a great time in Carlsbad.

The people downtown Carlsbad were also extremely nice and we were constantly being formally welcomed from Canada. I couldn't believe this place it was like a dream.

We will definately be back in 2013. Chow

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location, location, location. Did I mention location? Right on the beach! Stayed here for five nights over the holidays. The location simply can't be beat. It is an older property, but the room we stayed in was nicely updated and very clean. We ended up changing plans and staying two more nights than we originally planned since we liked it so much. Staff is super friendly and has a good continental breakfast in the morning. Also, has free parking, a small beach-side pool and a hot tub. You can walk to shops and restaurants in Carlsbad. San Diego attractions are about 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have full ocean view. We booked late, so we stayed in 135 which does not have muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, ND
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is superior, you are not near the beach, you are on it. For this reason alone, we would stay again. That alone was a once in a lifetime thrill, especially with the balcony overlooking the beach. The rooms are the size of a gymnasium, no kidding. As are the bathrooms.
Now the cons. this is undoubtedly a old hotel. Although the rooms were modern and the entire hotel is well maintained, the age of this hotel is evident in the halls and elevator, which was not functioning the last day our visit. Probably my biggest hang up though was the bathroom door.If you are a modest person,this would be a problem for you as we'll. First off, there was no locking mechanism on this sliding door,and even if there was the door would not slide completely closed,so there would be a slight gap. The toilet itself was enclosed in a separate room with lock but the shower room was very frustrating as far as privacy. The kids, 12 and 14, adored the place, except for the breakfast which I did not check out. They felt there were limited kid friendly items. Finally, do not expect a bargain. We were required a minimum of three night stay for one room,and our final bill was over $1,000.00. One can not expect a bargain for such a ideal location, but this is a rate that is not exactly pocket change for most families these days. We would definitely return despite this, GREAT family memories.

l

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.1 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
6.9 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#8 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing