We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value -- spectacular view.”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value -- spectacular view.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We wanted a room close to the ocean, and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. We had one of the King Oceanfront Rooms, and it just couldn't have been nicer. Great room, spectacular bathroom, and unbelievable view. The pool, the breakfast, the front desk, all first rate. We got the special rate for buy two nights, get the third night free, and it was a geeat value!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingingit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    188
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
484
559
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Beach Terrace Inn was a fantastic find right on the water. Set back from noise, except the sound of waves, it offers clean, lovely, large rooms, the beach at your fingertips and great service. We stayed accidentally and have returned twice. Our room was upgraded due to the time of year and not being full, and when we had a credit card dispute it was taken care of immediately. I highly recommend this haven whether on business or for relaxation.

Room Tip: Room 29 is stellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our 3rd visit and I cannot wait to go back again. If you are looking for a comfortable peaceful place to on the beach near San Diego, this is the place! The rooms are clean, large the bed is soo comfortable and the views are amazing. The staff is courteous and the complimentary breakfast is superb. We will definitely be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Whether you're planning a trip to Legoland or a romantic getaway at the seashore, the Beach Terrace Inn is unquestionably the place to stay. Prices are decent, Staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal. The Beach Terrace Inn is one of the exceptionally few hotels in Southern Caliornia that are actually on the sand. The hotel completed major renovations in 2009 so rooms and facilities are clean and well appointed. Other amenities include free WiFi, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast--served in beautifully decorated guest lounge with a stunning view.
Tips:
Other than the complimentary breakfast, food is not available on the premises. There are some restaurants within walking distance, but I recommend stocking up at the Albertsons supermarket on Carlsbad Village Drive (next to the 5 Freeway).
And, reserve your room well in advance: Arguably one of the top places to stay in Carlsbad, this Hotel tends to fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the lower rooms on the Sand. Preferably further away from the pool area which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are quite spacious and well decorated. Breakfast is served from 7 to 11 am and everything was great. When we told the desk we needed different pillows, they had them in our room before we got back from walking on the beach. The new pillows were perfect. The walk-in shower was great and I would stay again, anytime.

Room Tip: They do not have a restaurant on site but there are so many nice ones to choose from within walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights & had no complaints. I love the location & both the room and bathroom were huge. There is a continental breakfast served every morning between 7-11 am. The ocean view is spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently stayed at Beach Terrace Inn for five nights and very happy with our choice. Location was great. The ocean was steps away from the property. We could walk to shopping, and dinning in Carlsbad Village. Room was great size and clean with ocean and pool views. One of the biggest bathrooms I've seen in many travels. Watching the sunset from our balcony was fantastic and hearing the waves at night made for very restfull sleeping. Breakfast was great. Your choice to eat inside or outside. Staff was very friendly and made some recomendations for dinning. Only had one complaint the whole stay. There were people smoking by the pool one day and smoke was drifting into our room. As a non-smoking property I went to front desk to inform staff of this situation. Gentleman behind the desk tells me "I'm all over it". After a half hour, nothing got done. For the price of rooms you think that problem would have been taken care of right away. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 56.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcal1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
962 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's only beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing