We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach Terrace Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$222
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$176
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$249
$242
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)
$296
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$399
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveler rating
1,085
195
52
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
195
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontcontinental breakfastsound of the wavesguest loungerooms are hugewithin walking distancefalling asleepoceanfront roomyogurtcarlsbad villagebeach chairs and umbrellasboogie boardsfull ocean viewno elevatorhard boiled eggsbeautiful roompool area
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've never rated a hotel on tripadvisor before but the Beach Terrace Inn was just THAT good I had to share. We just came back from a one-night stay and it was perfect. The beach is spectacular and very clean. We borrowed chairs, an umbrella and body boards from the hotel (they even have beach toys for the kids!). The staff were incredible -- it seemed like there was constantly someone available and happy to help with whatever we needed, we never had to wait for anything and everyone was SO friendly and helpful.

We had a corner upper oceanfront king and the room was even better than I could have imagined. I read a lot of the reviews on tripadvisor (and had high expectations as a result) but my expectations were exceeded in every way. It is literally RIGHT on the beach. We slept with our screen door open to listen to the ocean (which had the added bonus of keeping our 3- and 5-year-old early birds asleep until a decent hour) and the location just cannot be beat. The rooms are so huge you could fit several rollaways and still have a ton of space, and the decor is modern, clean and luxurious.

We walked into Carlsbad village and found a ton of cute shops and restaurants to eat at. Food was good, peoplewatching was fun, and it felt like we were miles away from home (even though we live in the area). Breakfast was delicious and you can't beat fresh fruits and pastries while watching the waves roll in. Just gorgeous.

I would recommend this to everyone, not just out-of-towners. It's perfect for a family friendly staycation -- so good we're planning to come back for a longer stay next month :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were originally booked for a short 3 night stay during the start of our visit to San Diego, then LA, then back to San Diego. We actually had a reservation to stay at a suite at the Del Coronado for the last couple nights of our trip, but enjoyed the Beach Terrace Inn so much that we cancelled the reservation at the Del and choose to say there instead. While it may not have some of the amentities of the a "five star" resort (which most people don't need like a bunch of restuarants on campus, spa-facilities, etc), the things they have they do have are perfectly executed. The rooms are large, clean, modern, comfortable, and have terrific views. There are enough restuarants within easy walking distance that you wonder why anyone would want to be confined to a "five star" resort campus. The pool is small, but right on the beach and has beach chairs, umbrellas, and body boards available gratis. Continental breakfast was the perfect mix of fruits, careals, pastries, and juices to get the day started right. But the best part of the place is that everyone who works there is an absolute joy and extremely focused on making your stay there enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Rooms are huge, and they do a really good job with small details, especially in the bathrooms. Good water pressure, large towels, robes, and an array of toiletries. And the beds are very comfortable. Don't like your pillow? Don't worry about it, they'll bring you a new one of whatever firmness you desire. All of the employees were very, very nice. Continental breakfast was quite extensive. I really have nothing negative to say about this hotel, it was extremely comfortable and felt luxurious.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We made last minute reservations here and Alexis at the front desk was wonderful helping us out. You can tell this is an older Hotel, but the rooms have been renovated nicely. The bathrooms have all new fixtures, giving you the feel of a five-star accommodations. They have smaller pool area on the beach and plenty of loungers for all and we were there in the middle of the summer. They also provide beach chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards for the beach. Nice continental breakfast in lounge over looking the ocean, seating inside and out. Big rooms, nice bedding and pillows, although our mattress probably needs replacing, a little skewed towards the edge on one side. The rooms seemed a bit overpriced, but it is a pretty nice place right on the beach. You can also walk to the village area of Carlsbad to shop and eat.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I booked a deluxe king with a full ocean view. We were greeted upon our arrival by a nice young man who repeated this to us verbatim. Whe we went to the room, we felt like we were in the movie "Vacation"! The only view we saw was the back side of another building. No ocean! They did say they would move us the next day but really! They should have told us the room did NOT have an ocean view or any other view. They did give us a 30 % discount.
I do not like the fact that we did not get what we booked and paid for.

They were nice people. The continental breakfast was excellent. The view could have need excellent. We were a bit disappointed at what should have been a great place.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews