We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a family get away”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect for a family get away”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We went to Carlsbad to do Legoland but wanted a nice place for Mom and Dad, too - this was perfect for us. The view is outstanding, the rooms are clean and feel nice. We got the "Family Fun" package, so a few snacks and sodas were waiting in our room which was a hit with the kids (they are cheap dates!). The complimentary breakfast is lovely. Great to be able to run from pool to beach to room in any order, all day long. Easy walk into town, with lots of places to eat and shop. The train goes by a few blocks away which was a plus for my train-obsessed son. My only warning is that if you choose a poolside room and have kids, the pool does not close until 10pm -- on our last night there we had loud college kids in the spa under our window and some screaming kids in the pool until after 10, which was irritating for our kids trying to go to sleep, but made it easier for us to leave the next day! Overall worth every penny we spent.

Room Tip: Oceanfront and not poolside, you can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    187
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
480
555
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son just got married and had a small reception here. What a great location! The patio and lounge area are PERFECT for a small gathering! The decor was great to work with, and the view,
well, you just couldn't ask for more. The staff was very accomidating and helpful. Perfect place to spend your honeymoon night too! Lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property! But there are stairs so pack lightly as it can be a haul! SO WORTH IT THOUGH!! The rooms are just lovely--get a view room ocean front and open the sliding doors oh my it is beyond words! The staff are friendly, the area is nice too. Rooms are clean and well maintained. If you love the ocean stay here and marvel at the sound of the waves crashing. You don't even have to walk on the beach if you don't feel like it...you are already there!

Room Tip: ocean front is a MUST for an awesome experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first time to Carlsbad, and Beach Terrace was a HUGE treat. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our ocean view was amasing, it was very quiet and relaxing, just the roar of the waves. The continental breakfast was perfect, but if a guest wanted more there are plenty of restaurants within easy waking distance. I can see this a being a place we look forward to going to again.

Room Tip: The ocean view double king is totally worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We found this spot on Trip Advisor and loved it. We were in need of some rest and on our way to San Diego. The ocean view double king was all that was available with a view and we loved it! Room was huge, sound of the waves was so relaxing, great breakfast. We walked all the way down the beach and back up. It was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBH1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Excellent place to unwind. The ocean front rooms make your feel like you are on your own private beach. Views are absolutely beautiful. Rooms are attractive, spacious and clean. All of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful; anything a guest needs they will do their best to provide. Rooms over the pool have a beautiful view as well and are just as nice as the ocean front rooms. The hotel provides plenty of parking and a free continental breakfast. We parked our car for five days and walked everywhere; restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. We plan on making this trip a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2domath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is just about perfect for your stay in Carlsbad. Right on the beach. Beautiful view from most rooms. Friendly accommodating staff, great amenities, nice little breakfast bar. Parking was easy and always available. A lot of time pictures don't reflect the actual experience. In this case they do.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshhoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
944 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's only beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing