We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!”
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is the only property on the beach in Carlsbad, despite what other hotels claim. We stayed at here for the first time about 10 years ago when our kids were toddlers but, preferred to stay further South on Coronado Island at the Hotel Del Coronado enjoying the large beach & exclusive neighborhood. The Del is not the gem it used to be however, it is run down, overpriced and too busy with tourists. So, we decided to try Carlsbad again and so glad we did! The Beach Terrace Inn has had an extensive makeover in the past couple of years. The rooms have been completely remodeled & decorated in a fresh modern beachy Boutique Hotel vibe that is wonderful. The room was very clean, something I'm very critical of and an area where The Hotel Del fails horribly. They offer a complimentary breakfast daily on a deck overlooking the pool & beach, nicely done. Parking is FREE & it's a quick walk to many shops and dining. The pool is traditional, well-kept with a jacuzzi; towels are available with private keyed beach access. They have rooms with 2 king beds for families, which is much nicer than the industry standard of doubles or queens. Rooms also have a small wet bar with a sink and small refrig. Most rooms had a large balcony with 2 chairs and a table to sit and relax watching the waves. The beach itself is not deep. However, the water is cleaner than SD beaches with markedly less kelp and trash debris. Waves are much larger, great for surfing or boogie boards. Housekeeping was extremely professional and polite. Our toliet clogged and maintenance arrived quickly. Many families but, just as nice for couples romance too; never felt overrun by children. I've already made reservations for two more trips planned for later this summer for return stays; hoping for additional wonderful vacations!

Room Tip: Pool Terrace rooms are classified as partial ocean view but, are just as good as ocean front and les...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weenie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Beach Terrace Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were greeted by an exceptional staff. I was wished a happy birthday. When we arrived to the room a complimentary bottle of wine and birthday card awaited. The room was clean, spacious, and beautiful. Our balcony opened up to the beach, with a comfy couch to sit and enjoy the wine. We enjoyed falling asleep and waking to the sound of the surf. The bathroom was large and well-appointed. The pool area was well decorated and chairs and umbrellas were available for use on the beach. I look forward to another trip to this beautiful hotel, even though I live nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent the weekend in Carlsbad and thorougly enjoyed our stay at the Beach Terrace Inn. They have a nice pool, directly on the beach and a great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danishk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked a beach front room. Amazing views. Large room, very clean. The bathroom was huge with a great shower. Family friendly. Great free breakfast with perfect ocean views. Plenty of good food. Will be back! Walking distance from many cool resteraunts.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleleaguemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After a 6 day juggernaut of theme parks, the 3 nights here were a welcome reprieve. Oceanfront room was perfect, bathroom made my wife very happy, deck with a glass of wine or cup of coffee while watching the kids 20 feet away was ideal. Fantastic service and great continental breakfast finished off with the Inn mailing my daughters sandals home after we forgot them. Bottomline... My wife wants to go for a month next summer

Room Tip: The Inn is a remodeled super sounds of the seventies building so the floors creak a bit in the room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised! When we arrived, we were upgraded to a beautiful spacious room with 2 King beds and a spectacular view of the Ocean! The beds were comfy and the bathroom was huge and emmaculate! Though we didnt get an opportunity to use them, beach chairs and umbrellas were available for us to check out. We came to enjoy Legoland with the little ones but we will definitely come back with the older ones to lounge the beach and enjoy the surf!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wethepittmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I booked this room based on all the wonderful reviews it received and the reviews did not lie! This hotel was a great experience. My family and I stayed for two nights and were impressed the entire stay. We stayed in room 40 and even though it was advertised as a partial view room, we had a pretty darned good view. We thought the staff might be a little snotty since the place was so nice but they were SUPER nice and friendly, on every single shift!! The rooms are gorgeous and spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We spent as much time on the beach as the weather would allow and found a nice outlet mall once we ventured out and ate at Ruby's Diner once there. We got back late one night but parking was not a problem as there is an overflow parking lot a few yards away. I highly recommend The Beach Terrace Inn. I can't wait to go back next summer.

Room Tip: Room number 40 is a corner room on the second floor and it has a very nice (partial) view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElPasoSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Address: 2775 Ocean St, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $292 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Carlsbad's ONLY beachside hotel, the luxurious and delightfully private Beach Terrace Inn sits along the sandy coastline of Carlsbad State Beach. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to 70+ restaurants and entertainment venues within the charming Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while the famous sights of San Diego are a quick 30 minute drive south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing