We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in the west for all points in SoCal and LoCal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ramada Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Carlsbad
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the best in the west for all points in SoCal and LoCal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Really like this property, with a great pool, hot tub, bbq area and great breakfast included. Full kitchen in the two room suite was fantastic. Easy highway access and short drive to both San Diego and Orange County. Beach close. Laundry on site. Great staff and amenities. Lots to do within short drive or by rail. Superb farmers market in Leucadia. Moonlight Beach in Encinitas is amazing. Carlsbad State Beach is great. Fun place to be.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
First, let me start by saying thank you for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciated. Here at Ramada Carlsbad we strive to give every guest a great stay and we are happy to know that you had an enjoyable one. We are glad that our amenities such as our hot breakfast, heated pool and jacuzzi made your stay pleasurable. We hope to see you again soon and in case you do please feel free to contact me directly at 760.438.2285. Thank you so much, Jose Uribe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    176
    244
    199
    219
See reviews for
675
92
60
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is our second year coming to Carlsbad, and our second time staying at the Ramada. We were not disappointed...we are actually still here at the moment, set to check out tomorrow. Our room was extremely comfortable, super convenient to have a little kitchen given we had a 2 week stay (saved $ by eating many meals in). The grounds are spotless, there is always someone cleaing something, and the pool and gardens are stunning. Any request we had was fulfilled ASAP, from extra pillows to more dishsoap..no questions asked. our kids, ages 8 and 10, love the breakfast and making their own waffles, eggs and sausage. The beds are super-comfy !! The location is ideal, close enough to walk to the beach, but located in a residential area so very quiet. the freeway is close, and you do hear the cars, but I must say it really becomes background noise and hardly noticeable. We like to travel, and we have never come across a hotel that has been so well staffed with great people and so attentive to the needs of their guests. No, it is not a 5 star resort, but for a budget savy family traveller I don't think you could do better anywhere else in the Carlsbad area. We look forward to returning next year !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenilee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Its is so nice that you felt so good about us that you spent time reviewing us while you are still here at the hotel. You defiantely get what we are trying to accomplish here. A home away from home atmosphere and a staff that understands you have many choices and we appreciate you choosing us. Thanks again, Cris Vasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Ask for a room that either faces the courtyard or facing away from the noisy freeway.
If you value an exercise room, don't go there - shoddy equipment.
Great heated outdoor pool and hot tub.
Staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the timeout of your day to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed a few of the amenities that we offer. A kitchenette and free breakfast do come in handy when you travel. Here at Ramada Carlsbad we strive to give every traveller great accommodations. If you are ever in Carlsbad again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 760.438.2285
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

This hotel charges reasonable rates and the complimentary breakfast is the best I've ever had at any roadside motel. My wife and I have done many road trips in the USA, including several cross-country trips and this hotel's breakfast is the best we've had. Eggs, waffles, cereals, toast, yogurt, etc. etc. Plus, the breakfast buffet is actually staffed throughout the meal. So many motels just put out food and if things run out, so be it. The Ramada staff keeps things stocked until it ends at 10am.

I'm not sure what is the matter with people posting complaints. Is this place the Waldorf Astoria? No, but for a 2.5 star roadside accommodation, it's excellent. Is there freeway noise - sure - but let's remember this is a roadside hotel, people. The rooms are all comfortable suites, the pool and sauna are heated. The courtyard garden surrounding the pool is nicely landscaped with a waterfall and tropical plants.

It's the first hotel I've ever stayed in that had recycling bins next to the outside trash bins. The gift shop in the lobby stocks organic kids milks and Tom's of Maine toothpaste. It's definitely a notch or several above average. And a great value for families visiting Legoland or Carlsbad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElijahEmilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations while staying with us. We really try to stand out with our extensive free breakfast, free wifi and beautiful pool and spa. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you visit Carlsbad.

Again, thank you.
Jose Uribe
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at the Ramada for a week and would stay again no problem. It was our first family trip to the USA. Our room was clean and the staff was so friendly. The breakfast is perfect for a family with kids as it had everything from cereal to waffles. The pool was great and after all the walking we did each day it was so nice to just jump in the pool and relax. The only thing we would change was maybe a new hide a bed in the room we had. It was great for a 10 year old but it needs to be updated so that when it is a couch it is a little more inviting. I would still stay there again because the excellent staff and the clean room are more important than a couch that might be a bit past its prime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYoung06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Ramada Carlsbad. Our friendly staff love hearing your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our family suites areso well-suited for a family vacation. Remember the Ramada Carlsbad is pet-friendly so bring the family pet with you on your next visit!

Maureen Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel property is clean and well-kept with all the amenities you could need. A heated pool and a spa, free internet, and a really nice lobby with a little shop to buy things you need. The staff is friendly and helpful. When I asked the guy at the desk (Tim) about sporting goods stores in the area, he went into the back and came out with a paper of places he'd found online and printed for us. Good area, too -- just a short walk from the beach, and there is also a plaza with a grocery store just down the road.

Breakfast was complimentary, and probably among the best I've had in all of the hotels I've stayed at in California. One morning was sausage with biscuits and gravy, and another was cheese omelets and seasoned potatoes. Every morning there is also an assortment of bagels, pastries, yogurt, cereals, all sorts of beverages, fruit, and fresh waffles you can make yourself! It really made for something to look forward to in the morning.

The hotel itself was a relatively clean but seemed a bit old. We had a kitchenette with an oven, microwave, toaster, and refrigerator, and one of the knobs on the oven was missing, so we couldn't turn it on! The fire alarms also went off whenever we made anything. Also, the couch was incredibly uncomfortable. One big downside was that the air conditioning and heating did not work at all -- luckily the weather was pretty mild. However, all that aside, we had everything we needed in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
The Ramada Carlsbad staff is delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments concerning our Front Office Manager Tim. He loves to provide excellent service to our guests. Our hotel is a real value when you consider the the 1 and 2 bedroom full kitchen suites, free breakfast buffet for the family, and the pet-friendly environment. We look forward to having you return.

Maureen Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCook, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed there with the idea of traveling to San Diego sights as well as taking the kids to Disneyland. Breakfast was great, pool and hot tub were nice rooms were clean. As some of the reviews say there is freeway noise, but it's a constant noise so easy to sleep to. I'm a very light sleeper and it didn't bother me at all. Rates were fantastic we definately got good value from this room, and would recommend it to others. Very conveniently located off the interstate with plenty of restaurants nearby, also close to nice sandy beaches. The kids loved the beach even in Nov-Dec.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccooknb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager54, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Ramada Carlsbad. It is true we are centrally located and provide discounted tickets to not only Legoland but also the San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park. You can easily stay in one of our suites, have a free breakfast each morning, visit one of the amusement parks and then return to enjoy the beach walking distance from your sleeping room or just hang out by the pool. The pool is heated year round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Maureen Correia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
2.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Carlsbad

Property: Ramada Carlsbad
Address: 751 Macadamia Drive, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing