We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check In”
Review of Ramada Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Carlsbad
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Yorba Linda
1 review
“Check In”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My sis & I arrived around 11:30a asked if we could check in and were told rooms were not ready but come back in an hour. We came back in an hour and another person was at the desk & she said rooms aren't read. I told her we were told to come back in hour room would be ready. She had a bit of attitude " I don't know who told you that but blah blah blah" I told her previous gal told us. She then excussed herself, left the desk, then returned stating oh we have a rm available now. Well she put us in an outside rm facing parking lot & air conditioner that didn't work. I told clerk when we checked out about conditioner. Was not happy with rm location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience at check in. We want your stay to be pleasurable and I am sorry your stay started out rough. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us. All the best,Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    190
    252
    220
    242
See reviews for
734
96
61
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The rooms need to be updated. Room said it came with sofa sleeper, when we opened it, there was nothing but a half inch mat and all springs. We couldn't even use it, it was so horrible. Staff was great but room was not so great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOQUEL
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice place because all rooms are suites. A good way for a family to save money when vacationing by not eating out all the time.

Good pool area and jacuzzi.

Funky old sofa bed in living area, they need new ones. We stayed here last year and had a similar sofa bed. Not great...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate your business. It sounds like you had a great time. I hope to see you again. Best, Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNNYVALE
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Problems from very beginning included missing ice bucket, missing TV controller, broken AC unit in room. Took two days to get the controller for the second TV, and the broken AC unit was still broken when we left four days later. On day two our dirty linen was removed but only partially replaced, missing a set of towels and the Bath mat. These were replaced on day three.

Although the maintenance people did finally look at the AC after 3 calls, they agreed the fan bearing was probably the reason for the very loud noise and promised to replace the unit later in the day, but it never happened during our stay. As a result our room was very stuffy, you could not sleep in the room with the fan on, and we had no temperature control or fresh air during the entire stay.

We would also recommend you consider power washing all the concrete walkways in the building and sealing them as they are very dirty. Having to deal with the humid marine layer in the area is always an issue, but cleaning the walkways is a must if you want your hotel to appear clean and kept up.

Will give you a big plus for the pool. Very good size and is kept nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. Its reviews like yours that we take seriously. We have began power washing the outdoor areas and just this week purchased new AC units for the room you stayed in. I appreciate the time you spent to review us and I am sorry we feel short of your expectations. Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2012

To the point:
The hotel room was VERY musty. They tried to use a deodorizer but the room was terribly old...and it smelled that way. In the bedroom, I had to empty air conditioning reservoir in the middle of the night. When full, it beeped loudly, thus, interrupting sleep. The refrigerator, though set to a medium setting, froze all my fruits and vegetables. The name Carlsbad Ramada "By The Sea" is most misleading as my front door was less that 100 yards to Interstate 5, NOT the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very old, needs update soooo bad! Our room is not so clean, very dusty curtains & the bathroom sink doesn't drain very well, tissue holder is somewhat falling off. The sofa & the bed sheets are itchy, i think the room has been empty for awhile & was not propery clean. The air conditioning is poor, breakfast however is ok esp the waffles. Overall the price is not worth it !!! Too old , needs a makeover ^.^

Room Tip: There are better place out there to spend almost $200 per night on 1 bedroom 2 double bed than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We are in the midst of updating the hotel. We recently added new carpeting throughout the hotel and new TV's. Our next project is sofas. Thank you for reviewing us. Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN LEANDRO
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We love it close to lego land and outlet mall. complement breakfast and swimming pools. We have been there for couple times, but it seems like the hotel need some update, specialy electrical breaker was tripped one per night to us, the portable AC need to replace. Bathroom shower head and floucet need update. Breakfast getting less choices than before.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see you come back year after year to stay with us. I wanted to point out that this year alone we have put a lot of money into updating the hotel. The entire hotel has new carpet and every room has a new flat screen TV. Keeping in mind that are rooms are larger than most hotels and one room can have up to 3 TV's. We are planning to replace all of the sofa bed next. I appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. All the best, Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#27 of 36 in Carlsbad
349 reviews
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Carlsbad

Property: Ramada Carlsbad
Address: 751 Macadamia Dr, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing