We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week at Ramada by the Sea Carlsbad”
Review of Ramada Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Carlsbad
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Week at Ramada by the Sea Carlsbad”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

After doing a lot of research, I chose the Ramada for a seven-night stay in the San Diego area. It was a GREAT choice! (We attended an area event with others who stayed in several other hotels, and the consensus was that the Ramada was the best choice- for friendliness, cleanliness, bright breakfast area, delicious coffee, nicest pool area, full kitchen, and good rates.)

First of all, the people who work at the hotel were, without exception, extraordinarily helpful and kind (from those working at the front desk to the housekeeping staff and the people working in the breakfast room). That can-do attitude and eagerness to be of service made staying there a pleasure. They happily provided dishes and pots for the kitchen, extra blankets and pillows, towels for the pool, and directions to places we wanted to visit in the area. (We did not have a car and were delighted to discover a small shopping center with a nice grocery store within walking distance as well as the "Coaster" to San Diego and the park on the beach.)

The breakfast room is bright and sunny with a view of a pretty garden, the pool, and hot tub, and it was always well stocked and clean. We had a handicap accessible room, which included a comfortable queen-size bed and a queen-size sofa bed (where I slept better than I had imagined -the extra pillows helped) and a full kitchen (stove, full-size refrigerator, dining area, and sink). There were two separate rooms in the suite, each with its own television and heater/ air conditioner. I was surprised at how thoroughly the housekeeping staff cleaned our room every day.

While the Ramada is not the fanciest, most modern motel, it is exceptionally well cared for and is managed with a human touch that, for me, matters more than the glitz of some more expensive places to stay. I would happily spend another week there and would look forward to picnic lunches by the pool, evening time relaxing in the hot tub, an early morning stroll past bright flowers and trees to the sunny breakfast room, and to greeting the friendly staff again. Thank you to all who made our stay so great!

Room Tip: The highway can be noisy (turning on the fan helps to create "white noise"), but it helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunfl0werVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. I really appreciate your business. We are having our employee holiday party this week and I will be sharing the kind words you had to say about the hotel and staff. Happy Holidays! Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    182
    248
    205
    234
See reviews for
703
93
60
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had a great experience during my stay. The staff were friendly. The rooms were clean and had enough space.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDSFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future. As a side note, we have finished the installation of all flat screen TV's throughout the hotel and we are currently installing new carpet throughout. Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I booked a "suite" and arrived to find a tiny, outdated and plain motel-6 style room with a mini-kitchenette crammed into a corner. Their price had been on par with the nearby Hyatt's special rate. But I believed their pretty website and the word "Suite" in the reservation. When I went back down to the front desk as soon as I saw the itty-bitty ugly room, it was very hard to gain the attention of the two teenaged boys running things. They found the whole thing funny. Especially the part where I pointed out that a smallish double bed in a single little room does not equate to a King size deluxe suite.They ended up allowing me to "purchase an upgrade" which I had little choice but to do as it was a bit late to find other arrangements by then. Horrible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodibird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Hello, Thank you for your review. It is not our policy to "bait and switch" any of our guests. This is not an effective way to build a loyal customer base. It seems as though you may have booked a studio unit. If so, the desk was following procedures to up sell suites. If you indeed booked a suite to begin with, and then we charged you extra to put you in a suite, I will refund one night of your stay. I do not think this was the case, but if so, please call and I will take care of that for you.
Best, Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have been frequenting Carlsbad Ramada Inn for many years as I was able to find reasonable pricing for many stays so as to conduct business. The suites are clean and comfortable. Management has always been freindly and helpful. When I drive the hotel is less than a half a mile off exist. The site is close to the metro coaster which makes getting there a convience when I decide to take public transportation. Also stores and banking are in walking distance. This hotel is also walking to distance to the beach. I feel this is a wonderful location for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The convience of having two rooms is great and I have stayed on all sides of the hotel and they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socorro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best,
Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Was very satisfied with our stay at Ramada Carlsbad by the Sea. Checking in and out was a breeze. The breakfast was to the children's liking. Simple, fast and easy so we were in and out and on our way to adventure! We had a 2 bedroom suite for 3 adults and 3 children (6, 7, 11). Very roomy and clean. Our only regret was that it was too cold to make use of the swimming pool (kids remark).

Room Tip: We were situated on the ground floor next to the freeway, but didn't hear much of the noise unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
These are very nice compliments coming from someone that lives in beautiful Hawaii! Just to let you know, all rooms have flat screen TV's now and we are in the process of installing new carpet throughout. Thank you very much for your business! Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I bid for this hotel on priceline and the four of us include two developmentally disabled adults are due to stay there from 10/9/2011 to checkout 10/11/11. When I called to request 2 beds or sofa bed/plus bed in the room as it is difficult for us to share a queen bed, I was told I would have to pay additional amount of 25 dollars each for upgrade. I understand it is the hotel policy. However, I have bid many times on priceline and all the other hotels were willing to accommodate 2 beds in the room at the same price. Just to let people know!
Here's hoping the rest of the actual stay will be great!!

Room Tip: just be aware that other priceline hotel bids are more flexible with number of bed bed options witho...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kims65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
First of I want to Thank you for your business. One thing I wanted to point out is that Priceline rates are rock bottom rates and are larger rooms have multiple bedrooms and a living room. It is hard for us to make any money at all if we sell the bigger rooms at that price. Please call me next time and I will make sure you get a great deal. Also, We are installing flat screen TV's in all rooms right now and in Nov. we will install new carpet throughout the hotel. All the best, Cris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was able to get a 2 night stay plus a trip to Legoland for a gteat price! I will definitely will be using this service for my next trip. Thank you very much. My man and I had a blast!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGIEB1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Ramada Carlsbad, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We actually sell quite a bit of park tickets and our hotel is very family and pet friendly. Best,
Cris Vasquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#28 of 36 in Carlsbad
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
2.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Carlsbad

Property: Ramada Carlsbad
Address: 751 Macadamia Dr, Poinsettia exit off I-5, Carlsbad, CA 92011-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Carlsbad By The Sea Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing