We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five nights in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Five nights in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

I got a two bedroom suite for five nights for a corporate meeting, The meeting was held at another resort, about a ten minute drive away. This HS venue had ample parking, clean rooms, wireless internet, a great pool and a very friendly staff. While I did not take advantage of the food/beverages, I did walk by one late afternoon and was envious that I wasn't eating there instead of going out to dinner at a nearby restaurant. Would I stay here again? Yes. I got the two bedroom suite because I split the room with another business associate and we both agree it was excellent.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — noisy neighbor upstairs (issue resolved with a call to the front desk)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CSBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    248
    71
    26
    25
See reviews for
667
97
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Upon arrival I was very impressed! The lobby is very simple, but very clean and neatly decorated. The staff was immediately attentive and we had a speedy and easy check in. I was impressed that there was a little office that offered FREE internet (there were 2 terminals). In addition this hotel offered laundry facilties. There were only 2 washers and 2 dryers (the washers were slow and did not clean as well as newer ones, but it did the job). The cost was $1.50 to wash and the same to dry. We had the 2 bedroom suite (that we shared with the couple we were traveling with). The rooms were equally big and they both had flat panel tv screens with its own bathroom. There was also another flat screen in the shared living room. There was fridge and table and all the necessities you would need. Everything was very clean and tidy. The shampoos/conditioner were Neutrogena brand and the shower was roomy and clean. I was very impressed with the overall value that we got. There was FREE breakfast everyday with your basics. The only minor issues we had was a very unfriendly family that thought they owned all the seating area (it was crowded). The best thing to do is get your food and go back to your room so you can avoid the sometimes rude people that thing the buffet was made especially for them. In addtion, there were people that came down in their pajamas that were "not very tasteful"... Other than that the hotel was awesome and I would really recommend. There was a Steak/Seafood place we ate at called KoKo Beach...it was really great! We had the King Crab w/Prime Rib. It was a really good choice (just a tip if you are looking for somewhere to have a good dinner). There was ample parking at the hotel and close enough to everything you need. A definite for families...oh yes and dogs are allowed! I was happy to see a cute puppy outside near the pool...I always love pet friendly hotels. :) Happy Vacation!

  • Liked — The amenities the hotel provided at no additional cost and the free offered breakfast.
  • Disliked — The eating area needs better control.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littledumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

My family and I stayed there for a week, the 17th-24th of Sept., let me say that this hotel is tremendous.

We got a two bedroom suite (we are a family of 6) and we were so pleased. The two bedroom suite has three flat screen LCD TVs, two King beds and a pull out couch. The cleanliness of the room was excellent (I am a germophobe) there were no tell tale hairs or crumbs. It was spotless. Everyday the housekeeping staff would not only clean the room but also kindly arrange my childrens' toys in cute ways. They kept the room spotless for us (even after we dragged sand into it from our trips to the beaches).

The service was perfect, they did everything that they could to help with any request that we had. My wife wanted to do some laundry and they had no problem in giving her $10 worth of quarters. I know its a small thing but if you have had to do laundry before you know how hard it is to get a load of quarters. It was so refreshing that they did not give us a hard time. One thing to note though, the dryers don't work very well, so don't use them unless its an emergency.

They also provide a free breakfast and a free evening meal. The eating/dining area was spotless and clean. they had their chefs standing out and attending to the buffet throughout both the evening and breakfast service. For example there was always an attendant out there cleaning up the waffle irons (for those people who have not yet mastered the art of using the breakfast waffle iron). The evening meals were also very good, they were not fancy, but they were good, in fact we saved so much money as we would come home from Legoland or the beach and my family of 6 would eat a satisfying meal for free.

the pool area is small this is true, but they keep it clean and uncluttered. The water is always treated and clear and there are no piles of wayward towels decorating the pool furniture.

I cannot rave enough about this hotel. I would recommend it over and over. It is an awesome hotel for families.

  • Liked — Everything, service, cleanliness, rooms, EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Peninsula, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Is this place good or great? Depends on what you value.

The rooms are very, very well appointed, the beds are nice, the breakfast buffet very good. Flat-panel TVs with S-Video inputs you can plug a laptop or portable DVD player into. So if all your hotel time is going to be in the room, it gets five bullets.

The pool is small, the fitness center limited (two treadmills and an elliptical machine), the location is snugged between a WaMu and a self-storage place across the street from the airport and not walking distance from anything else, rooms that face the pool get big noise from kids playing in the pool, and when you're laying in bed the HVAC vents dump right in your face like a snowblower even when fully closed (bring duct tape.) So the rest of the experience gets only three.

I compromised and rated it four bullets.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 5 and 9) stayed at Homewood Suites in Carlsbad for 6 nights at the end of Aug 2008. We loved our room, as well as the morning breakfeast buffets and dinner receptions (Mon-Thurs). The hotel is new-about 6 months old. Althoug the pool was not very big, my kids enjoyed it. We chose the hotel because it was very close to Legoland and the Carlsbad premium outlets. The excercise room was great, all machines had TV monitor attached. The other reviews mentioned noise due to the thin walls but we did not experience any noise and the hotel was at full capacity when we stayed. We have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Liked — hotel was new
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BayAreaResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NV
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

Our family chose this Homewood Suites location because of its proximity to Legoland. It is indeed very close to the theme park -- but not much else. Grocery stores, dining options and even gas stations are few and far between in this neck of the woods! On the plus side, we didn't hear any noise from the airport located directly across the street, except for when we were enjoying time outside by the pool (which was not a big deal).

We were very impressed with our room (317). The property still looks (and even still smells) brand new, and everything was very clean, including the carpets. The in-room kitchen was well-stocked with cooking/dining utensils. Overall, that aspect of our stay was terrific.

Our biggest complaint: The dining area downstairs (where breakfast is served daily, and coffee/tea/water are SUPPOSED to be available around the clock) was nothing short of a disaster. Granted, we stayed over a weekend when the hotel was jam-packed with families, so we expected to find large crowds each morning for breakfast. What we encountered was more of a traffic jam. There was no seating to be had between 8:30 and 9:30 each morning. What's worse: We counted at least three attendants who were supposed to be manning the dining area and food stations, yet somehow the warming bins, breads, cereal and milk dispensers were continually empty of food -- and no one was in any hurry to replace it. It's probably just as well, as the food selection and taste was mediocre at best: crumbly, dry potatoes, rubbery eggs, sludgy oatmeal and hardly any fruit to be had.

Twice I went downstairs in the evening to get a cup of coffee. The first night it tasted burnt. The second night, it was barely warm. Also on the second night, I went to get a glass of chilled water from the dispenser that's also kept in the area. It was empty -- as it had been the evening before, and was when I had re-entered the hotel earlier in the afternoon. This clear glass container is in direct sight of the front desk, so you'd assume one of the attendants would see that it had been empty for hours and done something about it. Alas, they did not. I ended up having to buy a $2 bottle of water from the vending machine on our floor.

I find it upsetting that Hilton boasts about these "free extras" when promoting their properties, but doesn't do much to maintain them so guests can actual partake in them.

A couple of other issues: Only a few of the hotel employees actually greeted us with a "hello" as we passed in the hallways. The selection of channels on the television is abysmal. Also, as a gold Hilton Honors member, we were supposed to have our "Zip" checkout receipt delivered under our door the last night of our stay. It never arrived and we had to check out at the front desk anyway.

Overall, our room experience was wonderful and I would recommend the property to others, with the warning not to expect much service-wise.

  • Liked — Convenience to Legoland
  • Disliked — Lackluster service, slow elevators, mediocre food/selection
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValleyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed here with family for 5 nights during the month of August. GREAT place. Reservation made through Expedia was not processed correctly at Homewood Suites. Expedia was to blame, but Nathan quickly fixed problem. Stayed in 2 rooms connected by adjoining door. LOTS of room for a total of 2 adults/3 kids. Pool is small, but most people were not around during afternoon. Nice patio/pool area with tables, chairs, ping-pong table. Large reception area to lounge around, talk, eat, hang out. Free breakfast every morning. Plenty of choices for everyone. Manager's reception dinner served Monday-Thursday. Staff is very friendly. TOTALLY prefer to stay here. Better deal, bigger rooms, and more for your money.

  • Liked — Kitchen, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Laundry facilities always busy, 1 dryer was not working.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_villaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing