We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure What They Put in the Water...?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Sure What They Put in the Water...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not sure what they are putting in the water for the employees of Homewood Suites in Carlsbad but Hilton should bottle it and have employees at all their properties drink it. Their customer service is consistently fantastic...from all employees. Friendly, results oriented and attentive. I was a bit worried about the location beside the airport but it isn't an issue at all. This is a highly recommend if you will be in the area for business or pleasure, with kids or without.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for your kind review. We stride to be the best when it comes to service in the area and we glad you were able to experiance that level that we shoot for. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    248
    71
    26
    25
See reviews for
666
97
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really wonderful place to stay close to Pendleton and downtown San Diego. Very helpful staff, quiet and clean room! Homewood Suites is my favorite brand of hotel to use while traveling in the continental US. Very much appreciate the efficiency and effectiveness of their accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Many of our guests are visiting Camp Pendleton, and we are glad you were one of them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Clean, friendly staff,comfortable room. Will stay again next time that we are in the area. The only complaint is that the breakfast could be improved on. The scrambled eggs tasted as if they were out of a can and a tad dry. Otherwise no complaints. Good location across McClellan airport. Pet Friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belmarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are always looking to make your experience better. I will be sure to take a look into what we can do to enhance our breakfast experience for everyone. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've already reviewed this place twice, and there isn't much more to say about it. Some of the issues we faced in my previous review didn't seem to be a problem, and while I didn't think it was fair this time to give a 4 on the scale, but 5 is too high. There was one thing that really bothered me about out stay:

Internet access: I appreciate that the internet access, both wired and wireless is free. However, at times the speed of the service was slow, or would cut out entirely for brief periods. I primarily used the wired option hooked up to my own wireless router to avoid multiple logins on multiple devices, and thought that would be a solution to weak wifi signals. I would appreciate an upgrade of the hotel's internet infrastructure, as that was an issue at our last stay, but I didn't mention it in my review.

Otherwise, the normal things were done right and well. Room was kept clean by housekeeping. Staff are friendly. Food won't win any awards, but is edible and well stocked. The wine and beer provided Monday-Thursday nights during the dinner hours were nice touches.

We will stay here again on our next SoCal adventure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkjck5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are happy to know you continue to come back to stay with us. We are always working towards providing a more enjoyable stay each time you visit. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location to go around Carlsbad / lego land / SanDiego zoo / beach...
Great room as we had a 2 rooms suite with the kids, the pool is just right for the kids.
The breakfasts and evening receptions are very convinient and good quality.
But the best was the overall team / staff all very nice and helpfull, they made our stay very enjoyable and TOM the manager was making sure all was fine.

Room Tip: There are plenty of different access doors so park next to the one that is the most convinient to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
J-P D, It was great to meet you and your family. The staff and I look forward to seeing you all again in the future!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
304 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Actually, in the big picture of running a hotel - these folks have it right, and could easily instruct those who don't (often, much pricier places).
What they should never change -staff, cleanliness, family-friendly attitude, and willingness to go the extra mile (I was in the Business Center trying to open a .pdf file with our Legoland tickets, and the virus program in there simply would not let me open it; the desk clerk simply had me email it to her from my phone and voila! Outstanding!)
About the building - large, with nicely appointed suites, great appliances, and a small, but functional table to dine, or use as a work area. The elevator is not unusually fast ... but neither is it unusually slow.
What I would like to see improved: one of our remote controls had dead batteries. It's a small thing, but kids depend on those. Of course, it was no big deal, and I'm sure they would have taken care of it immediately if we had said something, but we didn't. Our only time in the room was spent unwinding/sleeping. Other posters have mentioned the motion-sensitive light switches: they are irritating, but I can certainly see the need - and the savings they can create for the hotel. Final answer- they're acceptable.
Finally, the shuttle service. BRAVO! Timely, friendly, and an incredible option, rather than paying to park at Legoland.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back - no airport noise at all. Seems like a quiet area overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the shuttle service during your stay. We feel that is a great way to save money instead of parking at LEGO Land also. Hope to see you back again soon!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I joined my family for a 3 day stay at the Homewood Suites and found it to be quite pleasant. I stay regularly in Hampton Inns for business, also from the Hilton chain, and found this Homewood Suites to be a better choice for families in terms of value and amenities.

Staff at this property are very friendly, helpful and do a few small things that make your day a little better. The suite is quite comfortable, and spacious enough for a small family. The full sized refridgerator and small kitchenette make it ideal for anyone who self caters or for some basic food preparation. The room had flat screen TVs in both the living area and bedroom and there were a large range of cable TV channels. The washroom had the tub and toilet contained in a small room with a sink outside. Shower pressure was good and the water temperature consistent. Basic toiletries from Neutrogena and Bath and Body Works were provided.

The free breakfast is typical of most 2.5 star hotels... not a lot of customizable choices but full of easy foods such as cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, oatmeal and a few hot offerings. The breakfast room is quite large and able to accommodate groups easily. The gym is small but should offer a basic workout for those looking for some basic cardio and weights. The pool and hot tub were used daily by my family. The laundry room seemed well used by guests and full loads could be washed and dried for $3 total.

I have only a few issues with the hotel. The signal of the free Wi-Fi regularly cut out on me in both the morning and evening. The washroom fogged up very easily, even with the fan on. And the sofabed that I slept on had seen better days. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the sofa itself was caving into the centre when you sat on it regularly.

Stay at this hotel only if you have a vehicle, as you'll need it to visit local sites, attractions, shopping and restaurants. The hotel is very close to LEGOLAND. The shopping outlets are a 10 minute drive away, as are most restaurants, etc. With a vehicle, you can explore the area quite well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank game_misconduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for being loyal to the Hilton family of hotels during your travels!!! We are happy that you were able to enjoy all our amenities during your stay. Please be sure to ask about our shuttle service during your next stay as we can help transport you to the beach, shopping outlets, LEGO LAND and many other locations. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.4 mi away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2223 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 145 all-suite extended stay Hilton hotel in Carlsbad, California where life and work are balanced with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you want. Homewood Suites Carlsbad is centrally located near the extensive Carlsbad business parks and the city's landmark attractions, including LEGOLAND, McClellan-Palomar Airport (CLD), Camp Pendleton, Carlsbad Premium Outlets, Carlsbad Flower Fields and amazing beaches. With easy access to the freeway, the Homewood Suites Carlsbad hotel is just a few miles from other famous San Diego destinations such as the Wild Animal Park, SeaWorld, Del Mar Racetrack and fabulous golf courses. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Orange County, making it an ideal home base for a Southern California vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Homewood Carlsbad
Carlsbad Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing