We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$288
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$179
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$189
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
$325
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,170 results
Traveler rating
749
279
81
29
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
279
81
29
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionfree dinnerbeer and winemon thursbreakfast and dinnerping pong tablefull size fridgeliving areadaily breakfastpalomar airporthot breakfastseparate bedroomgreat place to staysofa bedhome away from homecomplimentary shuttlegreat for families
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,170 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had another great stay at the Homewood Suites in October. The hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly. We had also stayed over the summer and had a great time as well (we are from Arizona and try to come a couple times a year). It is a great place to stay with kids, with the large rooms, in-room kitchens and the nice dinners and breakfast. We were particularly impressed with Bryson, the night manager, who always greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Excited to hear that you have made this your getaway. Hope to see you in the summer to beat the Arizona heat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Homewood Suite's motto is that they want you to feel at home. They really succeeded. We were visiting family for 6 days over Christmas. I wasn't looking forward to spending the holiday in a hotel, but the one-bedroom suite was extremely comfortable. I really wanted a kitchenette, even though we never cooked in the end (although we did boil water).

We only partook of the weeknight dinner once, and that was Christmas evening, where they served a turkey dinner. I'm used to being served a glass of wine and maybe some popcorn in extended-stay hotels, but not a full meal. Our son commented that having all the children around made it feel more like Christmas.

One caution is the kitchenette has a hard floor (looks like wood, but I'm not sure it is). One day we ate breakfast in our room about 8:30 a.m. and then loaded the dishwasher. The front desk called to say that there was a complaint about too much noise in our room. Not much we could do about that, other than stay out of the kitchen.

I was also very impressed about the rate we got for the room. I haven't seen that same rate for Homewood Suites in other areas.

Even though it is across the street from the Carlsbad airport, the hotel is very quiet. Yes, we would have liked to be able to walk to places from the hotel, but all in all, the place makes for a great stay.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise from other rooms, stay on the top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are extreamly happy that we made you feel as if you were at home during your stay with us. We hope to have the oppertunity to host you again in the future!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed in one of the one-bedroom suites for four nights on our vacation to Legoland & Safari park. It was great for us, quiet, clean, comfortable. The breakfast buffet was better than average, and saved us a lot of time and money each morning.

My only complaint was that the light switches are motion sensors and the light kept turning on when our kids rolled over in bed. But the next morning I complained and they immediately fixed it.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly F, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Homewood Suites in Carlsbad this past weekend on a quick trip to San Diego. We were travelling both for work and relaxation with our 2 month old baby. We usually book hotels on Hotwire or Expedia but my husband wanted to try Homewood Suites based on a recommendation he'd gotten from a friend. Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel with very few cons.

The good:

- 2 room suites, great if you're travelling with children. Ours was a 1-bedroom but I think they have 2-bedroom ones available if you have a larger group. The room isn't huge, probably the size of a large normal hotel room, just split into two quadrants. But it was plenty big enough for us, even setting up the playpen for our daughter to sleep in. We appreciated having the two rooms as we were able to put her down for the night in the main/lounge area at 9 and not worry about making too much noise or having lots of lights on.
- Full (but small) kitchen. Full-size fridge, a mini glass top range with two burners, a dishwasher, microwave, and cabinets stocked with plates/bowls/utensils and cooking equipment. We were lazy about loading the dishwasher and the maid did it for us. Super convenient even if you're just bringing home leftovers or eating pizza in the room (we did both).
- Free breakfast and dinner (Mon-Thurs only). For the cost of the room, it's nice to have these extra amenities - not a usual occurrence with a Hilton brand. We had dinner just one night, on Thursday, and it was pretty eh, but free is free, and it would be great for parents with older kids. Breakfast was a big step up from the continental spread I was expecting, with hot food choices like pancakes, French toast sticks, eggs, potatoes, ham, as well as the staples like cold pastries, cereal, waffle makers, and fruit. It was really enjoyable. Other amenities include free parking (again, unusual for Hilton) and free Wi-Fi.
- Great location. We weren't travelling for any big outings, but if you're planning a trip to Lego Land this hotel is in a great spot. I'd also recommend it if you're planning on Sea World, too...it's about a 25 minute drive south, but it's close enough, and way more cost effective. If you want to stay closer to Sea World/Downtown SD, you're going to be paying much more, without the amenities that this hotel offers. It's worth the gas and the drive time down there.

The bad:

- My only real complaint about this hotel is that our room was weirdly very warm/stuffy the whole time. We travelled on a rainy weekend in late January, with outdoor temps between 55-60 degrees, so I could not figure out why the room was always so stuffy. We kept the windows open but that didn't help...with the A/C on, we were freezing. The ceiling fan in the bedroom helped a lot, but the lounge area stayed pretty warm.
- Airport nearby, can get loud. The Palomar Airport is right across the street, so you will get noise from planes taking off and landing throughout the day. There is, I believe, an ordinance which restricts flying at night as the airport is in a relatively residential area, but come 7 am, it can get pretty loud. The hotel is also on a very busy street, we were on the west side of the building, but still heard a lot of traffic noise. This won't be an issue if you keep the windows closed, but the room was so warm, I just lived with it.

All in all, a great deal for families and business travellers. If you're looking for something quiet and romantic, I'd pass and head closer to Oceanside or SD (but expect to pay much more).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel to try and cut down on traffic noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good location. Checking in was easy and recpetionist was very personable & noted we had stayed there before. Room was spacious although the bathroom could use some modernization. Very comfortable and clean. As we were meeting friends for breakfast, did not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews