We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

On our annual trip to Legoland I recently stayed here with two kids for three nights occupying a room with double queen beds. The hotel is relatively new at about a year and a half old and everything about this hotel is in excellent condition. The whole hotel is spotless. For this class of hotel our room was beautifully designed and decorated, spacious and well organized. Though it is across the street from the Palomar Airport, we rarely heard any noise from the planes. The breakfast (continental plus two hot items such as eggs and sausage) was regularly replenished and was just about right for what we needed. The downside to this location is that it is several miles inland and you have to drive to any stores or restaurants. Palomar Airport road is a fast throughfare though and we got out to Legoland in less than 10 minutes. Homewood Suites, also part of the Hilton brand is right next door. I have stayed at a number of places in Carlsbad over the years (Inns of America Suites, Hilton Garden Inn, Holiday Inn), and just might be my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodShores305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    214
    62
    19
    17
See reviews for
312
87
39
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I can't add a lot that hasn't already been said but everyone is looking for different things when they travel, I'll hit on our priorities. We were visiting military family at Pendelton and stayed at the Hampton for 4 nights....Clean, Quiet, Fantastic Breakfast (better than mine at home) and the location is perfect for either trips South to San Diego or North to Pendelton.. The beds and pillows were very comfy, HVAC system worked well, bathroom small but clean. They have a free computer in the lobby which was nice for checking email and printing our boarding passes for our home flight. We had booked this motel about a month ahead and then two days before our trip I checked on line and the price was reduced. Called the motel direct and they lowered our price. ALWAYS check last minute prices. I've done this several times and it pays.....Another nice feature is their "shop" area where you can buy everything from bottled water to small food items to be heated in the microwave. Very handy. All in all a super place to stay...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjmema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

If you planned a trip around Legoland as we did, the Hampton is a nice option. Note that Homewood Suites is across the street so if the family needs more room that may be even better (the properties look similar from the outside and share a parking lot).

Pros:
5-10 min drive to Legoland
Nice clean and new rooms, with a good-sized work desk and complimentary internet
Complimentary breakfast

Cons:
Not much - location is in an office park setting so if you were hoping for the beach town ambiance of old Carlsbad this is not the place

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Nice and friendly staff, room are clean and bed are comfortable. We choose this hotel because it is close to Legoland. Breaksfast was good for us but dinner is a challenge, don't forget to bring your snacks, there is not restaurant in the hotel, they have a close restaurant " Palomar" that deliver pasta & pizza, we decide to take the car to a close restaurant. My 3 year old boy and my 10 daughter wanted to go to the pool but the pool is so small and in a open space close to the parking lot that is better to say that the hotel does not have pool.
I recommend the hotel, it an excellent choice on it price range.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Octaviosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

What can you say about the Hampton Inn, but consistent and always a good value. This Hampton is no exception. It is in a great location with no traffic noise. Very close to Legoland and Carlsbad. Free breakfast, parking and use of laundry... overall just great. If you like to shop, go to the outlet stores just off I-5 in Carlsbad, plus there are some good restaurants in that area too. Karl Strauss micro brewery was great too. Hint: Legoland is geared for younger kids (8 or younger) and opens late and closes early (10-6).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at this location over te Easter weekend. Like other Hampton Inn's this was worth the money. It was very clean & the staff was very courteous. The breakfast was ok. It seemed to be less than other Hampton Inns I've stayed at before, maybe its becasue the breakfast area is larger & the selection is more spread out.

The only problem I had was there was a group down the hall that occupied 4 rooms across from eachother, so they would walk & talk back & forth with the doors open. This was quite annoying. The rooms were very clean & well stocked with towls.

I asked the front deck for any recommendations for family activities. They suggested Legoland Sealife. This is only good for a few hours. This is by no means a full day event like Legoland, but the admissions was a good price.

The location isnt ideal, so be willing to drive a bit to get anywhere including food.
Aside from that it was a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d72v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Pasadena
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Hampton Inn is an excellent value and a brand I look for whether traveling for business or vacationing with family. This is a brand new facility so everything from the rooms to the fitness center were in perfect condition. The staff was very friendly and courteous. If there is one thing to be mentioned, it is that the hotel is located across the street from a small airport where the noise bothered me only once. Also, this hotel is not by the beaches, which are just a few miles away, but imbedded around the office parks along Palomar Airport Road. Carlsbad is a small town no matter where you are. You can't go wrong if you are looking for great value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mml632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
3.1 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing