We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Indio, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“paper thin walls”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always appreciate hampton inns. I feel the beds and rooms are generally clean. The breakfasts are a conveience .

This particular propertly had noisy rooms i could hear the stairway door open close and slam all night. I could hear fellow guest sneezing in other rooms.

THe pool was stated as being heated. Looking forward to a dip on the night we arrived it was cold merky and dirty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    212
    58
    19
    15
See reviews for
300
87
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hampton Inn at Carlsbad is right across from the Palomar airport. Maybe that explains why it is so busy. The location is a bit out of the way, along Palomar Airport Drive, a rather busy multi-lane "highway" that connects I-5 to residential sprawl and business parks-Another reason for it popularity? Or is it LegoLand, wherever that may be?

The hotel is nice enough with good service, free breakfast, fitness center, pool, and clean rooms- Hampton all the way. But location-wise it is not ideal for tourists. It is far from downtown and the beaches. Nevertheless it appears very busy with lots of families and kids.

There is nothing to walk to either and the road is neither bike nor pedestrian friendly, with three lanes of speeding SUV's and souped-up trucks. There were a lot of joggers and even some cyclists but perhaps that says more about the sorry state of cycling and running in SoCal than anything else. The weather may be good, but the never ending sprawl and aggressive driving more than offset that.

For those who prefer indoor exercise there is a huge 24 hr fitness nearby and another similar outfit on El Camino around the corner. Why settle for outdoor air if you can enjoy air-conditioning?

Before I forget, room service was only so-so. One day we left at 6 AM and when we returned at 1PM the room still hadn't been cleaned.

Room Tip: Ask about the room service schedule. Clearly they are understaffed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The internet connectivity was the worse I've ever seen in a hotel. My phone was 100x faster without using the hotel internet. Speedtest.net numbers were 0.08Mbps download with a ping of 1360ms - these are really horrible numbers. Plain text pages were slow. Graphics on the page were very slow to load and videos were completely unusable. A typical internet page took 30 seconds to load. This wasn't just a WiFi issue either because my WiFi connection had 5 bars of signal strength. Something in their infrastructure just makes the internet connection run very, very unusably slow. If you want a decent internet connection, pick a different hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 107JohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberts, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

room and bathroom very clean and new furnishing; USB charger in the room; Internet available but not very fast; good breakfast with enough selection for my kids who are the picky ones; short drive to Legoland under 4 miles; check in fast and efficient; I would definitely stay again if I need to travel in that area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I travel to a lot of out of the way places that necessitates staying at less than 5 start hotels. Over the years we have stayed at numerous Hampton Inns with nothing but favorable results. We look at Hampton Inn as the McDonalds of the hotel chains. Nothing spectacular but always consistent.

That was until we stayed at the Carlsbad Hampton Inn near the airport. It started with the noisiest
ice machine ever made located across the hall from our room. It then degraded with noise from the next floor up that finally compelled us to call management to get it under control.

Then at 4:30 AM we were awaken yet again by noise coming from that floor. I don't know if is inferior construction or what but we bailed on the reservation for the next night and found another place to stay.

The breakfast was awful. The oatmeal was runny, they were out of numerous items at 8:45 AM and over all a miserable experience.

We will stay at Hampton Inns in the future...just not this one.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usmc63m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here on my own for 3 nights in January 2013. I took a ground floor, double bed room not far from the main entrance. My comments below:

PROS
- Good people at the front desk
- Clean, simple rooms
- Remodeled bathrooms
- Room cleaning service was good
- Nice complimentary breakfast
- Fresh cookies at the checkin counter
- Excellent value considering the low price

CONS
- Can't think of any

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel was very clean and modern. Bed was very comfortable and the room had everything you would need for a single business traveler. Internet was kind of slow but overall things were great. The breakfast bar was very well stocked and had good, wholesome selections. The fitness room had good basic and clean machines and a weight rack. Pool and Jacuzzi are small, but clean.

Room Tip: End of the hall away from the front desk is near the pool and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattSchmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
3.3 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing