We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The staff was friendly but the location was awkward ... the room was pretty basic and bare bones. Overall I was satisfied but not over the top thrilled ..for the price you cant beat it,but i wish it felt a little more luxurious ..

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayinrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 637 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. I couldn't tell if my room was completely cleaned from the last guest that stayed. It seemed a little stale. I think they need to do a "spring cleaning"...other than that it was pleasant...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsnavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and also appreciate your comments. We are here to make sure that all our guest enjoyes their stay and we are on our way to "Spring Cleaning.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Illa Joshi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed overnight at this hotel while my house was being renovated. The hotel was very clean as all Hampton Inns are and the bathroom was a fair size but the room (2 queen beds) was samll. Also the breakfast was disappointing, it had basic choices but not like some other Hamptons I have stayed at.

If you don't have a car you're out of luck because this hotel is on a 6 lane hwy across from Palomar Airport in a business district with no eateries or stores within walking distance. It is just a few miles from Legoland and the ocean but would not recommend staying at this hotel with kids as no where to go except the hotel room. The hotel shares a parking lot with Homewood Suites so it is busy. Also a gaseous smell permeated the air from time to time during the night. It appeared to be coming from an outside source not the hotel.

This hotel was good for someone like myself for an overnight stay or for a business person with car as it is functional, clean, with easy check-in and check-out and reasonabley priced. However would not recommend for a week vacation especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swmfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here, while visiting Legoland. They are about 8 to 10 mins. away from Legoland, not 5 or 6 mins. as some sites claim. At any rate, the place was clean, bed was comfortable. The in-room microwave and refrigerator was nice and very convinient. Warm cookies in the afternoon was a plus (located at the front desk). They have a pool, but because the weather was too cold, we skipped on this.
The breakfast was good. Lots of choices, from waffles, to egg omelets to seasoned potatoes. They also had sausage, but it looked under-cooked so we passed on this. They had ample seating area and it was spacious. Parking lot is shared w/another hotel on site, but at least they had well-lit areas.
Can't comment on customer service, as I didn't have much interaction w/them. But my husband didn't say anything bad, so I'm sure it's just fine.
Overall, a good place to stay and would come back here again & definitely would recommend to others.
TIP: This place is located close to an airport. At first we were concerned w/the possible noise level associated w/being closet to an airport, but surprisingly it wasn't a problem. But if you're still concerned, request for a room in the far end. Also, this place can be easy to miss, so when you're on Palomar Airport Rd. slow down, as you near the address.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cher202223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments and our team at Hampton Inn Carlsbad are always looking to strive our guest and want them to enjoy their stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to Hampton Inn, when you are next in Carlsbad.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a quite new Hampton mid-range property. Our bright attractive well-furnished room had all we needed for our one-night stay. The hotel is about 3 mi. east of the interstate, but just a 5-minute drive. Across the street is the local Palomar airport. Nearer to the freeway are very good chain eateries, and a large collection of premium- outlet of stores. Legoland is nearby as well. Reception was very friendly and welcoming. Our included breakfast was standard and adequate. The price we paid was more than fair.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellseasondtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Carlsbad for your recent stay. Our Hampton Team is here to make sure that your stay is always very comfortable and relaxing.

You are right this location is for our Leisure and Business too! We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly. Check in was very smooth and the guy behind the counter had a great personality and made us feel welcome. The breakfast had a good variety so everybody could find something to eat which is not easy to do with kids. The hotel is very close to an airport but you didn't notice it at all unless you were outside in the pool and hot tub, we didn't hear anything in our room. We were a little late checking out but the hotel staff didn't rush us and we got a great deal on our room compared to other rooms in the area. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyvacayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

It always gives us a great pleasure that our guest enjoyed their stay at the Hampton Inn Carlsbad. We appreciate that you choose our hotel for your stay and Hampton Team is looking forward to see you back. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Rarely do I feel the need to even write a review - never mind such a glowing one and never mind before I've even checked out!

Staff here are amazing, so friendly and helpful, they know who you are and remember your room number.

Rooms lovely, and the workout facilities are like brand new. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough if you are staying in the Carlsbad area for business or pleasure. It was perfect from start to finish.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically all the same.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illa j, Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you. We are here to make sure that our Guests have a great time while they stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back when you are back in Carlsbad.

Call the hotel to make your next reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011-1553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: $110 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing