We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Oceanside/Carlsbad”

The Land & Water Company
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #34 of 407 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 9, 2019

It is a bit pricey, but only slightly more than some other nice sushi restaurants, but Land & Water is better, so we think worth it. Having spent a number of years in Japan and very much enjoying the sushi there, we are well qualified to rate this particular food.
The sushi was good, so far the second best in SOCAL that we have had and the price is reasonable for the quality you get. We tend toward nigiri (sushi on a piece of rice, served as 2 pieces generally) so you get a good taste of the fish, shrimp, whatever it is, much more than in a role, where lower quality can be hidden among the many flavors, the nigiri is very good here.
I will say to stay away from the house "sauce" they put on, ask them to leave it off. It is actually watery and has a strong citrus flavor to it, which in our opinion, ruins the fish flavor. It is too strong to be considered complimentary to the fish flavor. Just ask it not be put on and you will be good to go.

If it is important to you, this restaurant buys only responsibly or sustainably farmed/caught products. This may explain some of the cost, but it may also explain the better quality that we experienced.
The one caveat of this is that certain products may not be available at certain times, so their menu is not set, it depends on what they can get that meets their standards.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2019

Lived here four years and thought the building was a surf shop. Turns out there is a surf shop and also a very good Japanese style/Asian fusion restaurant.

We love Japanese food and restaurant did not disappoint. Excellent sushi rolls. Not a huge menu, but all meals are carefully prepared and presentation alone is worth an Instagram picture.

Great service. Interior is pretty cool and outside seating available. One block from the ocean. Plenty of street parking, but pay lot across the street may be only option during peak times, but that can get busy too.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LodiWineBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018

Even though a busy time of the year, the staff were always attentive, polite, and helpful. The focus of our dinner was largely Japanese (sashimi, sushi, sake), but still on a par with our favorite dedicated Japanese restaurants.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SanDiego_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We visited Carlsbad 2 years ago and went to Land and Water company. Although the service was awesome and there were some stand out dishes we were reticent to go back, but we did and it was great! The service was awesome once again, but this time every dish was delicious. The Butter Butter salad, the short rid skewers, the sushi! Wonderful! Definitely going back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lisabet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Being locals and hearing much about this place we had high expectations. Upon arriving we found that it is not an upscale restaurant as expected. There were actually picnic tables for people to sit at and some regular seating. The menu was very limited and did not have much that I wanted to eat. It was a loud atmosphere and the prices were very high.

I would not got here again and could not recommend this to others. The food was average and certainly not up to the high prices.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mgm1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Land & Water Company also viewed

 

Been to The Land & Water Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing