We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Colonial Americana in Carlsbad”

Green Dragon Tavern and Museum
Reserve with OpenTable
Green Dragon Tavern and Museum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 397 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is a stunning replica of Boston's original Green Dragon Tavern, demolished in 1854, where Sam Adams, Paul Revere and other founders met in secret to plan the Boston Tea Party and the American Revolution. Paul Revere departed the Green Dragon Tavern for his famous ride to Lexington and Concord notifying Patriots that "the British are coming!" And "One if by land, two if by sea". Visit our site to learn more about all that GDT&M has to offer. Whether touring our museum, savoring our New England Inspired New American Cuisine in our highly acclaimed restaurant, secretly meeting to plan your company's next revolutionary concept, or hosting a banquet of up to 200 persons seated or more in our event space, a historic experience awaits you.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

What a surprise! A replica of a Revolutionary War era Boston tavern in Southern California. Great bar menu and staples like Shepard's Pie to add to the Colonial atmosphere. Biggest treat....a Revolutionary War museum. Don't miss this.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018

Ice tea and clam chowder were excellent. Waitress attentive. The museum was most interesting. Would go back if ever in the area again.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erameram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

I met a business associate here for dinner and we were both amazed. If you are looking for Chinese Food and you think this is it, because of the name...look up the historical value of the name, Green Dragon Tavern. This is simple, American, East Coast affair. I had the Tavern burger, but made it a little more West Coast, by adding Avacado and Blue Cheese crumbles. The burger tasted great, the service was great and the decor.....if you like U.S. history, it will be hard for you to leave. Allow time to check out the "Museum", which has no charge to walk through and view.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank apwilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

This place was built to be a architectural replica of the Paul Revere Green Tavern in Boston. The food is excellent and there is also a small museum with original artifacts from the owners collection. Awesome little find! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Our family had the best time here and the food at the tavern is outstanding. Extremely friendly service, quality culinary experience and a truly unique setting makes you learn about our country's founding. Can't recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dragon Tavern and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Green Dragon Tavern and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing