We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value”
Review of Pizza Port

Pizza Port
Ranked #8 of 341 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Took 6 13-year old girls for lunch, had the lunch special. Salad + big slice of pizza and a soda for $4.99! Pizza was great. Very much a sports bar, but early in the day it was great and not crowded.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiflalawi-Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    197
    54
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local hangout, fun people watching”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Definitely a local favorite - lots of young people and a good vibe. Beer is abundant, selections good. Can't comment on the food, but it looked quite good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaliGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantico, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Pizza and Beer”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pizza Port is a fun restaurant to go to in Carlsbad, within walking distance of many other restaurants, shops, and the beach. The pizza is good and they have a great selection of beer. The seating inside is made up of long picnic tables so you are sitting right next to other guests and it can get pretty noisy. But this is a great place to meet up with friends for some food and drinks. On the weekends it gets really busy and can be difficult to find a table and can take a long time to get your food. Overall, a fun restaurant that is worth checking out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great start to the night.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Love the varied micro brews always something new to try with great food to boot. Gets busy on the weekends but just adds to the atmosphere. Good long tables and outdoor area for big groups.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
545 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“A fun, casual, crowded, noisy place, with good pizza.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We tried to go here on a Saturday and it was wall to wall people - long lines and no where to sit, so we tried again on Monday. It was still very crowded but not so bad as Saturday, so we stayed and hoped for some seats to open up. This place is VERY casual. When you arrive you go to one of two lines. The first is for pizza, salads, and soft drinks. The other is for "adult beverages". The problem is the lines are in the same "corner" so there is a big jam up there - the soft drink self serve area is there, too, so that area is a mess. After you place your order and pay for food, you try to find a seat. There are several long tables with benches on either side. There is also a large enclosed covered patio area with more long tables outside to the side of the building. If you can't find a seat close, you need to have at least one member of your group stand near the counter on the side away from the bar and wait for your name to be hollered. We were fortunate to see a family cleaning up their stuff to leave so we grabbed seats there. We were fairly close to the counter so we just listened close. I was on the side of the table facing the bar, but my husband was on the other side and could watch as (mostly ladies) were playing video games that lined the wall on that side of the room. The favorite game was an Elk or maybe Deer hunting game. He thought it was a riot to watch these ladies line up with a gun and shoot these animals on the screen. It was particularly funny when one of them shot another hunter! Anyway, our pizza finally was ready, so my husband went and picked it up along with paper plates and utensils. We weren't terribly hungry, and the pizza looked quite think, so we ordered a small "Lahaina" pizza (ham and pineapple)for $7.75. It was really good and just the right size for us. We saw several salads go by and they looked good, too. We thought it was a fun place. We would go there again if in the area. We didn't see a parking lot specificly for Pizza Port, but there is street parking and there was a free lot a short distance away. We parked on the street about a block away. Pizza Port is about 3 blocks away from the main street that runs parallel to the ocean.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Port also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing