We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”

West Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 343 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: West Steak & Seafood is an intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant located in the coastal community of Carlsbad, CA. Our creative culinary team is renowned for offering the highest quality of prime steaks, chops and seafood prepared to your taste. Dedicated to an authentic farm-to-table ethos, Executive Chef David Abella harvests fresh ingredients daily from the restaurant's own farm, The West Farm. Toast the sealing of a deal or simply celebrate when only the finest quality and service will do.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Every course was just terrific. Phenomenal crab cakes and the best bread pudding ever! Anne Marie was also the best server ever.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    58
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My sisters and I enjoyed a wonderful meal at happy hour prices! The food is delicious, beautifully presented, with wonderful service and a great bar.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great wine selection, attentive and engaging staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Possibly the best steak I have ever had - I had the petite filet mignon and it melted in my mouth like warm butter. My wife had a lobster ravioli dish that was also delicious. The wine selections were great. The waitress was attentive and engaging and ensured we had a wonderful experience. The other support staff were also attentive.

They grow their own vegetables and the choices were fresh and flavorful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice ambience!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Love the West Steak. Great customer service, knowledgeable staff and great steak! Ambience was fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want a strong steakhouse, this is the place”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Seriously, I've eaten in a ton of the best steak places all over the world and there are none that win a head to head contest with West. The accompanying sides were excellent too but the meat was great.

If I had to criticize for anything, I might suggest lightening up on the seasoning just because the meat quality is superior but that's it. Oh, and our server, while incredibly well versed for some reason felt the need to over narrate the experience.

All in all, one amazing meal and that's not easy to find in Carlsbad. It's not inexpensive but it's great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nslarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing