We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dining experience”

West Steak and Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
West Steak and Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 339 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cannon/Avenida Encinias
Description: West Steak & Seafood is an intimate and distinctive fine dining restaurant located in the coastal community of Carlsbad, CA. Our creative culinary team is renowned for offering the highest quality of prime steaks, chops and seafood prepared to your taste. Dedicated to an authentic farm-to-table ethos, Executive Chef David Abella harvests fresh ingredients daily from the restaurant's own farm, The West Farm. Toast the sealing of a deal or simply celebrate when only the finest quality and service will do.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was fantastic and food was excellent. Check out their Sunday dining special. I loved the prime rib dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    58
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Ray of Light among the Surfers”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The West Steak and Seafood is by far the best dining experience in Carlsbad. It is not a part of a chain, but outdoes every chain upscale steakhouse in which I have eaten.
Valet parking at the door, or park yourself a few yards away. The décor is pure extravagant "steakhouse modern." The clientele is well dressed, jackets or a well starched dress shirt; do not try to go in flip-flops and beach shorts.
As one would expect from the name, beef, lamb and Pacific seafood prevail. But there is another secret here -- it also doubles as an upscale gourmet eatery, with highly accomplished chefs. And if you cannot make up your mind among the selections (which indeed is difficult to do), there is a chef's tasting menu which I highly recommend.
The wine list is super large with an excellent variety of selections, but there are few bargains. The corkage fee is $20, which means you come out ahead only if the bottle you bring cost you more than $35-40. Wine is served in Reidel glasses. The tasting menu also include (at extra but reasonable cost) a series of paired wine selections, and if you are having the tasting menu, I would advise also have the wine pairings.
Service, as you would expect, was impeccable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peedropal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Impeccible service - wonderful dinner”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was staying at the West Inn and Suites and ventured across the parking lot to check out West Steak and Seafood which received many great reviews. I went on a Sunday during happy hour. I love dining on Sundays - less crowded and more intimate.

I sat at the bar and kept Ian and Roy the bartenders company. This is an upscale dining establishment so I was surprised to see people dressed more casually and several kids. There is no kids menu here so I am surprised families opted for this vs. the bistro.

I had the spring rolls, lobster bisque, sea bass and mac and cheese as well as several martinis! Everything was delicious and wonderful. I like the upscale vibe of this restaurant and imagine during the week it is a hopping place. The prices aren't outrageous, in fact, I find them to be very fair. I've paid 2-3x as much in other cities for a similar experience so no complaints on my end.

This would be a great place to have a business lunch or dinner, anniversary or even just a fun gathering with friends. I highly recommend this restaurant and would come back the next time I am in Carlsbad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotGrlNextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, wine list and service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The title says it all. Great food, outstanding wine selection and impecable service. The entire complex, including restaurants and hotel are a must-do in the Carlsbad/Oceanside area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I had the prime certified New York strip steak with a nice la marca. The service was attentive and food define, many thanks to all for a lovely dining experience, West Steak = Best Steak.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to West Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing